What's new

skate323k137

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
1,329
Reaction score
891
Location
Michigan
Can I select games in the multi menu using a keyboard?

I want to use MAME with my net city JVS cab and Bishi Bashi panel. Obviously the Bishi Bashi panel has no directional buttons, so I need some way to select the game.

Also do I have to use a PS/2 keyboard for MAME to see it, or will a USB keyboard work?
 
Last edited:

skate323k137

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
1,329
Reaction score
891
Location
Michigan
I made an extra multi drive that only had MAME on it, so I can use my bishi bashi panel to launch MAME :D

Super bishi bashi champ runs pretty well. Minor graphic issues on one mini-game but totally playable.

I still need to know though, will a PS/2 Keyboard let me work the MAME menu?
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
487
Reaction score
262
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
I'm not sure if I'm understanding correctly. Do you mean if a PS/2 keyboard will work to select games in Niko's multi menu, or the atrfate MAME front end?
 

JoeAwesome

Professional
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
487
Reaction score
262
Location
BCS/Houston, Texas
Well, I don't have my PS/2 keyboard with me, atm. Sorry about that. When I do, I can give the Niko menu a shot, unless someone beats me to it.
 

skate323k137

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
1,329
Reaction score
891
Location
Michigan
@JoeAwesome did me a solid and tested out a PS/2 Keyboard in the Niko Menu, and you can indeed navigate it.

It also seems MAME recognizes the keyboard.

This helps me out a bunch with panels like Bishi Bashi, where I can play some MAME games with them, but not navigate menus. Previously I just had an X2 HDD prepared with only mame, and only the ROM I wanted to select. This way I didn't need any way to navigate the menu, just button 1.

I've got a PS/2 keyboard on the way. Thanks again Joe.
 

Murray

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 8, 2019
Messages
604
Reaction score
595
Location
Oz
If you guys want to use a USB keyboard for niko's multi.

This is the missing file that stops it from working.


kbdhid.sys

If you just drop that from from a Windows XP install into your c:\windows\system32\drivers folder, this will bring back usb port functionality.

So plug the drive into another computer and copy it over because this gets around the write filter. You will need the write filter disable for the changes to stick when you reboot though. You don't need the write filter disable for it to kick in when you boot up, just plug your usb keyboard in and it should work, but it will not properly install the driver becuase it will reset each time you reboot if you don't unlock the drive.

The driver is attached.

Here's some ez steps. I've double checked this from a fresh install of the niko image. Make sure you use a WIRED keyboard, not a wireless one :)

1. Copy file i posted to c:\windows\system32\drivers << This is done on a second windows machine with the TTX2 hdd plugged in as a second drive (via usb or sata). Double check that file is in the folder on your TTX2 C drive partition before you disconnect it.

2. Plug the drive back in your TTX2, DONT have USB keyboard plugged in at this stage.

3. Once the TTX2 system is fully booted, just plug the usb keyboard in to one of the usb ports on the motherboard, NOT on the jvs io port. All 4 ports on the motherboard should be working. It might take 10 seconds or so for the keyboard to work after you plug it in.
 

Attachments

  • kbdhid.7z
    7.5 KB · Views: 77
Last edited:

ArcadeSTG

Student
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
14
Thank you @Dreygor and @Sjlewis78 :)

I've been playing with this a bit a it works like a charm. Latests Cave games run full "MAME" speed except Daifukkatsu and Mushihimesama. Maybe a better CPU (X6800) and faster RAM (800 Mhz) get full speed.

The link in the first page uses MAME v.200 (which at the time was the newest). Anyone knows what do we have to do to update it to MAME v.226?
 
Last edited:

Tonybolony

Student
Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
72
Reaction score
26
Location
Leeds , UK
does anybody have a disc image, of this with working roms just cps2 cave would do me, no matter what i try and what roms i get it always get there is something missing , frustrating the crap out of me now
 

jeston

Beginner
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
5
Thank you @Dreygor and @Sjlewis78 :)

I've been playing with this a bit a it works like a charm. Latests Cave games run full "MAME" speed except Daifukkatsu and Mushihimesama. Maybe a better CPU (X6800) and faster RAM (800 Mhz) get full speed.

