What's new

rocket

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
328
Reaction score
73
joe do you have a keyboard attached? reason i am asking it is like it is trying to get access to the boot up bios window. this is occuring right at boot up?
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
474
Reaction score
257
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
It does this with and without a keyboard. On the official HDD, it goes from Quick splash screen of Taito, followed by POST screen for about a half minute, then to BIOS password screen.
 

rtw

Champion
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
1,235
Reaction score
1,202
Location
Norway
It does this with and without a keyboard. On the official HDD, it goes from Quick splash screen of Taito, followed by POST screen for about a half minute, then to BIOS password screen.
Is your battery good ? Original TTX will not even boot with a discharged battery.

Sounds like this version of the X2 might use a different BIOS type.

What kind of tools do we have to dump / write the BIOS on the TTX X2 ?
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
474
Reaction score
257
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
Battery reads at 3.136v. Here's a video of the TTx2 boot as described above:

https://m.imgur.com/gallery/Z3eEtc9

Edit: tried the multi image as is, and got the same results: splash, POST, then BIOS. It added a line, though: “SMART event logged”
 
Last edited:

rocket

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
328
Reaction score
73
that is strange. totally a trying to log into bios thing. like f2 or f1 etc was pressed to goto the bios. what are you dip switch settings. i know mine has 1 on 2is screen resolution 3off 4 off (network updates), 5 on. i wonder if on of the dip switches could toggle bios access?
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
474
Reaction score
257
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
There’s actually no dip switch in the back on the I/O board. It’s blacked out with plastic where it would normally be.
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
474
Reaction score
257
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
one last screen that flashes before going to the BIOS password (if it helps):

 

muell67

Student
Joined
Oct 19, 2016
Messages
108
Reaction score
36
Location
Troy, Illinois
Not sure when this started but my multi is set to auto boot and my controls work fine in that game but if I try and exit to the menu the controls don’t work in the menu? This used to work so I’m not sure what changed. Any ideas?
How are you exiting to the menu? Using the button combo? If you skip autoboot, do the controls work in the menu?
Never mind everything is working as it should. I just shouldn’t try to fix games late at night while drinking.
 

rocket

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
328
Reaction score
73
one last screen that flashes before going to the BIOS password (if it helps):

your bios got a password some how and is trying to access at boot up. i think the folks are right on about the bios needing to be flashed.
 

rocket

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
328
Reaction score
73
that leads me to the question do these have a generic password to begin with and is yours just trying to access the bios menu? Anyone have an answer?
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
474
Reaction score
257
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
Progress! Sort of! I’ll update with details after testing, but at least I’m getting into Windows. I had some suspicions about the jumpers, but thanks for the helpful nudge @Niko!
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
474
Reaction score
257
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
I removed the jumpers- same results. Replaced the jumper to the opposite site, and got no boot. Took out the jumper, and things started happening. Here’s my update:

https://imgur.com/gallery/HnSAQ0S

With just the keyboard alone, it threw an error, so I retried it with the mouse included, and it booted up normally. I’m very excited at this point!

So before I test this any further, should I put the jumper back in, or leave it out? Seems just fine without.
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
474
Reaction score
257
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
As I was reading more about the Phoenix BIOS, there were posts about moving the jumpers or pulling the battery to reset the password. The former seemed fine, but removing the battery did not as there isn’t a dongle with this game. I was apprehensive to do that option. Still, I thank Niko for his advice to pull the jumper. I feel really delicate with this to make sure it’s not made into a paperweight.
 
Top