What's new

Apocalypse

Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,857
Reaction score
6,697
Location
New-Zealand
Hi guys,
finally finished this hack which allows you to completely drop the MCU and convert any romboard to Moonwalker!

I've used romset mwalk, just use files from this set except for the 2 program ROMs A5/A6 where you must use my patched files:
http://www.filedropper.com/mwnomcuanyromboard_2

I've found several critical mistakes in MAME regarding sprites banking, also it states there are 3 different known romboards but 171-5987 and 837-7525 are the same thing: 837-7525 is what's printed on the part side under the label, 171-5987 is what's printed on the solder side...
So only 2 really exist:
- 171-5874
- 171-5987

1) ROMs types:

A6 -> 27C2001/27C020
A5 -> 27C2001/27C020
B1 -> 27C2001/27C020
B2 -> 27C2001/27C020
B3 -> 27C2001/27C020
B11 -> 27C2001/27C020
A11 -> 27C2001/27C020
B10 -> 27C2001/27C020
A10 -> 27C2001/27C020
B9 -> 27C2001/27C020
A9 -> 27C2001/27C020
B8 -> 27C2001/27C020
A8 -> 27C2001/27C020
A4 -> 27C100/27C1000 - NON JEDEC!
B4 -> 27C2001/27C020
B5 -> 27C2001/27C020
B6 -> 27C2001/27C020

That's 16 * 27C2001/27C020 and 1 * 27C100/27C1000 needed.

2) ROMs positions

Obvious for 5874 romboards, for 5987 use this conversion table:

Left OG position on 5874, right corresponding position on 5987
A6 -> A4
A5 -> A6
B1 -> B1
B2 -> B2
B3 -> B3
B11 -> B10
A11 -> A10
B10 -> B11
A10 -> A11
B9 -> B12
A9 -> A12
B8 -> B13
A8 -> A13
A4 -> B7
B4 -> B6
B5 -> B5
B6 -> B4

3) Jumpers settings

On 5874:
4/6/7/2/9/16/14/11
35/38/33/40/45/41/31/43
19/24/22/27/29/17/26

On 5987:
2/4/5/8/10/11
18/14/16/19
25/21/23/28
29/31/33/35/37/39/41/43
45/47/49/51
66/68/69/71
 
Last edited:

ShootTheCore

Enlightened
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
1,913
Reaction score
3,001
Location
Logan UT
Sweet! I'll try it out on my System 18 board this weekend! :D

Have to see if I have all the EPROMs on hand that this set needs...
 

-Ace-

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
436
Reaction score
273
Location
WISCONSIN
I'll be able to test it out in a few day's or so, as soon as my board shows up.
 

Asure

Professional
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
395
Reaction score
406
Location
Netherlands
Will give this a go on an original board asap :)
 

-Ace-

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
436
Reaction score
273
Location
WISCONSIN
Just wondering, my Laser Ghost still has the FD battery deal on it and functioning fine. Will this conversion work leaving that intact or does it need to be swapped out for the 68000? Also, I have the 5987 romboard, .. . . .
Left OG position on 5874, right corresponding position on 5987
A6 -> A4
A5 -> A6
B1 -> B1
B2 -> B2
B3 -> B3
B11 -> B10
A11 -> A10
B10 -> B11
A10 -> A11
B9 -> B12
A9 -> A12
B8 -> B13
A8 -> A13
A4 -> B7
B4 -> B6
B5 -> B5
B6 -> B4
Does this mean that rom A6 goes in A4 on my 5987 romboard, A5 goes into A6 and so on? Finally, what is the MCU? Is that something I need to remove from my board?
 
Last edited:

Asure

Professional
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
395
Reaction score
406
Location
Netherlands
I'm on mobile so the short answers are
A6 to A4 YES
Needs 68000
You have no mcu so nothing to remove.

FD CPU will be fine off the board. Internal battery.
 

-Ace-

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
436
Reaction score
273
Location
WISCONSIN
OK, 68K was my issue- replaced the FD with it and bam. . . thanks Apocalypse. . . . .works great! MJ.jpeg
 

sk8er000

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
456
Reaction score
363
Location
Italy
Unfortunately I'm getting some sprites errors.
Some tiles, test menu and sound work but the sprites are all wrong.
The test menu runs fine and the memory test passes with all good.
On the PCB in the photo I removed the audio EPROMs because I've tried to flash sprites roms in different EPROMs.

