What's new

Mr. Glendale

Beginner
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
6
Location
Glendale
So I just got an Astro City cab from that dirtball Casey. The cab powered a board, and we could hear the game running.

Zero picture at all, tho. I took the shit monitor out and dropped in my BEAUTIFUL Sanwa monitor that I got from this guy Gene at Vintage Arcade somethingorother here in Glendale.

I tested the Toshiba on my supergun setup, and I hear the monitor make its "POWERIN' UP, YO! sound, there's static etc. But still no picture.

What do? (besides yell at this moron until he gives me a working monitor)
 

BlinG

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
730
Reaction score
585
Location
Arizona
Instead of calling the seller a dirtball and moron, maybe you should message him and try to work things out instead.

Btw i am pretty sure sanwa model monitors don’t fit in an Astro city.
 

Mr. Glendale

Beginner
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
6
Location
Glendale
Thanks for the reply, but lol. You don't know what you're talking about here, about either thing.

Not trying to be rude, but you're incorrect.
 

BlinG

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
730
Reaction score
585
Location
Arizona
Ok sure, but you haven't even given enough info for anyone to even try and help you. You haven't said anything about the chassis model or tube model. Sanwa monitor could mean anything...

Did you look at the chassis before yanking it out for bulging caps or loose connections? New Astro City MS9 or OG Astro City MS8?

Did you even look at the cabinet physically before this so called dirtball sold it to you?

I don't recall sanwa ever making 15khz/24khz monitors, only flat tri-sync, which won't fit in an astro city without an ugly gap in between the tube and bezel. By reading your original post, you're trying to drop in a random ass sanwa model tube and chassis just expecting it to work.
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,499
Reaction score
3,533
Location
The Netherlands
Did you even look at the cabinet physically before this so called dirtball sold it to you?
it the seller is KC, then I don’t think this is even possible to arrange with him...
 

nem

Enlightened
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
3,534
Reaction score
2,602
Location
Finland
I think of Casey McMahon when someone mentions Casey. 100% certified dirtbag there.

Anyway, I have a 15khz Sanwa, so they're definitely out there.
 

Aurich

Champion
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
1,111
Reaction score
1,468
Location
SoCal
I get that you're upset, but honestly coming off hostile and unhelpful isn't a great way to ask for assistance. Breathe. You might not think you're being rude, but you are. No one here wronged you or wants to be ranted at.

CRTs go bad, this is the hobby, so the smart play is to get educated, because it's gonna happen. Just a matter of time. Gene is a good guy, friend of mine, you can always ask him if he has a tech who can look at your chassis.

If you want specialists the place to go is http://www.pnlvideo.com They can fix just about anything.
 

Mr. Glendale

Beginner
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
6
Location
Glendale
The seller is KC, and as you can see- a couple people know what dealing with him means.

We powered on the cab and heard the board running, led on, monitor makes the powerup sound, static etc. No picture whatsoever.

My friend argues with KC for 30 minutes, and now the idea is to buy the cab sans monitor. KC is FIRM at $650 for an Astro without a monitor. We argue about that for a while, obviously don't go for that retarded price.

Friend goes back into battle. Another 30 min. later, he has SOMEHOW managed to get KC to take $750 for the cab since the monitor has no picture. Deal for the working cab was $850. I agree to this, because I already have a gorgeous 27" Sanwa monitor that I saw running at Gene's and then bought. Recapped in July of 2018 by them. Gene, my friend and I already know that the monitor I have is a drop-in for the Astro City cabinet.

So last night, before posting here, I reassembled the entire Astro cab (I had to dissassemble it to get it through my doorjamb) and got the wiring mostly hooked up, except for the controls. Fire it up, it works a treat.

So when @BlinG comes in and tells me that my Sanwa monitor does not fit in my cabinet, I know from experience within the last hour that he is incorrect.

I also know from dealing with KC myself personally (in person at his warehouse), and talking to nearly a dozen people who CURRENTLY have cabinets that they bought from KC- that he is a dirtball and a moron. From his words, actions, and attitude.

So when I say that you are incorrect, just know that you are. I am not asking for help in "getting mah monmies back, wah wah," I am hoping someone here with actual knowledge and experience in these types of arcade monitors will post eventually. I'm not upset, I'm problem solving.

And no shit Gene can fix it. That dude is a super nice genius, he's unstoppable. I'm looking for things I can try on my own, so I don't look like a retard when I take it to Gene and he wipes a trace and fixes it in 3 minutes.
 

Mr. Glendale

Beginner
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
6
Location
Glendale
Also, the only reason the first post doesn't contain a picture of the monitor's sticker, is that it's covered in 40 years of Japanese cigarette ash-slime, and I lost my telephone at a party friday night. It's bumming me out too, man.
 

ReplicaX

Professional
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
388
Reaction score
439
Location
Boston, MA
Regardless, I'd still service the chassis on that original monitor and have it as a backup. Did the original monitor have noticeable burn-in? As it doesn't need to be powered if its noticeable. If you are from Glendale, CA, you had the ability to drive there, see the cabs powered and look them over before buying, and load it your way. A luxury others do not have.

