What's new

Judgmentt

Beginner
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Hey Everyone

I have had my CPS2 Multikit for almost a year now with no issues. Recently I have started getting some lines in my foreground sprites(see photos) and I could use some help trying to track down why. I disassembled the multi-kit to check the pins and everything looks good there (photos attached). I was able to procure a second A board to test with but that produced the same results, lines in my sprites. I double, triple checked the boards to make sure everything was properly mated but no new results. Any thoughts?
 

Attachments

  • cps2-1.jpg
    cps2-1.jpg
    53.6 KB · Views: 208
  • cps2-2.jpg
    cps2-2.jpg
    35.7 KB · Views: 154
  • cps2-3.jpg
    cps2-3.jpg
    31.9 KB · Views: 202
  • cps2-4.jpg
    cps2-4.jpg
    34.1 KB · Views: 143
  • cps2-5.jpg
    cps2-5.jpg
    25.5 KB · Views: 139
  • cps2-6.jpg
    cps2-6.jpg
    27.4 KB · Views: 141
  • cps2-7.jpg
    cps2-7.jpg
    71.8 KB · Views: 152

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,661
Reaction score
6,221
Location
New Bern, NC USA
How does the sound fix look? Still secure?
 

Judgmentt

Beginner
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Here’s a shot of the sound fix, it’s secured
 

Attachments

  • 07F3CEA6-211C-4C14-BB8D-B0C1C448D3B7.jpeg
    07F3CEA6-211C-4C14-BB8D-B0C1C448D3B7.jpeg
    828.2 KB · Views: 128

Frank_fjs

Multi Boyz 4 Lyfe
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
3,431
Reaction score
5,800
Location
Australia - Adelaide
Perhaps a fault in the B board itself, probably one of the customs.

Are you running a fan?

Also, ensure the A and B boards are firmly docked.

5V good?
 

Judgmentt

Beginner
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
-The fan is running, it isn't the stock fan but a suitable replacement
- A&B Boards are firmly mated
-5V is good according to my supergun

RE: Sega 16 Altered Beast Thread: That thread refers to a faulty rom chip but those chips aren't on the board anymore since my Darksoft kit took it's place. I also noticed this issue before disassembling and reassembling the multikit to see if any pins may have been bent or damaged.

I have also gotten rid of the lines on a different working A board, which makes me think it could be either the Darksoft Multi or the B board itself.
 

Frank_fjs

Multi Boyz 4 Lyfe
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
3,431
Reaction score
5,800
Location
Australia - Adelaide
I'd speculate the B board. Those customs run hot and with a less powerful fan one of them probably died.
 

Flain

Student
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
73
Reaction score
61
Location
Sydney, Australia
This might sound strange but are you testing this with the B board back in it's full case? I just had a very similar problem (almost looks the same), i re-seated the B board many times, push all 4 connectors *really* hard to ensure good contact to no avail and like you i triple checked all the multi board pieces and how they were inserted.

Once i put it back in the case it worked without the lines. Something about how the case helps make the A+B mate together evenly/easy.
 

xodaraP

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,411
Reaction score
3,035
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
I'd speculate the B board. Those customs run hot and with a less powerful fan one of them probably died.
This might sound strange but are you testing this with the B board back in it's full case? I just had a very similar problem (almost looks the same), i re-seated the B board many times, push all 4 connectors *really* hard to ensure good contact to no avail and like you i triple checked all the multi board pieces and how they were inserted.

Once i put it back in the case it worked without the lines. Something about how the case helps make the A+B mate together evenly/easy.
Possible but if it was used for a year and it's only happening now - I'd suggest the sockets are at fault.

Looking in your picture several pins in the socket look like they are not making a good connection and this would absolutely cause lines. They're not in the sprites though they're in the fix layer

I would be checking and considering replacing your main program ROM sockets (bottom left of the board)
 
Top