What's new

Odwalla

Student
Reaction score
Hey all,
I haven't really made much of an introduction here, but based on some recent posts I figured it may be a cool idea to drop this on you guys.

Roughly a year ago I designed a 3D printable frame for the Gun4IR project based loosely on the PS1 GunCon45, the aim was to develop something that included all of the core features of the Gun4IR project like rumble, solenoid and multiple buttons, but also a reliable and punchy full-slide recoil.

1.png

View: https://www.youtube.com/shorts/oteDE2-D4Yw

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:5361060

I really didn't know what I was getting into at the time, I'm not an engineer and I'm not really skilled at CAD, if anything I think I've watched just enough YouTube to be dangerous.
But the design works decently well.
I've built two guns that have withstood a few hundred hours of abuse and I'm really happy with the look and feel of the current product.
But since this is something I built using electronic scraps I had laying around and the documentation is pretty rough I really can't recommend that anyone actually build it.

But this was a year ago, and I've been working to refine and improve the design and accessibility since then.

If anyone actually recognizes me from the Gun4IR space you know V2 has been a long time coming.
But there have been a ton of hurdles to overcome and several still to deal with before I have anything to release, and because Discord where I've primarily been operating is definitely not the kind of place to meaningfully document my project and there is likely some decent overlap here with the proper arcade community I'm going to make this my dedicated worklog for the continued project.

I definitely have more to post regarding this and I'll do my best to drop more info on it's continued development in future posts but for now I think I'll leave it at this.