What's new

Geddon

Professional
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
710
Reaction score
343
Location
USA
The Dreamcast Racing Controller HKT-7400. Not the greatest racing controller, but if you're on budget and like to keep things compact then its perfect.
Nice! thanks for the write up. I found one pretty cheap on eBay and plan to give it a shot.
 

Brivs Mekis

Beginner
Joined
Jan 31, 2018
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
Location
London
hi, would anyone who has one of the dreamcast wheels please be able to tell me the measurements in cm that I have marked on the photo?
thanks - EDIT - not to worry I bought one anyway (see next post)
 

Attachments

  • s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    192.9 KB · Views: 122
Last edited:

Brivs Mekis

Beginner
Joined
Jan 31, 2018
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
Location
London
Ok, so here's my effort with the Dreamcast steering wheel. I used the European version HKT-7430, make sure you check which version you have as the wires are different colours on the 9 pin connector compared to HKT-7400.

There is alot of room to work with inside, so I took advantage of this and screwed a DB25 breakout board onto the right hand side stand of the original PCB.
I'm useless at soldering so prefer terminals and I had a spare cable to use.

Another thing, if you want to check the wiring inside the actual wheel, only 4 of the screws around the centre circle on the front are real and need to be removed (along with the ones around the back of the wheel itself.) The rest in the middle are decorative only.

I wired the buttons:

A - Service
B - Test
Minus - P1 down
Plus - Aux2
Start - Start

I used dupont cables on the helper from Aux2 (plus button) to P2 SW1, that is for boost in Sega race tv and also RTuned.
I also put a dupont cable from P1 Down (minus button) to P2 Up. I didn't cut any traces.

This allows you to use the minus button to change view in OR2, and in initial D it moves on the menus where you choose car and colour etc, same with RTuned and then during a race in RTuned it changes the view (without messing up the gears)

For the main steering pot, I didn't remove the 5v and Ground, I just switched them over when connecting to the terminals.

I play all the racing games with auto transmission.


Hope this helps someone.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200612-140145__01.jpg
    Screenshot_20200612-140145__01.jpg
    213.1 KB · Views: 141
  • Screenshot_20200613-002159__01.jpg
    Screenshot_20200613-002159__01.jpg
    602.5 KB · Views: 152
  • Screenshot_20200613-002249__01.jpg
    Screenshot_20200613-002249__01.jpg
    427.6 KB · Views: 140
  • Screenshot_20200613-002233__01.jpg
    Screenshot_20200613-002233__01.jpg
    443.2 KB · Views: 131
  • Screenshot_20200613-001502__01__01.jpg
    Screenshot_20200613-001502__01__01.jpg
    112.9 KB · Views: 135
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
44
Reaction score
19
Location
Spartanburg, SC
Great mods here. I have a general question about these old school console wheels though. Can a 3rd-party PS1 racing wheel be used for Naomi or Sega Model 2/3? I read those normally run on 3.3v as opposed to the Dreamcast controllers' 5v, but some of those actually have potentiometers for the steering instead of encoders.
I had a Pelican Rally 2 racing wheel for Dreamcast that I later chucked cuz I was doing some ridiculous conversion, but that controller has a very clean wiring diagram inside the base with all the connections marked, so maybe it's ideal for modding. Pelican released a couple wheels for PS1 with the same generic mold, including the GT2 (likely to coincide with Gran Turismo 2's release), so I bought one of those to see if the wiring's any similar. These controllers are dirt cheap on eBay btw; you can easily snag them for $24-30 including shipping. :)
 

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,651
Reaction score
4,192
Location
Finland
Can a 3rd-party PS1 racing wheel be used for Naomi or Sega Model 2/3? I read those normally run on 3.3v as opposed to the Dreamcast controllers' 5v, but some of those actually have potentiometers for the steering instead of encoders.

Voltage doesn't matter, because you're bypassing all of the electronics and just wiring straight to the pots and buttons. As long as it has pots for the wheel and the pedals, it will more than likely work.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
44
Reaction score
19
Location
Spartanburg, SC
As long as it has pots for the wheel and the pedals, it will more than likely work.
Sounds about right. You will also most likely not have any dead zone as I've hacked a couple HKT-7400 Dreamcast wheels for Model 3 and they do not have any dead zones. Only the pots can be a little finicky if not insulated properly. :P
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
44
Reaction score
19
Location
Spartanburg, SC
Also curious to know... has anyone been able to attempt connecting Gameport-based controllers to the Naomi or M3 without modifying the internals?
The pinouts apparently have the connections for the 5v, grounds, 4 analog signals, though only 4 digital buttons. I opened up a NASCAR Charger wheel from '98 once and IIRC its steering potentiometer only has two posts. From my experience a lot of older console wheels are more trouble than its worth attempting to modify pots, as they mostly use cheap 10KB pots and are a pain to solder back on. I would especially love to try using an old Gameport-wired flight stick for Star Wars Trilogy on M3S2! For Jambo Safari on Naomi a wheel using the same connection would be PERFECT imo.
 

