What's new

Epyc

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
Messages
197
Reaction score
141
Location
CA, USA
Great work @RGB! How can we go about preordering the new HAS revision?
 

touche112

Beginner
Joined
Apr 12, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Michigan, USA
No pre-orders this time, I'll put them on sale in waves sometime in July so that they don't sell out in the first day. More information soon.
Awesome! Can't wait!
 

RGB

Champion
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
797
Reaction score
1,688
Location
Europe
It's got the same features and functionality, but I changed a few things:

- The microcontroller is in DIP case, socketed
- DIP switch instead of numerous SPDT switches
- The voltmeter is mounted differently
 
Last edited:

juanmiglesias

Beginner
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Location
Winter park, Florida. Zip code 32792
Hi there, quick question, are you going to use this thread or create a new one?
 

Animaitor

Beginner
Joined
Jun 17, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Location
Japan
@RGB, would it be possible to add 2 knobs on the HAS to control the V and H position of the image for non arcade CRTs as seen here? I could buy the one from Aliexpress but I rather pay to someone who knows what he's doing and that can deliver quality stuff. Maybe add it on the JAMMA extension harness?
 

roy

Professional
Joined
Jun 15, 2020
Messages
309
Reaction score
95
Location
Israel
does 8pin mini DIN connector for audio and video output means i can use my genesis 2 scart cable?
what power supply is to be used with this 6 pin connector?
 

Stupid Dufus

Professional
Joined
Sep 17, 2018
Messages
343
Reaction score
212
Location
Tokyo
The Genesis 2 uses a mini din-9, so it wouldn't be compatible.

As for power supplies, there is a thread about various arcade power supplies to use here: Budget Arcade Power Supplies

When you purchase a HAS, a power cable is included to hook it up to a screw-terminal power supply like those in that thread.
 

roy

Professional
Joined
Jun 15, 2020
Messages
309
Reaction score
95
Location
Israel
can you recommand where to buy mini din 8 pin cable?
since my setup is with crt/pvm i cant use arcade power supply so i guess a pc psu will be ok for most arcade boards,
am i right?
 

Stupid Dufus

Professional
Joined
Sep 17, 2018
Messages
343
Reaction score
212
Location
Tokyo
I personally ordered mine from Retro Access (US), but Retro Gaming Cables (UK) makes them too. I'm sure there are more sellers people here will chime in about.

I'm not sure I understand your concern with a CRT. I have mine connected with a meanwell PSU (from that thread), and I've connected it to a PVM and two different BVMs without issue. It doesn't have to be a PSU taken from the inside of an actual arcade cabinet. Just needs to be able to provide 12v and 5v to the HAS to properly power it and the arcade board connected. And a few older boards might require -5v as well.
 

roy

Professional
Joined
Jun 15, 2020
Messages
309
Reaction score
95
Location
Israel
my concern is using arcade power supply with exposed terminals out in the open where my children can reach...
that's why I prefer more closed protected pc power supply or other solution if exist
 
Top