What's new

Matsubuya

Beginner
Reaction score
Hi guys, I bought a cps3 board with a 3rd Strike cartridge from Yahoo Auctions a couple of weeks ago. Not being able to read Japanese I took a bit of a gamble on whether or not it's working or not. Well today it was delivered and I plugged it into my Astro and..... black screen 😭

I'm far from an expert on these things but from my research I've examined, tried and tested a few things to no avail;
-it did not come with a cd rom drive and disc ( was hoping it was the Japanese no cd version)
-I've open the cartridge and it still has a battery, no sign of leaking
-I've open the white housing piece on the motherboard, battery still there but there's dark discolouration on the battery wire, not sure if that means it's shorted
-I've cleaned the jamma and cartridge edge connectors
-checked voltage with multi meter is at 5v at the jamma edge

Wondering where to go to from here. I could buy an old cd drive, burn a copy of the 3rd strike disc and try that. Or just go ahead and organise a darksoft cart and new simms for it. Hoping someone from here could give me some pointers. I'll include some photo's below. Thanks!
20210921_093446.jpg
20210921_115829.jpg
20210921_115812.jpg
20210921_115907.jpg
20210921_094926.jpg

I got this screen once

That cart is probably dead.

Get a darksoft cart or a known working original cart and test with that. If you still don't get anything other than black screen or garbage graphics...you might have a paper weight motherboard

That cart is probably dead.

Get a darksoft cart or a known working original cart and test with that. If you still don't get anything other than black screen or garbage graphics...you might have a paper weight motherboard
Ah I see.
20210921_153004.jpg

I'm getting this screen with no cart inserted into the motherboard. Is that normal?