What's new

Neo-rules

New User
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Stafford, Virginia
New to the forums and new to Arcades.
I have a Captain Commando that I hadn't turned on in a couple years (long story).
Now it is dead. I plugged in another board and the display came up and worked so I am pretty sure its a suicide.

How can I verify it is the dang battery?
Where can I order the (or when) the CPS-1 infikey.

Thanks JC (aka Neo-Rules)
 

xodaraP

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,399
Reaction score
3,013
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Multimeter on the battery to read the voltage, if the battery is dead, board is suicided

The last update on availability was UD will have something to announce in the next week or so.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Messages
120
Reaction score
14
Location
USA
This is incredible! Are we waiting for these to become available? If so can I preorder some?

It looks like the CPS1 and CPS1.5 versions require no soldering/mods but the CPS2 version does?
 
Last edited:

jassin000

Multi Boyz Sheriff
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,537
Reaction score
6,021
Location
Nashua, NH
It looks like the CPS1 and CPS1.5 versions require no soldering/mods but the CPS2 version does?
I believe this is correct, I can confirm for the Kabuki Z80 anyway... I have the Infinity key on my Super Buster Bros.


100% P'nP, set the dips, pull the OG chip, install, replace Z80 on top.
 

Thrillhouse

Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 29, 2018
Messages
176
Reaction score
129
Location
STL, MO, USA
Yep - the longer we wait, the more faulty CPS1 boards I've collected. I'm up to needing three!
 

segasonic91

Student
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
147
Reaction score
26
Location
Australia
If a board has already been modded, will it still work with this? I need one for KoD, