What's new

Redfield0009

Student
Joined
Mar 22, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
42
Location
Texas
I recently bought a Vewlix from KC and I'm having issues with it.

I don't have any arcade equipment like a X2 or Exa yet, so I decided I would run some of my jamma boards until I could get some newer gear.

I don't have a Taito I/O yet. In fact I've been waiting almost a month for KC to ship one to me.

I purchased a naomi PSU and Lemony made an adapter and JVS extensions for me. I also bought a Jammafier and A1 scaler. I figured I could at least test the monitor and speakers while I wait for an I/O.

I'm running everything through a step-down convertor and I'm not getting any video.

Voltage is 5.02 and 3.33/3.32, when the cab powers on the monitor does flicker on, but stays black. I've reseated the VGA cable and tried different ones.

The remote board powers on with a green LED. If I press it off the LED turns red and the monitor turns off. The A1 scaler has all three LEDs enabled, from what I understand of the A1 this is mode 4 and normal.

One interesting thing, when using RCA cables from the jammafier to the internal amp in the vewlix, the sound is messed up. If I run RCA from my CPS2 audio is perfect.

Audio through Jammafier:
View: https://youtu.be/KJUkrjObDxQ


Audio through CPS2:
View: https://youtu.be/x8_-kDbuSBQ


The remote board for the monitor has power, but when I press the menu button, nothing happens. I've tried a quick press, long press, nothing works.

Do I need to talk to KC about receiving a cab with a dead monitor, or is this possibly and issue with the jammafier?

I am really starting to regret buying this cab.
 

300wins

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
147
Reaction score
170
Location
San Jose, California
Try plugging in a PC. Set it to either 640x480 or 1280x720 or 1366x768 and see if you get a picture.
 

jassin000

Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,748
Reaction score
6,290
Location
Afterlife
Monitors can be problematic no matter what cab you buy.
I'd try using a PC as recommended... I can't advise you on the Retro scaler, I use a Jammifier+Jassifier+OSSC in both of mine.
 

Redfield0009

Student
Joined
Mar 22, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
42
Location
Texas
I'm going to need a to get a hdmi to vga adapted before I can test a pc or laptop.

Shouldn't the menu still work for the monitor even without a source connected?
 

DoktorSleepless

Enthusiast
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
244
Reaction score
206
Location
MD/VA, USA
Shouldn't the menu still work for the monitor even without a source connected?
Not on the Vewlix stock monitor, it doesn't.

I'm going to need a to get a hdmi to vga adapted before I can test a pc or laptop.
I'd recommend an HDMI->DVI adapter, since your monitor should have a DVI port. I use one like this: https://www.amazon.com/CableCreation-Bi-Directional-Female-Adapter-Conveter/dp/B01FM51R6S/ It's not the exact same one, but it should be close enough in function.

When it comes to JAMMA boards in a Vewlix, though, I've gotta agree with @jassin000 on this. Jammafier -> Jassifier -> OSSC seems to be the way to go. It requires a bit of tweaking to get Neo-Geo to work, but it's the best solution I've found.

EDIT: If you need a Jassifier, I've got several spares. I'll dig out a working one, test it, dial it in on my monitor, and ship it out. At this point, I just want my extras gone, so whatever shipping costs.
 

Redfield0009

Student
Joined
Mar 22, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
42
Location
Texas
@DoktorSleepless, thanks for the info. The monitor does have a DVI port. I have a VGA to HDMI adapter showing up today, and ordered a DVI cable and the adapter you linked off Amazon and that will be here Wednesday.

In the meantime I'll take out the VGA cable from my Blast City and test with that as well since I know it works 100%

I don't have a OSSC, but I do have a XRGB mini. Can that be used in place of of an OSSC?

I'll send you a PM about the Jassifier
 

DoktorSleepless

Enthusiast
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
244
Reaction score
206
Location
MD/VA, USA
I don't have a OSSC, but I do have a XRGB mini. Can that be used in place of of an OSSC?
I'm actually not sure, but it's worth a shot since you already have it. I use this cable to go from the Jassifier to the OSSC: https://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk...vision-Panasonic-3DO?search=PAP RGB-MOD-SCART

Does the XRGB Mini have a SCART port, or do you have an adapter? The one that came with the XRGB mini won't work since it's JP-21, which is wired differently. Do not mix those up. If you need a SCART adapter, RGC sells one of those, too: https://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk...emeister-xrgb-mini-passive-converter-for-sale
 

Redfield0009

Student
Joined
Mar 22, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
42
Location
Texas
I'm leaning towards a monitor issue. It should say "no signal" when nothing is connected. It doesn't say anything. Ran to micro center and picked up adapters and cables. Nothing works and my laptop doesn't detect the monitor. I tried every resolution from 720p down.

Edit: KC is offering to pay for a 32 inch LCD from Walmart to replace it. FML.
 
Last edited:

Redfield0009

Student
Joined
Mar 22, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
42
Location
Texas
Well KC decided that a 32GK850F-B is too much money for him to pay to replace. So he is sending a replacement taito monitor minus the frame!

Edit: Nevermind going with a 32GK850F-B and bracket. Thanks for all the help guys
 
Last edited:
Top