What's new

dewmansnk

Professional
Joined
Dec 1, 2017
Messages
255
Reaction score
503
Location
SoCal
Well, PFX and PF have near compatible yokes. The horizontal inductance is pretty close between the 2 so no issues there. The vertical inductance on the PF yokes is in the neighborhood of 12-14mH, whereas the PFX is around 7-8mH.

If you put the Tosh PF chassis on the PFX tube, you will likely not get full vertical size. The fix is pretty easy, see my mod thread here:
https://www.arcade-projects.com/threads/toshiba-tri-sync-pbxx-pdxx-pexx-notes-mods.21081/

Check out the 'Vertical Deflection' modification. You will need to change R323 from a ~1.0Ohm down to something around 0.750Ohm and that should give you more current in the vertical deflection and allow for full vertical size.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nem

chriszhxi

Student
Joined
Mar 8, 2022
Messages
32
Reaction score
5
Location
US
If you put the Tosh PF chassis on the PFX tube, you will likely not get full vertical size.
That's exactly what happened when I put Toshiba PB9929 on it, can't get full vertical size.

About the tube, it has vertical lines besides horizontal scanlines, the whole screen looks like formed by tiny cells or grids.

It has label says made by Samsung China, anyone knows about this tube?
 

Hedonism Bot 2.0

Grand Master
Joined
Aug 12, 2017
Messages
807
Reaction score
1,171
Location
USA
AFAIK, the only source for suitable MS9 tube swaps are from other arcade monitors. I haven't found a suitable donor for an MS9 from a consumer TV. And I have done lots and lots of searching.

That tube you have might work for a Blast City however.

Nope. My NNC tubes are beautiful. Plus I have two spares from racing cabs :).

I know you can find the tubes from Wangnam racing cabs. Wagnam 1 comes with Sanwa 2931ES monitors. Wangnam 2 comes with Sanwa PFX tubes with Novell tubes.

But yeah, there should be more 27" flat panel 4x3 TV's out there. But no idea what your chances of success are going to be. @Hedonism Bot 2.0 has put some effort into the same endeavor for the NNC without luck.
Yes, the Flat tubes I’ve found have a different depth and they won’t work.
 

wwse

Beginner
Joined
Feb 9, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Republic of Belarus
Hi. I found 3x Toshiba 100 Hz HD CRT with:
1. PICTURE TUBE, A68LTF356X, 27VPFV2, 104° deflection DEFLECTION YOKE TDY-629SA.
2. PICTURE TUBE, A68LTF356X, 27VPFV2, 106° deflection DEFLECTION YOKE TDY-629SA.
3. PICTURE TUBE, M68LWM356X, 27VPFRACSEMIFINE, 104° deflection, DEFLECTION YOKE, TDY8296A

My friend has Toshiba D29CQ51, PB9929 Chassis with burn-in A68LTF356X:
Сan he swap his crt tube to another from HD CRT? His crt tube has no problems other than burn-in.
Is it necessary to replace yoke?
Crt tube with what deflection to choose? Сan anyone tell me what is the value of the original crt tube?

I also found a lot of HD CRT with A68LZU185X - will they fit?

Thanks
so. my friend bought a TV with PICTURE TUBE, A68LTF356X, 27VPFV2, 104° deflection DEFLECTION YOKE TDY-629SA.

he swapped crt tube and ended up with this - see attachments.

any idea why the image is not full screen?
he connected mister fpga and pc 640x480.

P.S.: sorry for bad quality.
 

Attachments

  • F4DABCE2-23BD-4FD8-BA30-4B2C6E49193D.jpeg
    F4DABCE2-23BD-4FD8-BA30-4B2C6E49193D.jpeg
    101.2 KB · Views: 28
  • 020C2309-2A64-435B-ACE8-6ED4592BA6CB.jpeg
    020C2309-2A64-435B-ACE8-6ED4592BA6CB.jpeg
    172.9 KB · Views: 29
  • 5CA1B562-1DE2-4934-BE37-8589B1519C5B.jpeg
    5CA1B562-1DE2-4934-BE37-8589B1519C5B.jpeg
    81.2 KB · Views: 30
  • 6D683900-5317-4349-A214-994F94CD2D98.jpeg
    6D683900-5317-4349-A214-994F94CD2D98.jpeg
    68.5 KB · Views: 23
  • FD912CFC-CE91-44FD-9C68-6E9FE6B55B77.jpeg
    FD912CFC-CE91-44FD-9C68-6E9FE6B55B77.jpeg
    70.8 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
5,456
Reaction score
5,455
Location
Finland
Horizontal and vertical sizes maxed? You're using the original TV yoke?
 

wwse

Beginner
Joined
Feb 9, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Republic of Belarus
Horizontal and vertical sizes maxed? You're using the original TV yoke?
So: horizontally this is the maximum setting, vertically - can be stretched to fit the screen, but it was set up to make picture 4x3.
yoke is originally from TV - friend says it's looks very similar to the one on from arcade cabinet tube.
 
Last edited:

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
5,456
Reaction score
5,455
Location
Finland
You would need to measure the yoke. I guess the TV yoke has a higher horizontal impedance than the original PF one.
 

wwse

Beginner
Joined
Feb 9, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Republic of Belarus
You would need to measure the yoke. I guess the TV yoke has a higher horizontal impedance than the original PF one.
Thanks! he will try to measure the values next weekend.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nem

wwse

Beginner
Joined
Feb 9, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Republic of Belarus
You would need to measure the yoke. I guess the TV yoke has a higher horizontal impedance than the original PF one.
sorry, can you tell me how to measure the impedance. impedance is inductance? I found how to measure resistance in ohm but I don't understand how to measure what you are asking. the first time we encounter this. I'm not exactly sure yet, but the tools on hand will be an ordinary multimeter.

I also found a similar problem (hw) with the replacement of the tube with a solution. do you think it will help us?

Link: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=161239.0
 

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
5,456
Reaction score
5,455
Location
Finland
Right, inductance.

You cannot read inductance with a regular meter. You can compare resistance.

As for modifying the chassis, there's likely a resistor you could replace to give you more width.
 

wwse

Beginner
Joined
Feb 9, 2022
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Republic of Belarus
You cannot read inductance with a regular meter. You can compare resistance.

As for modifying the chassis, there's likely a resistor you could replace to give you more width.
Thanks!
 

Kidkaos

Professional
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
525
Reaction score
365
Location
Northern California
Can I use an ms9 chassis on this Hitachi tube?
It's from a Pony Mark IV.
A68KFS60X
 

Attachments

  • 20221122_221522.jpg
    20221122_221522.jpg
    119.2 KB · Views: 11
  • 20221122_221551.jpg
    20221122_221551.jpg
    105.9 KB · Views: 10
  • 20221122_221619.jpg
    20221122_221619.jpg
    75.6 KB · Views: 11
Top