What's new

Trol

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
213
Reaction score
116
Location
Netherlands
Doe anyone know how to program an SP security pic?
I tried the mame dump for tetris Giant on a PIC16F628A with the same settings as the naomi zero pics.
Also tried both the naomi zero pics, none of them work :?:
 
  • Like
Reactions: AMS

Apocalypse

Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,857
Reaction score
6,698
Location
New-Zealand
Doe anyone know how to program an SP security pic?
I tried the mame dump for tetris Giant on a PIC16F628A with the same settings as the naomi zero pics.
Also tried both the naomi zero pics, none of them work :?:
Depending of your programmer you have to program the PIC then its settings separately.
I had that problem before.
 

MetalliC

Grand Master
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
1,193
Reaction score
1,077
@Trol try this config
m4_pic16f62xa_config.png
credits goes to rtw and me

PS: SystemSP are NAOMI1 with integrated "M4-type" ROM board, so it uses security PICs like in these M4 cartridges, and they have NOT the same config bits as DIMM PICs
 

Trol

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
213
Reaction score
116
Location
Netherlands
What should the config word be?
I'm struggling with a TI866 over here...
 

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,346
Reaction score
3,628
Location
Finland
Maybe @nem knows
It's been a while. Also, I don't think I used the TL866 for it. For the record, the config screen on the Minipro is pretty obtuse:

minipro_pic_config.jpg


How do the bits correspond to the oscillator settings?
 

Trol

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
213
Reaction score
116
Location
Netherlands
I think bit 0 ,1 and 4 are the osc settings
 

Trol

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
213
Reaction score
116
Location
Netherlands
Top3000 setting would be fine too, if I can get that POS to work wit a pic chip :)
 

Trol

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
213
Reaction score
116
Location
Netherlands
Still not getting anywhere with this board.
It's just sittng at "initializing,please wait" forever.
I noticed this in test mode:Piccy

Is this normal or do I have a broken board?
 

stj

Grand Master
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
1,169
Reaction score
453
Location
England
try enabling the pic onboard oscilator - maybe there is no external clock.
 

MetalliC

Grand Master
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
1,193
Reaction score
1,077
afaik "FIRMWARE NOT READY" error not related to PIC, if PCB is good and working it will not be shown no matter if PIC populated or not.
 

Trol

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
213
Reaction score
116
Location
Netherlands
well, I'll give it a try.... lets see what happens..
Already checked and reprogrammed the Net flash....
 

AMS

Grand Master
Joined
Mar 28, 2020
Messages
739
Reaction score
577
Location
Amsterdam/Netherlands
@Trol you can also kick it in about 10 pieces and use that to play Tetris :thumbsup: :P
 

ar2r

Beginner
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
10
Reaction score
6
I am trying to recreate a pic for dinoking 2.5. I have oryginal so I know all is working fine.
Tried the settings from first screenshot with pic16f628a but can not get it working.
I am using tl866. Settings are FOSC1=1, MCLR=1,CPD=1 rest as per screenshot from minipro.
any thoughts?
@MetalliC can you share the config word value?
Thanks
 

stj

Grand Master
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
1,169
Reaction score
453
Location
England
try FOSC0 and FOSC1 =1
that will configure for external clock rather than external crystal
 
Top