What's new

Sebbeug

Beginner
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
17
Reaction score
12
Location
France
Is it possible to use it BEHIND an UFB brook ?

I own a TE2 stick with an UFB brook inside... and i plan to use it with a supergun (via DB15)

[Edit] I read it was possible... So is it possible to preorder / order / purchase / ... ? :)
 
Last edited:

Aurich

Champion
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
2,660
Location
SoCal
I got into the dumbest argument during the Combo Breaker Third Strike stream with someone who was insisting that UD converters add lag, until it was apparent he'd read one of your blog posts about testing various sticks/PCBs and was actually talking about the native lag out of said devices. He really thought your converters added a variable amount of lag depending on what you used with it ...

That's when I closed the chat to watch Frankie lose to Justin. ;(
 

SF3BMX

Enthusiast
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
156
Reaction score
231
Location
Mesa, AZ
I got into the dumbest argument during the Combo Breaker Third Strike stream with someone who was insisting that UD converters add lag, until it was apparent he'd read one of your blog posts about testing various sticks/PCBs and was actually talking about the native lag out of said devices. He really thought your converters added a variable amount of lag depending on what you used with it ...
I saw that. The guy was absolutely clueless lol.
 

BroadwayJose

Enthusiast
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
295
Reaction score
145
Location
Las Vegas, NV USA
I'm not that big into 3S. Is everyone mad Justin dominates that game like how the mvc2 scene was mad for a decade back when he ran that game?
 

Aurich

Champion
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
2,660
Location
SoCal
I'm not that big into 3S. Is everyone mad Justin dominates that game like how the mvc2 scene was mad for a decade back when he ran that game?
Nah, he hardly even competes honestly. He'll show up to some retro tournaments and dominate still though.

But he's not a factor as far as the 'living' Third Strike scene goes otherwise. Which kind of makes his wins more disgusting really.
 

xodaraP

Legendary
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,558
Reaction score
3,448
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Is it possible to use it BEHIND an UFB brook ?

I own a TE2 stick with an UFB brook inside... and i plan to use it with a supergun (via DB15)

[Edit] I read it was possible... So is it possible to preorder / order / purchase / ... ? :)
This is exactly how I'm setup, I have a Qanba Q4RAF with a UFB plugged into a UD-USB. I had to update to the beta firmware to make it work, but that may now be the current stable firmware
 

undamned

Multi Baez
Champion
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
1,084
Reaction score
2,065
Location
AZ, USA
Status on availability:

For Terminal Block style, Paradise Arcade handles the manufacturing of those, so they should be getting another batch built soon.

For DB15, I made 250 a couple months ago with the hope of sending about 200 to Paradise Arcade and keeping 50 for international direct orders. Well, I ended up selling about 180 for direct orders and the remaining 70 went to Paradise Arcade. They needed 30 for some setups for Combo Breaker and the remaining 40 sold on their website. I've begun ordering parts for a 500pc batch and hope to have that available late July.

While parts are coming in I'd like to focus on firmware updates for some sticks that are not compatible (some Qanbas, some Horis, Victrix, etc.).
-ud
 

undamned

Multi Baez
Champion
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
1,084
Reaction score
2,065
Location
AZ, USA
I have arcade cabinets but i have friends who like to use their own stick/pads/hitboxes to play the jamma games. I thought this device allowed you to plug in most usb controllers.
Yep, I know lots of people who have done this. Some people want the option to use both the built in arcade panel controls or some other controller they are more comfortable with. We've done that at various EVO side tournaments and there's even cabs at the Mikado game center in Japan that did this on some of their machines (I think for Guilty gear or some game that also had a home release, so people could bring their pads).

I've never seen photos of how they wired their stuff up, but electrically, the Decoders just go in parallel with the existing controls. You do not need to isolate them in any way. The signals all play well together. I would put in a vote for either some sort of JAMMA pass through PCB that you can wire into or if your cabinet already has the control panel wires running into plugs that detach, you could make your own pluggable extensions with wires coming off to go to the Decoders.
-ud
 
Last edited:

ZoomBoy

Student
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
114
Reaction score
34
Location
Oshawa
Status on availability:

For Terminal Block style, Paradise Arcade handles the manufacturing of those, so they should be getting another batch built soon.

For DB15, I made 250 a couple months ago with the hope of sending about 200 to Paradise Arcade and keeping 50 for international direct orders. Well, I ended up selling about 180 for direct orders and the remaining 70 went to Paradise Arcade. They needed 30 for some setups for Combo Breaker and the remaining 40 sold on their website. I've begun ordering parts for a 500pc batch and hope to have that available late July.

