What's new
Reaction score
This page basically already exists here. And it's probably more straightforward. And it's bilingual (German / English).

So there's few chips on Atari's Asteroids (and some similar boards) that you can't get new. Or at all. Or at sane prices.
Except for the DACs. The AD561 is hard to get, only pops up every so often and when it does, it does so at eyewatering prices. And they stopped producing them long ago.

So I set out to find a replacement, that's still being made and get it to work in an Asteroids (after determining its DACs were both shot).
And the winner is: AD7533JNZ. At 16 Eur they aren't exactly penny articles, but still better than what the AD561 goes for on the Bay.

Now keep in mind I'm self-taught and only studied what interested me or what I needed to get stuff working.
So I failed at getting a bipolar output from the AD7533JNZ which means the picture is gonna sit in a corner of the screen and be rotated 180 degrees as well.
So I use a TL084 (you should use TL082 as only two of the op-amps are needed, but that's what I had) to shift and amplify the picture.

Here is the schematic. Note the capacitor between pins 2/3 and 15, it's pretty important (but its capacity isn't, I encourage you to try out different ones - my prototype actually uses a 0.1µ, I guess bigger is better until they start getting too slow). Without it, the lines will be terribly squiggly.

asteroids_dac_adapter.png

And btw. if you are my Physics teacher in 9th grade or when it was that we had to draw schematics - if a line on a schematic goes from one component to another and just barely fails to touch the pin there, it counts as a connection! Hey I wanna see you draw a perfect schematic under time pressure! Also I'm lazy.