What's new

ChuChu Flamingo

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 28, 2017
Messages
244
Reaction score
113
Location
USA
The part circled comes off. On my Revision 11 and 2x 14 boards.These can easily slip out due to flexing and also get dirty.
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    55 KB · Views: 128

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
Yeah I know, I've checked it and pushed it in farther. Like I said, DOJ has no problems, it's just Ketsui and Espgaluda
 

Fluffy

Grand Master
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
718
Reaction score
1,313
Location
Germany
I am slightly concerned about the size of the gap between the connectors, though the marks show that the pins should be centred in the connection. No bypass capacitors seem to be fitted.
Also, am I missing a wire that should be there?
Originally people converted other game cartridges into Ketsui & Co, and they put a voltage regulator onto the board with manual wiring so they can use 3.3V parts. The Lydz board contains the voltage converter already. You could measure if the voltage regulator works and produces 3.3V.

The three ROMs provide data to three separate busses on the cartridge, so I would expect either sound or graphics to work in some way, not fail completely.

I would contact the seller for a replacement or refund.

If you are in a hurry, there would be an option if you have an EPROM programmer and a bunch of 27c322 laying around. :)
 

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
The three ROMs provide data to three separate busses on the cartridge, so I would expect either sound or graphics to work in some way, not fail completely.

I would contact the seller for a replacement or refund.

If you are in a hurry, there would be an option if you have an EPROM programmer and a bunch of 27c322 laying around. :)
Too bad I don't have any of those :P . I sent lydz a PM, we'll see what happens from there.
@Kiwi33 What motherboard revision do you have?
Odd that both carts would have the same issue simultaneously...
After looking at the images, it seems like I have a V11. Also does anyone know what the red lever does in the bottom right of that one?
 

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
I flipped the switch then turned on the cab but it didn't do anything

Unless I was supposed to flip it while it was on... I'm at work now so I can't attempt that yet
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
977
Reaction score
868
Location
Norway
@Kiwi33 did you take contact with @lydz?
He may have a suggestion or know if there have been any similar issues...
 

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
@nam9 I sent him a PM a few days ago but he hasn't responded yet :/

Hopefully he does respond... the site says he looked at the PM a while ago but he didn't say anything
 

Frank_fjs

Multi Boyz 4 Lyfe
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
3,410
Reaction score
5,813
Location
Australia - Adelaide
You won't get support from him, sadly.

You'd be better off making a claim on Aliexpress, though that will be a battle as well.
 

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
Aliexpress? I bought from Taobao through Superbuy. Is lydz the wrong guy then or does he use both sites? If there's a different guy here who's the seller then maybe I could have more luck with him.

If not then hopefully that $155 insurance I bought for $3 will apply to this situation :/

Edit: also does anyone know if I'm supposed to flip the SRAM switch with the system on? I was going to try it but then got worried about zapping the motherboard by touching it while powered.
 
Last edited:

Frank_fjs

Multi Boyz 4 Lyfe
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
3,410
Reaction score
5,813
Location
Australia - Adelaide
My mistake, I thought you grabbed them ex Ali.

Don't fret re the ram clear switch. It's safe to toggle in any state. I'm not even 100% sure how it's supposed to function as I've had scenarios where I needed to clear the ram and I had to hold the switch on with the PGM powered off, then continue holding the switch on while powering on the PGM.
 

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
Unfortunately I can now confirm trying to clear the SRAM in various different ways didn't help the problem. Also I tried setting dip switch 1 on and that didn't do anything either :/
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
6,972
Reaction score
11,760
Location
Brisbane, Australia
At this point, I would do two things.

1. Try the two carts on another motherboard (if you have access to one, or want to buy another and wait for it)
2. Contact the seller and ask for a replacement or return/refund
 

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
Hmm... maybe I should just get a new PGM system at this point. I don't have a horizontal cab to play Dragon World II anyways, and it's only $15 more than the game. I want to try to be efficient with my money since I'm starting school soon, so that seems safer than spending $35 then maybe spending another $50 to replace the system.
 

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
All right, I just ordered a new motherboard and it'll be here December 24th. Hopefully it'll make my boards work ;^^
 

Kiwi

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
6
Location
Arizona
I did everything I could, I'm going to be filing a claim as soon as I find out how
 

nam9

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
977
Reaction score
868
Location
Norway
@Kiwi33 did you reach out to @lydz?
He has always been super helpful when I have spoken with him...?
 
Top