What's new

WiL

Beginner
Joined
Feb 8, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
7
Location
Vexin - France
Hi, i would like to get one please. Thanks.
 

jbrlll

Student
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
83
Reaction score
107
Location
Tehachapi, CA
Hello I purchased one of these a year ago and never installed it. I just got it ready and it looks like the link to the audrino source code is missing? I’m probably missing something?
 

everten

Professional
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
336
Reaction score
583
Location
CT, USA
Hello I purchased one of these a year ago and never installed it. I just got it ready and it looks like the link to the audrino source code is missing? I’m probably missing something?
The arduino should already have the program on it. On one of the STVs I was working on I had to update the multi cart firmware in order to get the selector to work.

Paging @stt1 - can you post a new download link for the arduino code?
 

stt1

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
266
Reaction score
186
Location
Pornainen, Finland
Need to upload the code (not online at the moment), but there is a program already loaded to arduino. It should just boot when powered up.

VERY important: if you want to reprogram the arduino, remove it from the selector and program it separately, then put back to the selector sockets. Note the position on sockets before removing (some sockets have +1 pin more than arduino and it's possible to put the arduino one row too much down).
 
Last edited:

jbrlll

Student
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
83
Reaction score
107
Location
Tehachapi, CA
Need to upload the code (not online at the moment), but there is a program already loaded to arduino. It should just boot when powered up.

VERY important: if you want to reprogram the arduino, remove it from the selector and program it separately, then put back to the selector sockets. Note the position on sockets before removing (some sockets have +1 pin more than arduino and it's possible to put the arduino one row too much down).
I found the gameselector_v3_0c.Ino file in the @SmokeMonster roll up pack.
 

stt1

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
266
Reaction score
186
Location
Pornainen, Finland
Try that. Do you have some problem with the selector? :huh:

Still at work... No change to upload anything yet...
 

jbrlll

Student
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
83
Reaction score
107
Location
Tehachapi, CA
Try that. Do you have some problem with the selector? :huh:

Still at work... No change to upload anything yet...
It works but for instance if I select final arch it loads radiant silver gun and visa versa. It’s like that for all the games. The two games that are always inverted are 14 games apart on the master list. I’ll figure it out.
 

everten

Professional
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
336
Reaction score
583
Location
CT, USA
It works but for instance if I select final arch it loads radiant silver gun and visa versa. It’s like that for all the games. The two games that are always inverted are 14 games apart on the master list. I’ll figure it out.
Could your ribbon cable be reversed on one end?
 

twistedsymphony

Enlightened
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
9,654
Reaction score
8,823
Location
NH, USA
I thought the same thing, it’s keyed on the cartridge and on the selector side it only boots one orientation.
it could still be wrong... they make ribon cables that reverse the pin depending on how the connector is crimped, similarly the default connector on the cart side is not keyed, so if yours is keyed then it was changed after the fact.. and could have been installed backwards.

maybe post a picture if your ribon cable connections on both ends so we can see how it's oriented and which pin hast he stripe.

Here is a good reference image:
25017808116_197869b7ec_b.jpg


from this the cable should be exiting to the right of the LCD unit with the stripe on the top wire.

the cable should be exiting towards the back of the cart with the stripe on the left
 

jbrlll

Student
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
83
Reaction score
107
Location
Tehachapi, CA
it could still be wrong... they make ribon cables that reverse the pin depending on how the connector is crimped, similarly the default connector on the cart side is not keyed, so if yours is keyed then it was changed after the fact.. and could have been installed backwards.

maybe post a picture if your ribon cable connections on both ends so we can see how it's oriented and which pin hast he stripe.

Here is a good reference image:
25017808116_197869b7ec_b.jpg


from this the cable should be exiting to the right of the LCD unit with the stripe on the top wire.

the cable should be exiting towards the back of the cart with the stripe on the left
It’s usually the last thing my dumb ass touched. Mine is keyed at the cartridge but the cable is keyed at both ends opposite so the ends are not innerchangable. That’s why it was shifted 14 games I guess cause there are 14 pins? I did get that new 3.0c flashed and initialized on the audrino, obviously that wasn’t my problem. Now onto getting this firmware. Thanks for the input guys.
 

Attachments

  • FBA957D5-4FA4-49B8-B46B-294D10C3DDA3.jpeg
    FBA957D5-4FA4-49B8-B46B-294D10C3DDA3.jpeg
    129.7 KB · Views: 18
  • 6F7756AF-017D-4504-AAC1-E5E2A2851C82.jpeg
    6F7756AF-017D-4504-AAC1-E5E2A2851C82.jpeg
    255.2 KB · Views: 19

jbrlll

Student
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
83
Reaction score
107
Location
Tehachapi, CA
If anyone sees anything obvious. Solid ground, solid voltage, cart power led on, discovery swd counting top pin as 1, I’m in 2,3,4 going into 2,8,1 on the cart respectively. Stm32f407 drivers installed and recognized. Both discovery jumpers pulled. If I disconnect the st-v cart I can detect the discovery. First time dealing with a discovery.
 

Attachments

  • A364C60E-50F1-456A-A9A2-DED1AF8EB83F.jpeg
    A364C60E-50F1-456A-A9A2-DED1AF8EB83F.jpeg
    282.3 KB · Views: 17
  • FF1CF6AD-3E2B-49C4-9610-DC3757B44F50.jpeg
    FF1CF6AD-3E2B-49C4-9610-DC3757B44F50.jpeg
    295.9 KB · Views: 17
  • 8390F903-6DF5-4BD0-9279-AC58BD8D893E.jpeg
    8390F903-6DF5-4BD0-9279-AC58BD8D893E.jpeg
    268.5 KB · Views: 17
  • 7BBA7331-A9C0-41D7-B157-21D73A0DB262.jpeg
    7BBA7331-A9C0-41D7-B157-21D73A0DB262.jpeg
    256.5 KB · Views: 16
  • 573451B5-3593-4D77-821D-2D0B634CFBB9.jpeg
    573451B5-3593-4D77-821D-2D0B634CFBB9.jpeg
    195.9 KB · Views: 16
  • 04FF5E79-0C0C-45F2-A3C6-E13E216EB664.jpeg
    04FF5E79-0C0C-45F2-A3C6-E13E216EB664.jpeg
    264 KB · Views: 17

jbrlll

Student
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
83
Reaction score
107
Location
Tehachapi, CA
Need to upload the code (not online at the moment), but there is a program already loaded to arduino. It should just boot when powered up.

VERY important: if you want to reprogram the arduino, remove it from the selector and program it separately, then put back to the selector sockets. Note the position on sockets before removing (some sockets have +1 pin more than arduino and it's possible to put the arduino one row too much down).
My apologies, I had a cable 180 out. Your selector is great.
 

Attachments

  • B461A9B6-A841-48AC-B741-15C3F73534FF.jpeg
    B461A9B6-A841-48AC-B741-15C3F73534FF.jpeg
    183.5 KB · Views: 21

stt1

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
266
Reaction score
186
Location
Pornainen, Finland
Perfect that you got it resolved :)

Just having a day off from work and working for sending another batch of selectors out...
 

stt1

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
266
Reaction score
186
Location
Pornainen, Finland
I have now more blue/white displays in stock. One tested selector at the moment in stock and parts for making more.

All so far ordered and paid selectors have been also sent.
 
Top