What's new

lupin3rd

Student
Reaction score
I joined the site 2 years ago, but realized that I never made an introduction post. Better late than never, I suppose!

Professionally, I'm a software developer; but I not-so-secretly try to follow in my late father's footsteps. He was an electrician, that had a long history with electronics as well -- as he used to repair and do custom mods for CB radios back in the 70s, expanding the frequency ranges in use, etc.

I've been messing around with classic arcade machines since the late 90s when a local operator would regularly throw out whole cabinets with monitors that worked poorly, but usually games that were working or almost working. I remember nabbing a Sidearms, Commando, Street Fighter II, Super Pac-Man, and a whole slew of other machines.

Now I have a big backlog of both "classic" and jamma-era games in my garage. The newer systems I've managed to acquire are a Triforce, Naomi 1 & 2, Taito Type X2, several CPS2 systems, as well as a slew of MVS boards (no 6-slots, though). The stuff I'm really into and/or trying to get working are:
  • Lupin III (Taito 1980)
  • Cliff Hanger
  • Lupin the Shooting
  • Lupin the Typing
  • Lupin the 3rd (Type X2)
Some of those are working, in the sense that the hardware and games are functioning, but not finished because they haven't found their way into dedicated cabinets yet. Or in the case of Lupin the Shooting, I haven't created the LED sensor bezel (have the LEDs, just not mounted in a bezel yet).