What's new

PASTBLASTER

Grand Master
Reaction score
I recently acquired an untested M72 R-Type, Untested.

After removing everything and cleaning and reseating, the board boots to "Ram Error 3"

Looking in the manual, I see that error relates to the "V-RAM A (Word Check)"

Can anyone point me in the right direction on WHERE that chip is on the board(s)?

I want to continuity check all of the traces near that area before probing any chips, I just don't know where that specific chip is.

Thanks!

Looks like I will be busting out the probe this weekend and testing all of the rams I can identify (I suspect the faulty ram is in the row under the C board). Will report back if I find anything.

I missed your first post about this board or I would have spoken up earlier, but I have some experience with troubleshooting glitching M72 hardware and can offer some advice.

Here's the board breakdown:

- The bottom board draws the two background layers and has its own background EPROM chips onboard.
- The middle board has the CPU for executing game logic, performs foreground sprite rendering, and generates music & SFX, and has the palette RAM and DAC for final video output. It doesn't have any EPROMs onboard.
- The top board just has the EPROMs with the assets for the middle board.

The diagnostic VRAM check at startup only checks the middle board, so you should focus your troubleshooting there, not the bottom board.

Have you pulled the EPROMs on the top board and verified them against MAME? I would recommend doing that first - a bad EPROM could trigger diagnostic alerts.

After the EPROMs have been verified, take a look at both the D43256C RAM chips in the upper-right corner of the center board (IC 70 and IC71), as well as the TTL chips around it. I'm pretty sure those two RAM chips are V-RAM A and V-RAM B. The TTL logic chips (the smaller chips that start with 74 for their part number) handle memory mapping.