What's new

DRI374

Beginner
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Santa Cruz, CA
I'm looking for the elusive Ultracade UVC downscaler to hook up a XBOX360 and/or other VGA capable device to a blast city. I'm mostly interested in running 15Khz ports in native resolution hence not interested in the 31Khz capability of the blast city at this time.
 

opt2not

Multi Boyz Pixeler
Enlightened
Multi Boyz
Joined
Nov 10, 2015
Messages
1,815
Reaction score
2,612
Location
California
The Ultracade UVC is pretty rare at this point. They sometimes pop up on Ebay here and there, but I haven't seen one in over 6 months.

There is an alternative now.
There was segnficant work done to modify the cheaper GBS 8200/8220 upscalers for better quality, but also adds downscaling functionality.
These devices are cheaper than what you'll find with the UVC (if one ever pops up again). But requires some DIY modding.

Here's the very long shmups forum thread. It's got all the information in there, you just gotta find it through the billions of pages. LOL
https://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=52172
 

evilsim

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
268
Reaction score
199
Location
Sydney
@evilsim Does it downscale to 15khz and 24khz?
it only downscales to 15khz. if a new firmware were to come out it could possibly have many more functions, but I have not been watching the development of it at all. other projects consume all my time :)

thanks members I'll let you know when they arrive. they will have the clock generator on them as well (once china gets all my parts delivered..)
 

MoppelTheWhale

Grand Master
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
782
Reaction score
722
Location
Nuremberg, Gemany
bulit the gbs control last weekend for exactly the same purpose as you - it works great!

Important: i needed the xbox360 component cable, with vga i didn't get it to work - gbs out is vga to the vga hat of my jammaizer by @Arthrimus - works glorious and all together is really cheap and, most important obtainable
 

Attachments

  • gbscontrol (2).jpg
    gbscontrol (2).jpg
    216.9 KB · Views: 54
  • mushi.jpg
    mushi.jpg
    25 KB · Views: 54
  • rtypefinal.jpg
    rtypefinal.jpg
    236.7 KB · Views: 56

evilsim

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
268
Reaction score
199
Location
Sydney
Thanks @MoppelTheWhale you're very kind!

I have all the parts and have one built so far. See pic for how I placed things. I kept the cables short. I just need to build the scart connectors, but Tim Worthington was nice enough to post me some more today so I'll have those in a few days! Top bloke.

I should be able to ship the first in a few days. If they are popular I'll buy more but the parts take a while to arrive :(

Thanks for the support everyone, I do all this work as a hobby but really enjoy it and of course I love the retro gaming most of all.

I suppose I should make a new post and list the people who are in the queue and see if more people want them... I'll get to it soon. I just want to put the tools down and play some sega16 multi TBH! Hehehe
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210204_004911__01_compress75.jpg
    IMG_20210204_004911__01_compress75.jpg
    245.3 KB · Views: 38

MoppelTheWhale

Grand Master
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
782
Reaction score
722
Location
Nuremberg, Gemany
@evilsim if i remember correctly, the 8200 with the yellow buttons need some extre tuning -

i haven't tried more in the last few days - i can't get its wifi connect to anything since a few days - not the phone, not the ipad, not the laptop - wanted to try some other settings because i realized it looks a litte funky in mushihimesama when the background scrolls to the sides - but much less flicker because there's no interlaced signal, much better for my eyes.
 

evilsim

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
268
Reaction score
199
Location
Sydney
@MoppelTheWhale I have had such issues. But I don't believe it has anything to do with the yellow button PCBs, it's an Arduino thing (I could be wrong). Re-write the code to your Arduino. If it happens again try a different power supply. If it still happens try a different arduino. I have had quite a few different model arduinos which have done some funky stuff. I've had solid good results with the D1 minis.
 

hoagtech

Champion
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
1,148
Location
Bellingham WA
My bro’s Samsung 27” HD CRT has HDMI and Component inputs.

Unfortunately it is not compatible with OSSC Slightly off spec refresh rate.

Its the first non compatible CRT I’ve come across.

Do you know if the GBS will be able to connect to component or HDMI or will I have to adapt the VGA signal?

And if so Please put me down for one Mr @evilsim

I second the wish of being able to downscale to 24khz. That would breath life into so many lightly used Wells 24 monitors .
 
Top