What's new

Srkmagnus

Beginner
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am new to arcade machine owning and have been trying to learn a lot about how it works. Long story short I have a NAOMI MVC2 machine with a VGA monitor, which I had hooked up a Xbox 360 and PS3 using a VGA switcher. Everything was working fine and I was hooking up a capture card to the PS3 when I noticed the marquee light not working. I switched back to the arcade Video output and there is no picture and a clicking (or ticking) sound that I didn’t notice before. I can hear the game so no issues with audio just no video. To summarize:

- No video on VGA monitor and there is a ticking sound (see video)

- No light on the marquee

- Coin slots DO have light.

I have searched and seems like it could be a bad monitor. But no light in the marquee and power to coin slots lead me to believe it could be a power supply issue. I plan on picking up a tester to check the power supply tomorrow. But in the meantime wanted to see if anyone has ideas on what it could be and if the ticking sound from the screen is a power cycling issue (that’s what I found searching).

Here is a video of the clicking sound. The lights in the back are from the coin slot. Angle

https://photos.app.goo.gl/sn4jcA2x6hMKdb1i6

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Chris

AC from your wall powers the monitor, marquee light and PSU. Your PSU outputs DC voltage for the game board. Coin slots are usually powered by the PSU too. If you weren't getting AC at all, your game wouldn't be running. It could be a power distribution problem, but I doubt it.

Verify this by measuring that you're getting a full 120V on the monitor and marquee light. Unplug the power leads that plug into the monitor and the light, set your multimeter to AC voltage and put the meter leads in the connector housings.

Don't have a multimeter? Get one.

What's the make of the monitor?