What's new

Chelnov

Professional
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm thinking on getting an atari tetris pcb. Does anyone knows if I need a 4 or an 8-way joystick?

Thanks!

it will work with either, but if you want authenticity you should go with a 4-way

I just grabbed one and I love it, but I'd offer two alternatives since you haven't purchased yet.

1. MiSTer, the Atari Tetris on it seems pretty accurate on it, but I'm not really good at Tetris, so this is from an untrained eye.
2. Magical Tetris Challenge (I got mine for $120 on YAJ). It's a Disney themed Tetris game that is really fun. Although I grew up with the Atari one, this has been the go to version for Tetris play in our house now.

Oh, as to your question, it seems to play fine with an 8 way joystick. Not like some games (Burgertime I think) which seem to cause problems with an 8 way.

I've made it a point to collect as many arcade Tetris variants as possible. Magical Tetris Challenge is pretty decent but my favorite Arcade Tetris Game is the first Tetris Plus on Jaleco Mega System 32, it's got a pretty amazing feature set, and is a blast in both single player and 2-player modes. a close second is the first Tetris the Grand Master on Capcom ZN2; the 2-player modes especially.

Atari Tetris is probably the best out of all the different "classic" arcade tetris games from that era (it's certianly better than Sega Tetris and Bloxeed), but once you get past the nostalgia factor it really doesn't hold a candle to the other better Tetris games that came after. I'd argue that NES Tetris the best of the classic bunch though.