What's new

santa978

Student
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
120
Reaction score
37
Location
moorpark, California
Hi yo, it's me just wanted to ask if anyone has ever use a plasma Production monitor to play arcade games.
I think it looks great, but I'm not sure if I have it set up correctly, I have only tried the naomi so far.
but I have a GBS-8200 that I'm going to try next to see if it makes a difference. Maybe some other games. But I'm Not sure what settings I should use on the noami, 15KHz or 31KHz? Will that make a difference?
If so how do I change it ? I just plugged it in and it work so far .... maybe the setting are already where they are supposed to be?
Im using vga cable from naomi to monitor
RCA for audio to a receiver STRDH190
With a MAS supergun
I got the plasma monitor from my neighbor down the street for $200.00
He works for a production company

Panasonic TH-42PF11UK Specs $2,399 MSRP in 2009​

Signal SystemStandards
NTSC, PAL, PAL 60, SECAM, Modified NTSC

Video Signal
480/60i, 60p
575/50i, 50p
720/60p, 50p
1080/60i, 50i, 24p, 24sF, 25p, 30p, 60p, 50p
1080/50i

PC Signal
VGA, SVGA, WVGA, WSVGA, XGA, SXGA, XGA+, SXGA+, WXGA
Notes:
• Computer signals which can be input are those with a horizontal scanning frequency of 15 to 110 kHz and vertical scanning
frequency of 48 to 120 Hz. (However, the image will not be displayed properly if the signals exceed 1,200 lines.)

• The display resolution is a maximum of 1,440 × 1,080 dots when the aspect mode is set to "4:3", and 1,920 × 1,080
dots when the aspect mode is set to "FULL". If the display resolution exceeds these maximums, it may not be possible
to show fi nedetail with sufficient clarity.
 

Attachments

  • 20210205_231354.jpg
    20210205_231354.jpg
    185.6 KB · Views: 59
  • 20210206_144340.jpg
    20210206_144340.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 39
  • 20210206_144313.jpg
    20210206_144313.jpg
    134.5 KB · Views: 39
Last edited:

300wins

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
138
Reaction score
163
Location
San Jose, California
Since this monitor can do 31khz, Naomi looks a lot better in 31khz because in 15khz, it's interlaced.
 
Last edited:

300wins

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
138
Reaction score
163
Location
San Jose, California
On the Naomi, there is a dipswitch to change from 15khz to 31khz. I don't know it off the top of my head though.
And good luck finding your X2.
 
Last edited:

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
489
Reaction score
262
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
Stick with 31khz, and 4:3 aspect ratio. The latter is accurate to the original aspect ratio for the NAOMI. And avoid the GBS- it's not needed as NAOMI can go from VGA straight to the monitor, and adding a GBS isn't going to make it better.
 

santa978

Student
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
120
Reaction score
37
Location
moorpark, California
Thanks for the info 🙂
And yes the GBS actually made it worse
 

Attachments

  • 20210211_172809.jpg
    20210211_172809.jpg
    113.8 KB · Views: 22
  • 20210211_172818.jpg
    20210211_172818.jpg
    141 KB · Views: 25
Top