What's new

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,889
Reaction score
6,116
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Tell you what, when this “multi” drops there’s going to be a huge need for reflashed carts, and a bunch of SIMMS and SCSI2SD up for grabs!

I agree with @jassin000 — the enjoyment level of CPS-3 will increase when game switching times decrease :)
 

deibit

Champion
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
1,696
Reaction score
1,727
Location
Germany
what's the new name for this?

Darksoft CPS-3 Multi BIOS Pro?

8o :D
 

Derick2k

Immortal
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
8,113
Reaction score
6,514
Location
NYC, USA
Agree, first offers should be in kit form, simms, repro cart, etc. basically just add a motherboard and you are ready to play. Super excited for this. @Darksoft sign me up for a kit please :thumbsup:
 

nem

Enlightened
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
3,928
Reaction score
2,996
Location
Finland
Code suggestion from someone who does not know how coding work or if there is much room left. Is it possible to make make it a no cd setup but enable the cd function with a button combo?
Why would you need to enable the CD function at all? All of the games are already on the SIMMs.
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,889
Reaction score
6,116
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Hoping for an on screen display to choose game on boot :)
 

yosai

Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
222
Reaction score
145
Location
London
How are the games loaded on the SIMMs? Is there a one time CD write or is there a connection on each of them.
 

ark125

Beginner
Joined
Aug 18, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
11
Location
Spain
You will need the drive or the scsi adapter in order to program the simms. Because, they don't provide the games in any project.
 

XeD

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 6, 2016
Messages
730
Reaction score
397
Location
Vancouver BC Canada
Code suggestion from someone who does not know how coding work or if there is much room left. Is it possible to make make it a no cd setup but enable the cd function with a button combo?
Why would you need to enable the CD function at all? All of the games are already on the SIMMs.
For those with existing system and can flash their own carts and possible rom hacks like the 3S colorization. Then again people like me will probably keep their old sim for such a thing. It was just something that pop in my head at the time
 

Aurich

Champion
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
1,174
Reaction score
1,608
Location
SoCal
Hoping for an on screen display to choose game on boot :)
I was assuming from the pic that the red boxes were for setting dip switches. For only 6 games that seems reasonable enough to me.
 

opt2not

Multi Boyz Pixeler
Enlightened
Multi Boyz
Joined
Nov 10, 2015
Messages
1,815
Reaction score
2,612
Location
California
Well this is fantastic development! 45 minute flash times was really annoying.
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,229
Reaction score
10,791
Location
Poland
I was assuming from the pic that the red boxes were for setting dip switches. For only 6 games that seems reasonable enough to me.
We've got a winner. It's actually 8 games ;) and it works very well. I have to fine tune the BIOS still. Right now I have to write the files to the SIMM from the Menu and one by one, which is a PITA.
 

Derick2k

Immortal
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
8,113
Reaction score
6,514
Location
NYC, USA
I was assuming from the pic that the red boxes were for setting dip switches. For only 6 games that seems reasonable enough to me.
We've got a winner. It's actually 8 games ;) and it works very well. I have to fine tune the BIOS still. Right now I have to write the files to the SIMM from the Menu and one by one, which is a PITA.
Awesome!!! Will you have pads or pins in case someone wants to adapt a selector? Not sure how feasible that would be though being that 6 sets of dip switches need to be controlled, but then again should be doable.
 
Top