If you negotiated and agreed on a price drop, I wouldn't argue about it anymore. CRTs are aged and have a ton of hrs on them, especially if it came over recently from Asia, and a cab as old as an Astro.

There are now enough posts on this forum to realize what you are paying for from KC and the service he provides.
 

DecepticonZero

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 28, 2017
Messages
1,092
Reaction score
1,157
Location
Boston, MA
To answer your original question, put the old monitor back in and try some simple troubleshooting first. It doesn't sound like the HOT since you're getting neck glow and static. Any whine from the flyback? Have you tried reseating the cables going to the remote board and double checking power and video connections to the chassis? Also, have you tried cranking the screen knob on the flyback up a bit to see if it displays white lines?

Also, I'm thinking you might be confused. Sanwa monitors are flat screen and not curved. Unless you buy an add on, you will have a considerable gap between the monitor glass and the bezel. You will also not be able to rotate the monitor with the back access panel on. Are you sure your don't mean a Nanao monitor? Those would be drop in replacements depending on the model.
 

Hedonism Bot 2.0

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 12, 2017
Messages
715
Reaction score
933
Location
Atlanta, Georgia
I think of Casey McMahon when someone mentions Casey. 100% certified dirtbag there
So do I. FWIW, never do any business with Casey McMahon, he is a scammer and overall turd.

OP, I'd send the nanao chassis out to sharp image repair and let them work it over, If its a Ms9, those things are tanks and can usually be saved.
 

Frank_fjs

Multi Boyz 4 Lyfe
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
3,431
Reaction score
5,791
Location
Australia - Adelaide
Astro City cabs also came from the factory with a Sanwa (sometimes branded as Sega) PM1745 dual res chassis, paired with a Toshiba tube. It's mentioned in the service manual. Mine has this combo, beautiful monitor. They didn't all have the Nanao chassis.
 

DecepticonZero

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 28, 2017
Messages
1,092
Reaction score
1,157
Location
Boston, MA
Astro City cabs also came from the factory with a Sanwa (sometimes branded as Sega) PM1745 dual res chassis, paired with a Toshiba tube. It's mentioned in the service manual. Mine has this combo, beautiful monitor. They didn't all have the Nanao chassis.
Well, I stand corrected. I've seen Astros come and go for 10+ years and I've never heard of these until today. Thanks for posting.
 

Asure

Professional
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
397
Reaction score
422
Location
Netherlands
we're watching....

Where was the cab advertised?
I assume from here, as it's been mentioned the seller was kcarcade
astro city 14 units will here next two days

The name rang a bell, i remember this tard from the n-g.com forums back in the day (2006-2008-ish? I'm not sure. Its been 10 years.).
He's also known as Japhei. Maybe that wakes up some people. I think tonk sent some guys over to beat him up. Maybe an urban legend :D
He ripped off a shitload of people back then. Guess his 10 years of living under a rock is over.

I don't think we want this guy on the forums.
See him on Google
Banned almost everywhere including Klov

Long post with details:

Originally Posted by channelmanic
I hate getting involved in shit like this, but the trail on you goes VERY far...

Here's a small bit of it:

Banned:
http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=27169

Banned:
http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=27181

More:
http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?t=3836
http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?t=5523
http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?t=7776
http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic...=342168#342168

http://forums.shmups.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3383

You've been kicked off of cheapassgamer

You've been banned from sega-naomi.com forums while a buddy of yours is still there but has been sternly warned by mods... said buddy has banned off of shmups and neo-geo forums. (segafan4life)

You've been repeatedly banned at neo-geo.com yet you still create new accounts to try to sell the same things over & over. They have 2 large threads just about you:

http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=180291
http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=125688

Banned:

People claiming you ripped them off:
http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=102
http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=103
http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showpo...7&postcount=50
http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showpo...1&postcount=20
http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showpo...5&postcount=22

Screwing with people's auctions:
http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showpo...3&postcount=44

How many IDs have you had on eBay? How many times have they thrown you off? Japhei, Ikaruga, jesicasman7, Arcadegod, arcade_exports_ltd, godzrule, purseluva2000, carolescollectible, carol'-collectibles, bloomsday, and how many more?

Your eBay IDs are listed on Digital Press as a person to avoid:
http://www.digitpress.com/forum/show...ghlight=japhei

And on Atari Age forums back in 2003!:
http://www.atariage.com/forums/topic...seller-warning

Anyone can search for you using google/yahoo/bing/etc... to see what people are talking about.

This many people cannot be wrong. Or can they?
 
Last edited:

DecepticonZero

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 28, 2017
Messages
1,092
Reaction score
1,157
Location
Boston, MA
KCArcade = Ken Chou on eBay. Goes by Casey if you sound out his name like you're hooked on phonics.

Yaton = Yaton626 on eBay. Used to be Y-Tech industries. Goes by the name Jason or James now. Maybe the Jason was just for Halloween?

Japhei= Casey McMahon. Goes by too many user names to count and is most likely on this forum already. Steer clear of user names that reference Sega and originate from FL, and you should be ok.

KC is in no way associated with Japhei. You might not always like what you get with KC, but at least you'll get your items.
 
Last edited:
Top