What's new

kazuo

Champion
Reaction score
I recently had some custom harnesses made for a bunch of different use cases:
* Sega PSU to JVS
* Mean Well PSU to Model 3
* Harnesses to swap between the two above, because I’m lazy

The seller appears to have used what looks to be either 20 or 18 gauge wire; I can’t tell for sure, because the sheath doesn’t seem to have the AWG wire gauge printed on it. Instead. It seems to have some other thing printed on it: 0.5 KHD LFV
I found a data sheet, but unsure how useful this actually is. Just says the max voltage is 300V, nothing about amp draw.
https://khd.co.jp/assets/product/pdf00000009.pdf

Looking at a few harnesses I have here, including a Sanwa Model 3 harness and a Capcom JVS harness, they all seem to use 16 AWG wiring. I feel like they didn’t do it “just because”, but I’m not an expert, which leads me to my question: is ~20-18 AWG wire safe to use for JVS and Model 3 power wiring? Am I overthinking this? I’m not an expert, which is why I thought I’d ask all of you for some opinions/technical observations.

Some pictures of what I am working with below. I’ve left notes so you know which harness(es)/wire(s) are which. Thanks!

HJ9E8x5m.jpg

0.5 KHD custom on left, 16 AWG Sanwa Model 3 on the right

YhWyC3m.jpg

0.5 KHD custom on top, 16 AWG Sanwa Model 3 on the bottom

Last edited:
It really depends on how many wires you intend on using in your harness. You can probably get away with 18AWG if you use two wires for 5V and two for 3.3V. (12V can be on 18AWG). If you’re only going with one wire for each voltage, use 16AWG. Using a thicker gauge wire will never harm your setup but using too thin wires may result in voltage drop. Grounds are very important too. Use as many ground wires, (and same gauge) as you have power wires.

For what it’s worth, most arcade harnesses used 600V UL1007 wiring from the manufacturers.