While parts are coming in I'd like to focus on firmware updates for some sticks that are not compatible (some Qanbas, some Horis, Victrix, etc.).
-ud
Great to hear, excited to grab one from either yourself or Paradise in the next batch. How do I order directly from you the next round?
 

Aurich

Champion
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
2,660
Location
SoCal
I've never seen photos of how they wired their stuff up, but electrically, the Decoders just go in parallel with the existing controls. You do not need to isolate them in any way. The signals all play well together. I would put in a vote for either some sort of JAMMA pass through PCB that you can wire into or if your cabinet already has the control panel wires running into plugs that detach, you could make your own pluggable extensions with wires coming off to go to the Decoders.
Atari did this for his cabs, I bet we could ask him for photos if you wanted to see his setup.
 

Wraith

Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
263
Reaction score
114
Location
Maryland
i think thats a ridiculous concept, you should be so lucky to get to play on candy cabs with sanwa levers and buttons
 

opt2not

Multi Boyz Pixeler
Enlightened
Multi Boyz
Joined
Nov 10, 2015
Messages
2,040
Reaction score
3,366
Location
California
i think thats a ridiculous concept, you should be so lucky to get to play on candy cabs with sanwa levers and buttons
But what if you prefer Seimitsus?

What if you’re used to using octo-gates rather than square?

Serious gamers have their preferred control setups, and giving the option to use their own controls isn’t a bad thing.

It’s not so ridiculous if you consider Sega was officially doing this already, allowing Dreamcast controllers to be plugged into their panels ( @Mitsurugi-w maple adapters here).
 
Last edited:

Aurich

Champion
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
2,660
Location
SoCal
i think thats a ridiculous concept, you should be so lucky to get to play on candy cabs with sanwa levers and buttons
(shrug) I feel you, if you want to play on my cabs use the sticks attached to them, but if you set up your own cabs your own way that's cool. It's a new era, people use all kinds of controls these days. As much as I personally enjoy keeping the arcade spirit alive at my place I'm just glad people still want to play the games.
 

glocknyne

Student
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
96
Reaction score
24
Location
Long Beach
While parts are coming in I'd like to focus on firmware updates for some sticks that are not compatible (some Qanbas, some Horis, Victrix, etc.).
-ud
Crossing my fingers that the Brook PS3/PS4 fighting board compatibility will be part of the next firmware update. Thanks for your work.
 

UltraSean

Student
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
83
Reaction score
24
Location
Albuquerque
Quick dumb question. I’ve given up on finding a UDCPS2 and have decided to go the normal supergun route. I noticed most of them have the DB15 connectors. If I was to buy the super gun and 2 of the UDDB15 connectors, is that all I need that way others can use their own sticks? And is input lag affected in any way?
 

xodaraP

Legendary
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,558
Reaction score
3,448
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Quick dumb question. I’ve given up on finding a UDCPS2 and have decided to go the normal supergun route. I noticed most of them have the DB15 connectors. If I was to buy the super gun and 2 of the UDDB15 connectors, is that all I need that way others can use their own sticks? And is input lag affected in any way?
A Supergun is a better option I think, it will give you the option of playing everything.

UD-CPS2 is great for tournaments where you only need the one platform and you want it to be enclosed.

In answer to your question, yes, 2 of these are all you need and no they don't affect input lag
 

undamned

Multi Baez
Champion
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
1,084
Reaction score
2,065
Location
AZ, USA
Quick dumb question. I’ve given up on finding a UDCPS2 and have decided to go the normal supergun route. I noticed most of them have the DB15 connectors. If I was to buy the super gun and 2 of the UDDB15 connectors, is that all I need that way others can use their own sticks? And is input lag affected in any way?
There is no absolute standard for which pins do what on DB15 superguns (most attempt to follow NEO GEO pinout, but even that is not guaranteed), so mind the chart in the first post of the thread.

Lag is dictated mostly by the controller you use. The Decoder takes about 1ms to process messages and controllers take anywhere from <1ms to 10s of ms (though in my experience most are well below 10).
-ud
 

Aurich

Champion
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
2,660
Location
SoCal
The Decoder takes about 1ms to process messages
Nice try "undamned", if that's even your real name. I was told in a Twitch chat that your converters add lag, and who are you going to believe? The creator of the product? Or someone you've never heard of in an anonymous chat? Yeah, exactly.
 

fstrike

Student
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
38
Reaction score
17
Location
Winnipeg, MB Canada
While parts are coming in I'd like to focus on firmware updates for some sticks that are not compatible (some Qanbas, some Horis, Victrix, etc.).

-ud
Exactly what I've been waiting for, a lot guys in my local scene have some incompatible sticks and I look forward to when it is up and working. 8o
 
Top