The link in the first page uses MAME v.200 (which at the time was the newest). Anyone knows what do we have to do to update it to MAME v.226?
I tried Death Smiles and it’s horrendous.
Big issues with sound and frame rate compared to the PCB or a proper PC setup I run in another cab.

Is there any way to quit MAME and get back to the multi besides resetting the TypeX? Like a key combination?
 

ArcadeSTG

Student
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
14
Thank you @Dreygor and @Sjlewis78 :)

I've been playing with this a bit a it works like a charm. Latests Cave games run full "MAME" speed except Daifukkatsu and Mushihimesama. Maybe a better CPU (X6800) and faster RAM (800 Mhz) get full speed.

The link in the first page uses MAME v.200 (which at the time was the newest). Anyone knows what do we have to do to update it to MAME v.226?
I tried Death Smiles and it’s horrendous.Big issues with sound and frame rate compared to the PCB or a proper PC setup I run in another cab.

Is there any way to quit MAME and get back to the multi besides resetting the TypeX? Like a key combination?
Which specs are your TX2? If I remember correctly mine runs DS full mame speed.

To quit MAME, just press start + B1.
 

jeston

Beginner
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
5
Mine is model 211A with the following specs :

CPU : P4 3.4Ghz
GRA : GF7900GS
MEM: 512MB (I upgraded to 4GB)

i think it used to be a a Panic Museum or Elevator Action.

if I’m not mistaking “start+B1” returns to the MAME game list, but not to the multi (I setup my folders to have all games in a single folder)
 

ArcadeSTG

Student
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
14
if I’m not mistaking “start+B1” returns to the MAME game list, but not to the multi (I setup my folders to have all games in a single folder)
Mine has exactly same specs. I just updated from stock 1GB to 4GB 800Mhz. I am waiting for an X6800 to arrive.

If you are using mame from the first post, the games that one launches from the mame menu run on mame 180. The games that one launches as an independent game from the multi run on mame 200. I launch games as independent games (mame 200) and start + B1 goes back to the multi list (not the mame list). Furthermore, if I recall correctly DS runs full mame speed.
 

jeston

Beginner
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
5
if I’m not mistaking “start+B1” returns to the MAME game list, but not to the multi (I setup my folders to have all games in a single folder)
Mine has exactly same specs. I just updated from stock 1GB to 4GB 800Mhz. I am waiting for an X6800 to arrive.
If you are using mame from the first post, the games that one launches from the mame menu run on mame 180. The games that one launches as an independent game from the multi run on mame 200. I launch games as independent games (mame 200) and start + B1 goes back to the multi list (not the mame list). Furthermore, if I recall correctly DS runs full mame speed.
All right, I tried with the "one game per folder" config and mame 200.
You're right, the games runs much smoother.

I also tried editing the "game.au3" file to make it look for "mame200.exe""instead of "mame182di.exe", not sure if I was correct doing this.
Nonetheless, the games still ran like crap, so I guess I'll stick to the "one game per folder" structure for now.
 

ArcadeSTG

Student
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
14
It is a bit strange that there is a mix of versions in the release of the first page. I do not think people are aware of that, but there is a significant difference.
 
Last edited:

marcos

Student
Joined
Sep 9, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
14
Location
france
HI
I can't play to killer instinct 1 and 2 on mame taito type x2 multi because i can't add coins and can't change in feeplay mode. Do you play succesfully with these 2 games please ?
 

jeston

Beginner
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
5
HI
I can't play to killer instinct 1 and 2 on mame taito type x2 multi because i can't add coins and can't change in feeplay mode. Do you play succesfully with these 2 games ple
How about "Start +B2" to bring the Tab menu and remap from there?

Also, did anyone found a proper scanlines settings ?
I tried with the old method with the .png files, works when I connect the multi HD on my PC, but not on the TypeX.
I tried with hlsl, looks great on PC, doesn't work on TypeX.

How's the PGM performance on your side ? I found Demon Front runs slow.
 

ArcadeSTG

Student
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
14
How's the PGM performance on your side ? I found Demon Front runs slow.
I tried Demon Front today. Ir runs 100% mame speed, but my TX2 has Mame 200, X6800 CPU, and 800Mhz RAM.

Edit: I made latest mame run. It turns out you need a specific compilation for Windows XP.

Mame 226 + X6800 CPU + 800Mhz RAM = you can play latest cave games full mame speed.
 
Last edited:
Top