What's new

andynumbers

Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2017
Messages
128
Reaction score
93
Location
Atlanta, GA
It crashes immediately after the warning screen. I can coin up on the warning screen and play, but as soon as it tries to get back to the attract screen it crashes. Oh well, as long as black label works that's all people really care about anyway.
 

bytestorm

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
287
Reaction score
124
Location
Sweden
No, both versions play fine for me. But a lot of folks complain about A crashing on stage 5 I think. Is that where it crashed? Mostly people complain about A/vanilla crashing with the old AMB bootlegs. it’s not due to fluffy’s cart in other words, it’s the rom.

Mine works fine. No idea if anyone’s figured out what’s up, maybe it’s a motherboard revision thing or I’m just really lucky
Its really strange that there seems to be some different issues with the DDP dualboot :/.. Ill make mine with your guide as soon as I have finished renovating my workroom and try it out!
 

Fluffy

Grand Master
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
665
Reaction score
1,196
Location
UK
I think some people have success erasing the save RAM, others when they boot a different game like Knights of Valour before playing DDP.

Motherboard or BIOS versions don't seem to matter, IIRC.

I don't think anyone succeeded replicating it in Mame, yet, which would make debugging easier. I guess someone could attach a logic analyser to record the exact instruction flow how it ends up at the crash. :)
 
Last edited:

bytestorm

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
287
Reaction score
124
Location
Sweden
I think some people have success erasing the save RAM, others when they boot a different game like Knights of Valour before playing DDP.

Motherboard or BIOS versions don't seem to matter, IIRC.

I don't think anyone succeeded replicating it in Mame, yet, which would make debugging easier. I guess someone could attach a logic analyser to record the exact instruction flow how it ends up at the crash. :)
Yeah that could be it.. I remember reading DOJ expects some magic values in the NVRAM at some point at boot/playing?
 

bytestorm

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
287
Reaction score
124
Location
Sweden
According to the mamedriver, the vanilla version boots fine with the default settings but the black label version had a key in the nvram at delivery to customer.
That key is stored in the mameset.. (ddpdojblk - ddp3blk_defaults.nv).

I dont know if this is even a problem since the black label rom is already decrypted right?
But it could definitely be the nvram thats causing issues if not erased properly...
 

ekorz

Multi Boyz 4 Pi
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
4,201
Reaction score
4,960
Location
Boston, MA
It shows 3v currently. The test was a year ago but I’d wager it was the same battery since I don’t recall undoing my lions plexis. I probably replaced it before I put it in the plexi. Happy to try any tests if you’re thinking something
 

digitron

Professional
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
426
Reaction score
309
Location
Cal USA
Do most eprom programmers support these GAL's? Apparently mine does not ;(
 

raik

Beginner
Joined
Dec 20, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
11
Location
france
Hi! my boards look different... is there any soldering guide for the new ones? thank you!
 

Fluffy

Grand Master
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
665
Reaction score
1,196
Location
UK
Assembly should generally be the same as before. The only new thing are extra resistor footprints on the prog board for pull-up resistors. You can leave them unpopulated for now.
 

raik

Beginner
Joined
Dec 20, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
11
Location
france
Made Ketsui and Esp and it works flawlessly! Awesome job Fluffy!!

Put on .6w 100ohms resistors, looks fine. Or is that a bad idea?
 

raik

Beginner
Joined
Dec 20, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
11
Location
france
For now i haven't installed anything on the pull-up as you said before :)
 

Kavas

Champion
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
1,022
Reaction score
1,329
Location
Florida, USA
Getting my cab ready for an arcade convention on the 19th. Noticed some graphical glitches with my Espgaluda. Didn't notice these before. Haven't really played it in awhile. This is from the original batch not the latest.

Pay attention to the clouds in this video. The glitches are subtle during play. Sometimes a explosion will jitter. These clouds show it pretty frequent.

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yS1Vw8Wt8OE


Steps taken:

Cleaned with iso on pins.
Reseated numerous times.
Reflowed ALL pins.
Reseated the chips.

Any help? Any chip in particular to check?
 
Top