What's new

bpcruz

Beginner
Reaction score
Last week, I received a couple Chewlix cabinets I'd ordered from Guanzhou Victor Electric Co. I'm a novice when it comes to arcade projects, so I wanted to show some pictures of the electrical wiring and follow up with some questions. I'm trying to figure out if I can leave current wiring as-is, if I should redo the wiring connections, or if I should rip everything out and redo both the wiring and connections.

The cab gets power from mains via an IEC320-C14 receptacle at the back of the cab. I'll try my best to explain the arrangement of power cables from this receptacle to the other components. Here are a couple images of the back of that receptacle:

IMG_20210118_162930301.jpg

IMG_20210118_163041503.jpg

The most apparent thing is that the wires aren't soldered to the component's lead but are instead fastened by what look like quick release clamps, which are then covered in hot glue for adherence. I'm aware that electronics techs prefer fastening via soldering in other applications, but I don't know how much risk/trouble these hot-glued connections pose in this context.

Anyway, the hot wire is connected to the fuse housing right next to the receptacle, and the ground wire's attached to a screw with an O-ring clamp and fastened to the chassis (the screw's visible in the first photo). I'm not sure what kind of fuse is used here, as I couldn't make out any labeling on any part of the fuse itself. Here's a picture of the fuse, though:

IMG_20210118_165650834.jpg
The receptacle's neutral wire is routed to a lead at the base of the power rocker switch at the front of the cab. The orange wire from the fuse connects to another lead on the same switch (back of the switch shown here):

IMG_20210118_170545742.jpg