What's new

JKTwice

Beginner
Reaction score
Hi! I’m a newbie to JVS systems and the biggest sticking point in my project currently is that I need a way to power a NAOMI 2 with a NetDIMM without a cabinet. This is apparently a very power hungry set up and I’ve seen two main options:

1. Sun PSU. The most reliable solution although these units are getting up there in age and are expensive. My question here is if anyone sells an adapter so I can plug it into the wall or a power bank or something.

2. ATX PSU. The adapters for these seem to be produced frequently enough to where I can find multiple sellers, however I’ve heard doubts concerning this specific solution as the voltage from the PSU’s 3.3 and 5V rails needs to be in a specific window for the NAOMI to not get cooked. A quality PSU would work in this instance but I’m wondering what models you guys would recommend.

I have lurked for awhile and can’t really decide on what to do, so I figured I’d just ask you guys directly. Thank you!

Edit: Got my PSU question squared away but did not want to make another thread when my next question is in the same field of knowledge.

https://www.arcade-projects.com/threads/naomi-2-netdimm-power-supply-options.25113/post-373033

Last edited:
Not to further complicate and add to the options but I’ve had really great experience powering my NAOMI with a MeanWell QP-150-3A. It has the necessary 3.3V, 5V, and 12V for NAOMI and the 3.3V and 5V lines are adjustable, (you also get -5V so it meets JAMMA power requirements as well).

The simplest solution would be to find a working Sun PSU but, as you say, they’re getting on in years and may need to replace the fan and/or electrolytic capacitors. The QP-150-3A, while pricey, is new and you don’t have to worry about it failing, at least not for a few years.