What's new

GumGum

Student
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
95
Reaction score
64
Location
Australia
My mv1fs chucked out error "hardware test failed backup ram". Do you guys know which backup ram that i need to replace based on the screenshot? is it lower or higher backup ram that needs replacement? thanks
F9826887-A9BB-4459-87FA-B8322B8F14DF.jpeg
 

Kujako

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
1,047
Reaction score
585
Location
USA, California

GumGum

Student
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
95
Reaction score
64
Location
Australia
i see. I replaced the original with coin cell battery holder like few weeks ago. Everything seems to run fine up until now.
Do you reckon it has anything to do with coin cell battery holder installed? or was it more a very common issue with backup ram failure in mv1fs?
 

Kujako

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
1,047
Reaction score
585
Location
USA, California
i see. I replaced the original with coin cell battery holder like few weeks ago. Everything seems to run fine up until now.
Do you reckon it has anything to do with coin cell battery holder installed? or was it more a very common issue with backup ram failure in mv1fs?

No, the coin cell battery should be fine (but unless you disabled the recharging circuit make sure you're using a rechargeable LIR2032 and not a CR2032). What I was thinking was that the old battery might have leaked, and eaten through some of the traces in the area where the backup RAM is. Seems a little odd that both would fail in the same way. But, always possible. If you have the NeoDiagnostics BIOS that might give more details. But as I said, from my reading of the error both chips are showing the wrong value. If only the low ram had failed, I would expect to see 5540 and if it were just the high it would read B255.
 

GumGum

Student
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
95
Reaction score
64
Location
Australia
ok oddest thing just happened. I took the board, and then clean up the solder side with isopropyl alcohol because I see some glue residue remaint... then when I hook up the board back, ram backup failure is gone.... it's odd...
 

Franco23444

Grand Master
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
1,026
Reaction score
726
Location
Nowhereland
ok oddest thing just happened. I took the board, and then clean up the solder side with isopropyl alcohol because I see some glue residue remaint... then when I hook up the board back, ram backup failure is gone.... it's odd...
A possible short? Maybe?
 

Kujako

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
1,047
Reaction score
585
Location
USA, California
ok oddest thing just happened. I took the board, and then clean up the solder side with isopropyl alcohol because I see some glue residue remaint... then when I hook up the board back, ram backup failure is gone.... it's odd...
Could have been something conductive that was causing a short that you cleaned off. (Shrug)

I’d get the diagnostic bios and see if it finds any other issues, but working is working.
 
Top