What's new

illinx

Beginner
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
3
Just bought an astro city, there is this loose wire that is wired to one of the screws on the control panel. Does it go to the ground output in the back of the cabinet? The location and length makes me think one of the legs of the pcb but I’m not sure that’s right.
 

Attachments

  • FD359B3C-9788-4346-9ABE-9ABB607CAA78.jpeg
    FD359B3C-9788-4346-9ABE-9ABB607CAA78.jpeg
    128.6 KB · Views: 75
  • 701357A0-3986-4B23-B51F-B8669BF4B42F.jpeg
    701357A0-3986-4B23-B51F-B8669BF4B42F.jpeg
    139.8 KB · Views: 68

illinx

Beginner
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
3
Looks like I have a couple other loose ones near the coin box/mechs--i guess these are supposed to be daisy chained?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210804_104303_454.jpg
    IMG_20210804_104303_454.jpg
    124.2 KB · Views: 33

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
382
Reaction score
501
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
All those are ground wires. Strange how that one is painted white? Was your cab spray painted?

There are ground points at several locations in the cab. Off memory, there's a ground point in the control panel (where I believe that white wire goes) and inside the cab. I can take a picture of my astro later today to show you where and how those cables are attached.
 

GeeDee

Professional
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
380
Reaction score
415
Location
Kodak, TN
Beat me to it :P

There have been a couple of threads here about this kinda thing already- take a look if you wanna read up on it: 1 2
 

Metal Slug

Student
Joined
Jun 27, 2018
Messages
88
Reaction score
77
Location
East Coast, USA
Looks like some idiot tried to cover up the rust spots and the yellowing on the plastic. Overspray everywhere.

Out of interest, was this from Yaton, @illinx?

My guess is this would be from Yaton as well. The normally stainless steel kick plate looks to be painted white too?
 

illinx

Beginner
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
3
Yeah, recently from Yaton.

edit: do each of the ground points need to go directly to the ground in back or are they supposed to be daisy chained? The lengths of the existing wires make me suspect the latter.
 
Last edited:

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
382
Reaction score
501
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
Yeah, recently from Yaton.

edit: do each of the ground points need to go directly to the ground in back or are they supposed to be daisy chained? The lengths of the existing wires make me suspect the latter.
They look like this:
 

Attachments

  • 20210805_085830.jpg
    20210805_085830.jpg
    153.6 KB · Views: 39
  • 20210805_085802.jpg
    20210805_085802.jpg
    85.7 KB · Views: 36
Last edited:

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
382
Reaction score
501
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
I've been curious about those Yaton Cabs. I was hesitant on those because they were painted, and that is a huge gamble. How does it look? How's the monitor? Post some pics!
 

illinx

Beginner
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
3
Honestly the exterior looks pretty good—I can post pics but am waiting to get the grounding issues sorted before I turn it on. The monitor was sold as burn free and in the videos I saw before shipping it looked good.
 

illinx

Beginner
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
3
Here's some photos I took of the overall condition. The control panel is new/repro, it came shrinkwrapped. 130k plays. They went a little heavy on the paint but it looks good in person with everything closed up. It seems like its missing a couple of the green grounding wires--ive gone ahead and ordered the one that connects to the AMPUP from Lemony but I think I will need a couple more. There are only 3 going to the mains ground but I think i need a 4th there. @Anselmo or anyone else, do you have a full set of photos of all the ground points? I can find diagrams and some scattered photos but would prefer verifying against a known good setup.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210809_094534_836.jpg
    IMG_20210809_094534_836.jpg
    154.6 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_20210809_094519_474.jpg
    IMG_20210809_094519_474.jpg
    120.3 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_20210809_094339_467.jpg
    IMG_20210809_094339_467.jpg
    145 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_20210809_094304_392.jpg
    IMG_20210809_094304_392.jpg
    178 KB · Views: 48
  • IMG_20210809_094502_293.jpg
    IMG_20210809_094502_293.jpg
    143.2 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_20210809_094511_460.jpg
    IMG_20210809_094511_460.jpg
    193.3 KB · Views: 43

Thomas

Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
177
Location
California
Are you still trying to sort out your ground wires? I just did my wiring and can show you where they go.
 

illinx

Beginner
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
3
Yes, if you have photos of all the connections I would really appreciate it! Was waiting for some green wire to come in.
 

Thomas

Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 9, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
177
Location
California
If you want to ground the cabinet exactly as shown in the service manual it looks like this:

The ground wire from a 3-prong AC power plug (blue wire in this photo) connects to the screw with the green wires. Or you can use the original 2-prong plug and run a wire from the ground screw at the back of the cabinet to something like a water pipe outside.

IMG_6010.JPG



The green wires attach to a connector which plugs into another connector near the power supply unit.

IMG_6011.JPG



From this plastic connector, there should be two green wires that terminate in metal loop connectors and a third with another plastic connector. Attach the first wire to the back of the cash box screw. Run a separate wire from that same screw and attach the other end to the screw on the metal plate that supports the foot in front of the power supply unit.

IMG_6014.JPG



The second longer wire attaches to the coin door hinge screw. Attach a separate wire from that screw to the screw under the coin mechanism.

IMG_6015.JPG



The third wire with the plastic connector routes up to the control panel and plugs into the metal bracket next to the button connectors.

IMG_6016.JPG



From there you need another wire that plugs into the other side of the metal bracket. The other end attaches to the screw on the side of the coin chute. Run a separate wire from the coin chute screw to one of the control panel carriage bolts.

IMG_6104.JPG


IMG_6105.JPG



There should be additional wires attached to the left and right instruction holder bolts. I don't have those. I might add later.
 
Top