What's new

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,471
Reaction score
11,565
Location
Poland
Here is an update about what would be needed. Can you please @twistedsymphony update?
* It will work with ANY A Board for CPS1, those which have the sound section populated. Those A Boards from CPS1.5 will not work as they have dont have the sound section populated.
* It will work with C Boards that have the B-21 chip installed and battery. Those are: 90630C-4, 90631C-5 and 92641C-1.
* There are some C Boards that have been modified to work on default configuration, by cutting 2 pins that were originally connected to GND and connecting them now to Vcc. Those wont work unless the mod is undone. Obviously you need to remove the wire to the +5V before doing that. Check the following pins:
45/46 to Vcc = default keys
45/46 to gnd = battery powered

That's basically it.
 
Last edited:

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
6,013
Reaction score
8,956
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Nice! So 10Mhz or 12MHz A-Board is fine. Is speed adjusted or compensated on the multi? I know someone’s going to ask, so would be nice to clear this up if possible :). Excellent work @Darksoft
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,471
Reaction score
11,565
Location
Poland
Good question. There is an option on the design to allow for 10/12Mhz but it requires some user intervention on their A Board. Probably removing the Quartz or cutting a trace and using a Clock signal coming from the multi PCB. I don't feel comfortable with that. Any suggestions?
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
6,013
Reaction score
8,956
Location
Brisbane, Australia
I think it’s a viable option to offer? Would ensure certain games run right at 10MHz on Dash and also offer those with 10MHz boards the functionality of a Dash I assume? Would open the doors up of donors further to offer 100% speed compatibility with 12MHz and 10MHz boards.

I don’t think that mod you spoke of sounds too evasive or difficult to enable the end user some further functionality. I guess there’s also potentially the option for a dual crystal board that can created and installed on an A Board, but that sounds like more work than your proposal…
 
Last edited:

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
6,013
Reaction score
8,956
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Plan B sounds like a cleaner install solution.

If it’s auto switching that would be amazing. Otherwise I can predict switch placement might be difficult considering the location of the Crystal.
 

twistedsymphony

Enlightened
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
10,438
Reaction score
10,285
Location
NH, USA
Here is an update about what would be needed.
Well, the good news is that this information isn't any different than what was already posted. however this thread was mostly about C-Boards without any mention of A-Boards. so I added a note about the Q-Sound A-boards not being suitable. and I also added the infomation about which pins to check on potentially de-suicided C-Boards.

I'll re-organize the information for clarity in the coming days. but in the mean time does anyone have a good clear picture of a Q-Sound A-Board
 

xodaraP

Legendary
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,558
Reaction score
3,448
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Well, the good news is that this information isn't any different than what was already posted. however this thread was mostly about C-Boards without any mention of A-Boards. so I added a note about the Q-Sound A-boards not being suitable. and I also added the infomation about which pins to check on potentially de-suicided C-Boards.

I'll re-organize the information for clarity in the coming days. but in the mean time does anyone have a good clear picture of a Q-Sound A-Board

Here you go. I also have a close up of the missing sound section

FF87A5C1-80C7-48EC-A3E5-98F048F16DA4.jpegCD186694-A3EE-4054-A474-92783DF30D59.jpeg0F295657-D9F9-451C-B2E9-C2288F96405B.jpeg
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,471
Reaction score
11,565
Location
Poland
Plan B sounds like a cleaner install solution.

If it’s auto switching that would be amazing. Otherwise I can predict switch placement might be difficult considering the location of the Crystal.
In both cases the selection will be done automatically based on a file in each game folder.
 

bodgit

Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 6, 2020
Messages
114
Reaction score
226
Location
UK
Do A boards that are originally clocked at 10 MHz run stable at 12?

(This sounds similar to the DFO mod for consoles like Sega Genesis/Megadrive; a CDCE9xx chip programmed with two frequencies and selectable with a single logic pin)
 

kuze

Champion
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
1,959
Reaction score
1,421
Location
DFW
Do A boards that are originally clocked at 10 MHz run stable at 12?

(This sounds similar to the DFO mod for consoles like Sega Genesis/Megadrive; a CDCE9xx chip programmed with two frequencies and selectable with a single logic pin)
Yeah they do
 

the Goat

Professional
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
624
Reaction score
409
Location
Vermont, USA
Do A boards that are originally clocked at 10 MHz run stable at 12?

(This sounds similar to the DFO mod for consoles like Sega Genesis/Megadrive; a CDCE9xx chip programmed with two frequencies and selectable with a single logic pin)
Yeah they do
Most 10MHz 68K CPUs will overclock to 12MHz, but not all. It is best to install a genuine 12MHz CPU.
 

dnkykng

Beginner
Joined
Jul 12, 2018
Messages
13
Reaction score
8
Location
Phoenix, AZ USA
Looks much better than the listings picture...
Surprised me too, but a low cost risk. I have a clean cps1 dash board, but it has 92631C-6 and rather than risk damage to support key-writing (or use patched roms), I took a $30 risk for the proper c-board and it paid off. Just sharing the info in case anyone else is in my boat and a risk taker...
 

Esoteric_rt

Beginner
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
14
Reaction score
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
Surprised me too, but a low cost risk. I have a clean cps1 dash board, but it has 92631C-6 and rather than risk damage to support key-writing (or use patched roms), I took a $30 risk for the proper c-board and it paid off. Just sharing the info in case anyone else is in my boat and a risk taker...
Thanks for the link, I ordered one yesterday. I have a SF2 Hyper Fighting board which has no battery on the c-board, so this seemed like a good option in anticipation of the CPS1 multi. Hopefully the c-board I receive is as tidy as yours
 
Top