What's new

donluca

Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 23, 2015
Messages
252
Reaction score
157
Location
Italy
anybody with the silent 6 gelid can take a photo of how the pins should be connected?
You can try plugging it in every way, there's no risk of damaging it (that's how I discovered it), but IIRC (don't want to open the case again), with you having the fan side in front of you, put the notches upwards and connect the right-most two pins.
 

KaPH33n

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
725
Reaction score
731
Location
CA
Is a direct replacement in the CPS2 A board? Does it include the same plug as the original? No soldering necessary?
If a fan says "2 Wire Leads" then you need to get the connector on there. You could remove the old one and connect the wires together w/ solder. Or you could crimp new pins and get a new connector.
 

xodaraP

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,416
Reaction score
3,051
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Indeed. I've used several of these fans now. You need to cut the connector off the existing fan and connect it up :)
 

lobogau

Beginner
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
30
Reaction score
3
Location
Baltimore, MD USA

lobogau

Beginner
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
30
Reaction score
3
Location
Baltimore, MD USA

KinG_SoPa

Professional
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
661
Reaction score
413
Location
Boston,MA
@lobogau get the silent 6 fan it works very good and it comes with the connector already its just plug and play.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008S1HNPS/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Thanks, did you have to trim the outside of the fan case to fit? I heard that it might need to be done because it's slightly larger than 15mm.
Rob
I didn't trim anything , it is slightly tight but i just gave it a good shove and boom it fit.
 

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,368
Reaction score
218
Location
FRANCE
I have one A board sealed and I would like to change fan, I know about sticker is void opened, but I assume that can to re stick back it, but for special cacom screw how to please?

sans_t28.png


sans_t29.png
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,512
Reaction score
3,561
Location
The Netherlands
I always pry 2 small screwdrivers under the cap from both sides and pop it up, but be careful not the damage the case
 

fluxcore

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
243
Reaction score
112
Location
New Zealand
That one actually looks like a bolt/nut arrangement. Can probably just use a socket or small pliers and undo it, I did the latter on a board just this past weekend. You need to stop the other end from swivelling though, it's not a captive bolt.

The other screws are all security torx
 

xodaraP

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,416
Reaction score
3,051
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
That one actually looks like a bolt/nut arrangement. Can probably just use a socket or small pliers and undo it, I did the latter on a board just this past weekend. You need to stop the other end from swivelling though, it's not a captive bolt.

The other screws are all security torx
This. That's not a Capcom C bolt - a pair of needle nose pliers will do the job and you can just unscrew the kit from the top.

I found just holding my finger on the bolt head was enough to hold it in place while I unscrewed it
 
Top