HdMadara

New User
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Wisconsin
Anyone seen this before? Trying to hook up to S JIHP on my IO board and can't get a response. I'm still new to this so any advice would be appreciated..
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211223_220144988.jpg
    IMG_20211223_220144988.jpg
    184.1 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_20211223_220122614.jpg
    IMG_20211223_220122614.jpg
    173.6 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_20211223_220159800.jpg
    IMG_20211223_220159800.jpg
    162.3 KB · Views: 6

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,846
Reaction score
6,701
Location
New Bern, NC USA
Need a better look at how you connected your controls.
 

HdMadara

New User
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Wisconsin
Player 1 breakout board is just analog for my steering wheel, and pedals at the moment I haven't finished mapping out all the buttons. Player 2 is just standard control stick and buttons to use to test out, but can't get anything either. My wheel, and pedals work on my other generic Capcom IO when hooked up to a super gun, and Saturn joystick in player1 controller port; however I can only play crazy taxi fully for driving games due to my Saturn controller 2 port not working anymore on my super gun so I couldn't control parts of jambo safari, and 18 wheeler, and don't currently have a snk controller to test.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211224_030752800.jpg
    IMG_20211224_030752800.jpg
    237.1 KB · Views: 7
  • IMG_20211224_030852487.jpg
    IMG_20211224_030852487.jpg
    133.9 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG_20211224_030906660.jpg
    IMG_20211224_030906660.jpg
    174 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG_20211224_031209395.jpg
    IMG_20211224_031209395.jpg
    200.2 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_20211224_031220103.jpg
    IMG_20211224_031220103.jpg
    168.2 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG_20211224_031356115.jpg
    IMG_20211224_031356115.jpg
    183.3 KB · Views: 9

HdMadara

New User
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Wisconsin
Also is it normal for a rev 3 IO led light to click sometimes when you power it on
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,846
Reaction score
6,701
Location
New Bern, NC USA
It should click once on power up. If it randomly clicks while powered up there is a power issue.
 

HdMadara

New User
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Wisconsin
Yeah sometimes it clicks, and sometimes it doesn't. Guess its time to whip out the multimeter.. Appreciate the info.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,846
Reaction score
6,701
Location
New Bern, NC USA
Clicking means it's not solid. Like a bad connection. When this happens the i/o will go unresponsive until reset.
 

HdMadara

New User
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Wisconsin
I've checked the power wires, and connectors on I/O, and psu. Everything is ok with that, and the clicking stopped. Still the same, but led 2 keeps flashing.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
44
Reaction score
19
Location
Spartanburg, SC
PSA for anyone who plays the few great motorcycle games on Naomi/Model 2&3: If you happen to have the PS2 version of the Thrustmaster Freestyler Bike, it WILL more than likely work with arcade stuff without modification, but if for any godforsaken reason you plan to open the controller up and take it apart, you need to be EXTREMELY careful!! There is very narrow space between the wires, the main handle of the controller, and mechanisms. I had moments where the brake spring flew right off even on the 2nd attempt. It would be excellent if someone brave enough would make a teardown video of the controller if one was planning to replace the pots once they start to go bad.

Anyways, to wire up the Thrustmaster you need to do the following:
1.) There are a total of 4 screws you will need to get out with a standard Phillipshead screwdriver. Take the two screws on the back of the silver body, which hold the main bar assembly. When you pull those bars out, you will have to unscrew the two tall screws from where the legs where, to gain access to the motherboard and all the connectors.
2.) Unhook all the connectors from the motherboard. Both handlebar grips have their own connectors, so you can plug Dupont cables directly into them to get your controls working without cutting any of the cables off, which I strongly don't recommend for such rare controller.
3a.) Each wire is color-coded differently but in a unique fashion. For the left handlebar grip, I only wired the Triangle & Square buttons for shift-up and shift down on games like Harley-Davidson, because I'm left-handed and prefer playing manual transmission
- Triangle (use for Shift Up) = Yellow
- Square (use for Shift Down) = Orange
(^ worst case scenario they are swapped)
- Ground (digital inputs) = Two tied brown wires

3b.) For the right handlebar grip I wired these buttons:
- R1 (I use this for Start) = Grey
- Gas/brake VCC = White
- Gas/brake GND = Black wire with white stripe. It is on a tied connection with another black wire used for another ground. I highly recommend cutting the other ground off so you do not short anything by accident, but I believe that wire is used for the LEDs on that grip.
(^ WCS that if you experience inverted analog, swap the two connections above.)
- Gas signal = Yellow with black stripes
- Brake signal = Orange with black stripes
- Circle (I use for H-D Music Selection) = Red
- X (Use for H-D View Change) = Orange
- Ground (digital inputs) = same as on 3a

3c.) There is additionally a large AMP UP-like connector for the main handlebar that also goes to one of the motherboard connectors, with two signals for the "GP" and "Cross" modes. It may be a good idea to tie them together, but I haven't actually wired this up yet. Having a multimeter on hand may additionally be of help since I needed that to do a Neo Geo CD stick softmod for Fighting Vipers 2. I am going to completely avoid taking this thing apart for the next one I buy; otherwise it seems like an arcade-friendly controller. Had the PC version and it was pretty reliable despite its faults.
 

Attachments

  • 20211228_202819.jpg
    20211228_202819.jpg
    136.4 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
Top