What's new

freekiefae

Beginner
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm Freekie!

I have no former background with arcades, but generally build my own gaming PCs.

I got interested in this forum since I was gifted a Soul Caliber II commercial cabinet last year. It was in rough shape when I got it; needed a lot of clean-up.

It required months (yes, literally months) of sanitizing and deodorizing. Bur now, I am ready to pull it into my dwelling and start having fun with it.

In the short term (1-2 months), I'll probably enjoy the current state.

The medium term will likely involve some emulation option (like a J-PAC on a surplus office PC). Long term will almost certainly be an FPGA of some sort. MiSTercade is looking pretty awesome, but I get the feeling that MARS might be worth the wait.

I'm definitely open to advice, guides and substantiated opinions.

Is there a place I can go to get up on my jargon? I'm new to this world, and even though I've spent a few weeks trying to pick up the lingo it has been very slow going.

Is there a place I can go to get up on my jargon? I'm new to this world, and even though I've spent a few weeks trying to pick up the lingo it has been very slow going.
Try arcade-projects.com ;)

Just ask questions, people here are happy to help. What are some words that are tripping you up to start?

Thanks Aurich!

My over-arching goal is to play the largest possible collection of good arcade games that I can without excess modification.

A practical example would be the relationship between ODE (Optical drive emulator?) and IDE (Internal drive emulator?). Most of the terms I see used here I can just google, and get to a reasonable answer within a minute or two but I don't understand what it means for the world of home-brew arcades. How do I even determine if that is a relevant principle for me to understand to accomplish my arcade objectives.