What's new

Derick2k

Immortal
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
8,113
Reaction score
6,501
Location
NYC, USA
Anyone have a list of the upgrades for the Taito Type X?

CPU
RAM
GPU
 

penrhos

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
771
Reaction score
405
Location
Leicester - UK
GPU
Your stuck with an ATI 9600 SE for most of the games or they don't work.

The only exception are any games that run on the type-x+ as that uses a different card (I swapped mine out for a 9600SE so I could run the ttx-multi).

On the plus point mine seems to work fine with a replacement sapphire 9600SE with no bios hacks.

Ram.

I've upgraded mine to 2Gb and I think it'll do 4Gb (but no point as none of the games use that much ram). I used crucial ram and Kingston, Hynix & Samsung all seemed to work without any issues.

Not touched the CPU yet - just left it as stock.

The best upgrade is my ttx+ arrived in a ttx2 case so the psu and airflow are much better, finding drive mounting plates was easier too.
 

kidpanda

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
194
Reaction score
119
Yea, you can use any 9600, I bought 3 stock 9600 cards on ebay as backups cause they were 5 bucks each shipped. Ive got a P4 2.8? Ghz Cpu I'm going to most likely drop in when my replacement fans come in. I'll report back if it does anything cause Gigawing Generations runs like poo poo on stock. I've never played the game original other than the ps2 version but that one is locked to 30fps and the arcade runs at 60......sometimes.
 

Derick2k

Immortal
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
8,113
Reaction score
6,501
Location
NYC, USA
Thanks for the info guys.

Picked up a P4 3ghz $7 shipped and 2gb ram for $8 shipped

Gonna pick up a spare gpu just in case I ever need a replacement.

Has anyone replaced caps on their TTX MBs? Seems like bulging caps are a common problem on these boards.
 

penrhos

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
771
Reaction score
405
Location
Leicester - UK
the fan on the psu is directly opposite the caps next to the CPU so they get nice hot air sucked over them.

I've done one cap repair and the board has been rock solid since doing them.

I've got another "faulty" ttx on the way back from Japan that stands me at $60 inc sea freight. I suspect it has the same fault.

I'm searching the scrap pc pile at work to find some compatible CPU's and will try some out once I have a few victims.
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
734
Reaction score
543
Location
Norway
How is the stock CPU cooler holding up for anyone with an upgraded CPU ( @Derick2k ).

I have a cheap Northwood P4 3GHz en route, but it is rated to 82W TPD over 60W for the Celeron...
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
734
Reaction score
543
Location
Norway
Also @kidpanda @Derick2k
What GPUs have you tested? Anything besides the 9600 SE? I've seen the XT mentioned as a viable upgrade, but I tried a 256MB variant and just errors...
Perhaps the 128 version is still good..?
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
734
Reaction score
543
Location
Norway
Bump on the graphics card question.

Also, I have a 30GB 44pin ide SSD that I've tried in the TTX.
That gave me a blue screen:

90818772-8CBF-4DF2-A380-28AB44592BA2.JPG

Stop: 0x0000007b 0xf78d2524 0xc0000034 0x00000000 0x00000000

0x7B relates to inaccessible boot disk...

I am using a cheap chinese Sata to 44pin IDE adapter... perhaps that could be the issue?
I have ordered a 40 to 44pin IDE adapter to test that.

Meanwhile, has anyone else tested a SATA drive in the TTX? I believe it works fine on the TTX2...
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,499
Reaction score
3,532
Location
The Netherlands
SSD works fine in TTX2 indeed, but then it is SATA already so no adapter needed :)
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
734
Reaction score
543
Location
Norway
SSD works fine in TTX2 indeed, but then it is SATA already so no adapter needed :)
The TTX has both IDE and SATA ports on the motherboard as too.
The SSD I had spare is a 44 pin IDE model so I would still require an adapter just to use regular (40pin) IDE.
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
734
Reaction score
543
Location
Norway
So it was my SATA to 44pin IDE adapter that was the cause.
A 40 to 44pin IDE adapter has solved the issue.
Noticeable decrease in boot time is nice.
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
734
Reaction score
543
Location
Norway
Read next post.

On Graphics cards I have tested a 9600XT 256, a 9600XT 128 and a 9600 (!PRO) 128.

The XT 256 booted, but threw software errors.
The XT 128 I chose as it looked identical to the TTX+ card. That gave software errors, then graphical glitches and then died...
The 9600 128 was advertised as a PRO, had no external markings as such so I am assuming it to be a vanilla 9600.

The vanilla 9600 128 boots to the multi and games are playable with the exception of Tetris TGM X/
(For that the game is clearly running, but the screen is black).
Ok, I have heard that Tetris is really picky about its graphics card. No real surprise.
I will mostly use this TTX for tate, but I hate tradeoffs.

Just some filler... I picked the 9600 !Pro (left) as it had the same PCB layout as the stock SE (right)

s-l1600.jpg


Here is the chipset...

IMG_0797.jpg

I'm pretty sure the 215R8KAGA12F chipset is a non-PRO model :thumbdown:
Anyway... Perhaps I try for a legit PRO, possibly a better SE (lol).
At least it looks like the R350 family (SE, 9600, Pro) are viable.
 

Attachments

  • 055860724af49231ea65db2f4e0beb47-1200x900.jpg
    055860724af49231ea65db2f4e0beb47-1200x900.jpg
    231.6 KB · Views: 107
Last edited:

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
734
Reaction score
543
Location
Norway
Last one.
Picked up a Sapphire 9600 PRO 256 card for cheap.
This uses BGA memory unlike most cards in this range, so perhaps some better specs there too.

s-l1600 (1).jpg


Boots up and runs fine. More testing required :thumbup:

Scratch everything.

Playing Raiden IV, noticed pretty prominent screen tearing.
Tested a 2nd TTX unit (near stock)... ran smooth.

Have returned to stock 9600SE.

Test for yourself - Raiden IV (Export), Standard game, Lvl2 over city buildings.
SE = nice and smooth, Anything else = choppy mess.
 

Attachments

  • s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    179.6 KB · Views: 116
Last edited:

Mickysmoke

Beginner
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
Ireland
Any advice on the best replacement ATI 9600 SE to use for a ttx+. I have 2 ttx+ mobos with no graphics cards, when looking on ebay there seems to be a lot of different opinions out there. just wondering can the mobo take any one of the cards
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
734
Reaction score
543
Location
Norway
@Mickysmoke The stock SE looks like this:

032E6399-C835-483F-954D-E99322657F25.jpeg

It is assumed to have a custom BIOS.
It should be trivial to extract said bios and flash a stock card, but haven’t got round to trying.
May also be possible to flash another RV350 based card with the same or modified BIOS.
@twistedsymphony and @rtw may also be onboard with experimenting here...
 
Last edited:

Mickysmoke

Beginner
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
Ireland
Nice1 @nam9.
Was looking at a few different 9600 SE on ebay, was hoping to get them running and use for a muti hd. Can the ttx+ work on any monitor
 
Top