I've dumped each EPROM and compared with the original files and are all identical. The dip switches seems right to me.

Any idea?

Thank you in advance

EDIT:
Removing IC4 (I've bought it pre programmed from buyicnow since my top3k can't program this ic) the game starts!
Is that normal?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20190227_184228_142.jpg
    IMG_20190227_184228_142.jpg
    231.6 KB · Views: 338
  • IMG_20190227_184222_646.jpg
    IMG_20190227_184222_646.jpg
    125.3 KB · Views: 289
  • IMG_20190227_184224_992.jpg
    IMG_20190227_184224_992.jpg
    187.8 KB · Views: 333
  • IMG_20190227_184230_650.jpg
    IMG_20190227_184230_650.jpg
    312.5 KB · Views: 353
  • IMG_20190227_184235_919.jpg
    IMG_20190227_184235_919.jpg
    107.5 KB · Views: 300
  • IMG_20190227_185747_662.jpg
    IMG_20190227_185747_662.jpg
    151.1 KB · Views: 291
  • IMG_20190227_185743_363.jpg
    IMG_20190227_185743_363.jpg
    125.6 KB · Views: 259
Last edited:

-Ace-

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
436
Reaction score
273
Location
WISCONSIN
I don't recall dealing with an IC4 on mine, infact I don't even have a chip in that location. So the game works perfect w/o that chip then?
 

sk8er000

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
456
Reaction score
363
Location
Italy
I don't recall dealing with an IC4 on mine, infact I don't even have a chip in that location. So the game works perfect w/o that chip then?
At the moment I've played it only a couple of minutes, I've reprogrammed the audio EPROMs and the sound is working fine.
The only issue I have is some missing lines on the main sprites
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20190227_192212_870.jpg
    IMG_20190227_192212_870.jpg
    370.3 KB · Views: 314

Apocalypse

Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,857
Reaction score
6,697
Location
New-Zealand
Unfortunately I'm getting some sprites errors.
Some tiles, test menu and sound work but the sprites are all wrong.
The test menu runs fine and the memory test passes with all good.
On the PCB in the photo I removed the audio EPROMs because I've tried to flash sprites roms in different EPROMs.

I've dumped each EPROM and compared with the original files and are all identical. The dip switches seems right to me.

Any idea?

Thank you in advance

EDIT:
Removing IC4 (I've bought it pre programmed from buyicnow since my top3k can't program this ic) the game starts!
Is that normal?
I don't recall dealing with an IC4 on mine, infact I don't even have a chip in that location. So the game works perfect w/o that chip then?
There is no IC4 (MCU) to be used, this is a no MCU patch! ;)
Having the MCU in place with the hack obviously causes conflicts.
At the moment I've played it only a couple of minutes, I've reprogrammed the audio EPROMs and the sound is working fine.The only issue I have is some missing lines on the main sprites
Clearly a hardware failure, not related to the patch. Looks like you have a floating data signal on the sprite ROMs.
 

sk8er000

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
456
Reaction score
363
Location
Italy
There is no IC4 (MCU) to be used, this is a no MCU patch! ;)
Great! I didn't catch that :thumbup:


I've tried to use the OG ROMs (Clutch Hitter) and I don't have any sprite issue, the moonwalker ROMs are fine if compared with the moonwalker files.
Do you think that I have a bad EPROM?
Is it possible to know which one is the faulty EPROM so that I can avoid swapping every single sprite EPROM?
 
Last edited:

sk8er000

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
456
Reaction score
363
Location
Italy
Do you think that I have a bad EPROM?
Is it possible to know which one is the faulty EPROM so that I can avoid swapping every single sprite EPROM?
Nevermind, I've resoldered all the sockets of the sprites ROMs, all the romboard connectors and all the CPU pins and now it's working!

Can't wait to try all the game!
 

sk8er000

Professional
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
456
Reaction score
363
Location
Italy
I've played all the game in single player mode using all 3 players and 2 players mode (not enough friends to try 3 players mode X/ ).
Tried various difficulties and listened all the sound test menu.
Everything is working from my tests!

Great job @Apocalypse :thumbup:
 
Top