What's new

Arthrimus

Grand Master
Joined
May 18, 2018
Messages
423
Reaction score
1,302
Location
Arkansas
Hey guys, I have a new prototype in and have been testing it over the past couple of days. The new -5v circuit is performing well so far, but I wanted to get some opinions about adjustability. The current version of the -5v circuit is fixed voltage. What I'd like to know is if there is a particular need to have the -5v rail be adjustable. The current circuit is based on the TI TPS5430 which can be made adjustable by adding a trimmer potentiometer to the voltage feedback circuit, but if it's not needed then I'd rather keep it fixed because that will simplify manufacturing. This -5v circuit can provide up to 3A of current.
IMG_20210308_141538__01__01.jpg
 

aoiddr

Professional
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
373
Reaction score
130
Location
Georgia, USA
Hey guys, I have a new prototype in and have been testing it over the past couple of days. The new -5v circuit is performing well so far, but I wanted to get some opinions about adjustability. The current version of the -5v circuit is fixed voltage. What I'd like to know is if there is a particular need to have the -5v rail be adjustable. The current circuit is based on the TI TPS5430 which can be made adjustable by adding a trimmer potentiometer to the voltage feedback circuit, but if it's not needed then I'd rather keep it fixed because that will simplify manufacturing. This -5v circuit can provide up to 3A of current.

Were you able to get an answer on this to decide? Perhaps Darksoft or Apocalypse might be able to help answer?


At any rate, looking forward to this!
 

twistedsymphony

Enlightened
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
10,438
Reaction score
10,286
Location
NH, USA
it's exceedingly rare that an Arcade PSU will have adjustable -5V

Precise voltages are really only necessary for digital circuits likes CPUs, ROMs and Logic Ics, 12V and -5V are generally only used for things like audio amplification and cooling fans where widely out-of-spec voltages are ok and wont cause any harm.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nem

jassin000

Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,836
Reaction score
6,471
Location
Afterlife
Looks great, everything but that damn Genesis 2 SCART cable requirement. :rolleyes:
#nocomponetsinsidecables

Lets take a VOTE!
 
Last edited:

Kujako

Professional
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
660
Reaction score
320
Location
USA, California
Exactly what I was looking for. If I’m following, should we be able to have both this adapter and a Taito JVS or Fast IO board running using the splitter shown in the video?

edit: I for one like the Megadrive RGB port. It means we can plug in Retrovision cables without any fuss.
 
Last edited:

Kujako

Professional
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
660
Reaction score
320
Location
USA, California
Hey guys, I have a new prototype in and have been testing it over the past couple of days. The new -5v circuit is performing well so far, but I wanted to get some opinions about adjustability. The current version of the -5v circuit is fixed voltage. What I'd like to know is if there is a particular need to have the -5v rail be adjustable. The current circuit is based on the TI TPS5430 which can be made adjustable by adding a trimmer potentiometer to the voltage feedback circuit, but if it's not needed then I'd rather keep it fixed because that will simplify manufacturing. This -5v circuit can provide up to 3A of current.
IMG_20210308_141538__01__01.jpg

Ooohhh... is that a 20 pin ATX port I see? That would be sweet. I had planned on using a pico ATX to JVS adapter, but if I can just plug the pico into the board that would be amazing.
 

Cat

Student
Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
72
Reaction score
14
Location
Singapore
Does this Jamma Conversion Kit works for the Vewlix F Cabinet ?

Actually what do I need if I want to convert my Vewlix F Cabinet to Jamma

Can I just buy this conversion kit and I am all done ?

Hope to hear from you soon

Thanks
 

Kujako

Professional
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
660
Reaction score
320
Location
USA, California
Does this Jamma Conversion Kit works for the Vewlix F Cabinet ?

Actually what do I need if I want to convert my Vewlix F Cabinet to Jamma

Can I just buy this conversion kit and I am all done ?

Hope to hear from you soon

Thanks

This would adapt the JVS controls to JAMMA but you would still need a scaler for the 15khz video (this is a maybe need since my Vewlix C seems to handle 15khz well enough). That being said, what I ended up doing was building a cable from the JST YLP-15V connector in my control panel to DB15 that I then plug into a Supergun or a JVS adapter.
 

hyp36rmax

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
510
Reaction score
716
Location
USA
Interested in this. Just read you're refocusing on your projects. Happy to buy one when you're ready. Thanks!!
 
Last edited:
Top