What's new

jassin000

Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,831
Reaction score
6,457
Location
Afterlife
Am I right in thinking the Jassifier will make the video levels from it safe to use with an OSSC?
That device appears to already output proper SCART video levels (ie you don't need a Jassifier with it).

Jassifier was designed specifically for use with the Jammifier, it can be used in conjunction with other devices but is only needed if the video output is raw/directly from the arcade PCB.
 

jassin000

Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,831
Reaction score
6,457
Location
Afterlife
Honestly I would get a @RGB HAS (Home Arcade System) or a @Frank_fjs Minigun (open source Supergun).
That SG looks like (China made) shit to me. ;)
 

DoktorSleepless

Professional
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
261
Reaction score
226
Location
MD/VA, USA
Does anyone have a kit and materials for these handy? These things are gonna be awesome for hooking up HD CRT monitors to cabs.

Thanks @jassin000 for creating this design..
I have like 4 or 5 completely built boards where I was trying to diagnose an issue thought to be with me building them. Turns out, my dumb ass forgot to turn on the +5V switch on the Jammafier. :facepalm: They're all fine, I'm just a blind idiot.

If you want one, you can have one. Just cover shipping. I want 'em gone.
 

jassin000

Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,831
Reaction score
6,457
Location
Afterlife
You can feed +5v however (jamma harness extension etc) you see fit, but yes voltage is required for it to function (glad your solder/build was AOK). ;)
 

hoagtech

Champion
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
1,240
Reaction score
1,457
Location
Bellingham WA
I have like 4 or 5 completely built boards where I was trying to diagnose an issue thought to be with me building them. Turns out, my dumb ass forgot to turn on the +5V switch on the Jammafier. :facepalm: They're all fine, I'm just a blind idiot.

If you want one, you can have one. Just cover shipping. I want 'em gone.
Thanks alot man. I'm trying to return the favor and order x4 part kits and solder them for future VGA tube users..

The trim pots on the BoM are backordered until May 2022!

Does anyone know of a suitable replacement? None were recommended by digikey..

Capture.png
 

jassin000

Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,831
Reaction score
6,457
Location
Afterlife
I think using a solid resistor at about 600~800 OHM range should do, my pots are dialed in to about halfway (or better) most of the time and for most PCBs this is perfect.
 

DoktorSleepless

Professional
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
261
Reaction score
226
Location
MD/VA, USA

hoagtech

Champion
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
1,240
Reaction score
1,457
Location
Bellingham WA
I have 5 wires coming from the "Arcade Cabinet" kit. RGBs and Video ground..

5-C3-C97-D2-608-E-449-F-A62-C-1-A77-D3-B8-CA98.jpg


If I were to just wire the signals through hole instead of soldering the VGA hat, Would these be the appropriate holes for my "arcade cabinet" wires?

Jassifier.png
 
Top