What's new

Elfito69

Student
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
56
Reaction score
28
Location
San ysidro
i do not have access to a cps3, can the files be programed directly to the flash roms?
 

parodius

Student
Joined
Mar 13, 2016
Messages
146
Reaction score
69
Location
Singapore
Directly how ?
No, AFAIK you will need a CPS3 setup or someone to do it for you.
 

Elfito69

Student
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
56
Reaction score
28
Location
San ysidro
Like with a burner, desolder the chips and burn the file to them
 

jassin000

Multi Boyz Sheriff
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,528
Reaction score
6,001
Location
Nashua, NH
I think so... But damn bro what a crazy amount of work and chance to fuck em up soldering back in. Anyone with a CPS3 multi setup can write the SIMMs for you in like 20mins. Just do that and stop trying to "beat the system" so to type. :P
 

Elfito69

Student
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
56
Reaction score
28
Location
San ysidro
don't know anyone with a cps3 setup, does someone in here have a cps3 simm service?
 

wasspat

Student
Joined
Dec 18, 2015
Messages
46
Reaction score
19
Location
lens - France
Hi guys,

I've got a lot of 27c160 and I think to do a conversion of Street Fighter Zero because no roms exceed 2Mo so.

Do you think it's possible to use this kind of eprom instead of 27c322 on CPS2 Black Board?
I doubt because of the jumpers (only 4 on Black Board).

Thanks ;)
 

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,282
Reaction score
183
Location
FRANCE
I try to burn in 64 mb and 32 mb simm progear with cps2black.


this is the romfiles:

progea11.jpg


for example the first 64 mb SIMM have 4 files, pga-simm.01a,.01b,.01c and .01d.
To be reconized cps2black I must change the extension by .03,.04,.05 and .06. 2048ko each.
Changing extension could it make issues?
after treatment I have one .bin but only 4096ko, is it normal?
progea12.jpg


for 32mb simms I have to file same thing, change extension to .03 and .04 and 1 file 4096ko (more coherent)

progea10.jpg


could you help me?
 

parodius

Student
Joined
Mar 13, 2016
Messages
146
Reaction score
69
Location
Singapore
I'm not sure CPS2Black supports the 64Mb SIMMs that are used to hold gfx data on some regular plastic case CPS2s (Progear, Mighty Pang).
I think it's only designed for the single 32Mb (or 4096kB) SIMMs used on black all-in-one CPS2s, where it replaces the program Eproms of regular CPS2s.
 

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,282
Reaction score
183
Location
FRANCE
THX if I create 2 x32mb .bin file and try to merge it, any chance? If yes how to? no problem with pinout of siimm?
 
Top