What's new

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,343
Reaction score
3,627
Location
Finland
I was actually thinking of the Naomi version of VO, which is why I referred to it as a cart. Didn't even look where this thread was posted. Oops.

It sits between the CPU board and the ROM board. Same size as the ROM board.

EDIT: nevermind, I forgot Model 2A is different to 2B/C. See below for correct placement.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: stj

José Z

Beginner
Joined
Jun 28, 2021
Messages
22
Reaction score
5
Location
Ontario Canada
i'v never seen one - does it have any programmable stuff on it?
where is it relative to the board-stack?
i have a virtual-on 2B-CRX cage here somewhere.
1626024389160.png

Here's a pic from an ebay post. It goes on the bottom under the main board.
 
  • Like
Reactions: stj

twistedsymphony

Enlightened
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
10,341
Reaction score
10,075
Location
NH, USA
have you tried just disconnecting all of the PCBs in the stack and re-seating them?

or tried different optical cables?

it seems really odd to me that networking would have stopped working, you changed cables and now it's partially working?
 

José Z

Beginner
Joined
Jun 28, 2021
Messages
22
Reaction score
5
Location
Ontario Canada
have you tried just disconnecting all of the PCBs in the stack and re-seating them?

or tried different optical cables?

it seems really odd to me that networking would have stopped working, you changed cables and now it's partially working?
I disconnected, wiped all boards and connectors gently with a new paint brush to remove any dust, then reconnected all. I tried
 

José Z

Beginner
Joined
Jun 28, 2021
Messages
22
Reaction score
5
Location
Ontario Canada
...pulling out original cables and connected them directly 2 by 2 (without joining them in the middle). same issue. then tried new cable same issue. (12 feet so connected directly without having to join 2 cables as the original 5 foot cables were )
 

kazuo

Professional
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
349
Reaction score
155
Location
United States / Thailand
Just curious... did you ever figure this out?
 

José Z

Beginner
Joined
Jun 28, 2021
Messages
22
Reaction score
5
Location
Ontario Canada
Just curious... did you ever figure this out?
Hey Kazuo, no luck yet. I found a replacement Communication Board for $100 AUD including shipping so going to try that next and will post an update for sure. It's shipping from Australia to Canada, so it should arrive near the end of this month if all goes well. If that doesn't work, at least I have a replacement part for the future.
 

stj

Grand Master
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
1,167
Reaction score
453
Location
England
does the self-check test that eprom on the comms board??
 

José Z

Beginner
Joined
Jun 28, 2021
Messages
22
Reaction score
5
Location
Ontario Canada
Success! New communication board in the second unit did the trick. So thrilled. Thanks everyone for your help.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20210827-005456_Video Player.jpg
    Screenshot_20210827-005456_Video Player.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 5
Top