What's new

LittleLarrySellers

Professional
Reaction score
I know we have some resident gurus on this 80s god machine here so hoping for assist.

I recently took the plunge and picked up a Compact XVI. I grabbed a VGA adapter as well and was hoping to do x68000 -> OSSC -> CRT to handle the wonky resolutions it produces. However, when I connect the computer to the OSSC it won't sync. The OSSC just keeps trying to lock in on the signal but can't. If I connect the VGA adapter directly to my CRT it does work and 31khz games will load so I don't think the adapter is the issue.

Do I need to do some tweaks or something to get the OSSC to handle the x68000? I always get confused with tweaking the OSSC and am a total newb with this computer so not sure if I am missing something obvious.

Hmm…I’ve used an OSSC with my X68000 without any tweaks needed that I recall.

With your setup, is the light on the OSSC red or green when it isn’t displaying? And if you push the Info button on the remote, what’s the information on the OSSC display?

The light is green and it is just rapidly displaying no sync over and over. Pressing info doesn't do anything.
1000012757.jpg

Sounds like it's almost-but not quite-getting a sync lock. Try nudging the HSync Tolerance and/or VSync Threshold up a few notches.

I also saw these settings posted on an X68000 enthusiast forum, but I didn't have to do any of this stuff with my setup.

<Sampling opt.>
Allow upsample2x On
<Adv timing>
640x512
H.backporch 86
H.active 575
V.backporch 39
V.active 512
640x480
H.backporch 100
H.active 580
V.backporch 17
V.active 449
1280x240
H.backporch 144
H.active 1314
V.backporch 6
V.active 256

<Output opt.>
240p/288p proc Line 3x
384p proc Line 2x 240x360
480p/576p proc Line 2x
Line 3x 16:9
256x240 aspect 8:7
Tx Mode: DVI (if you have DVI input on your TV/Monitor)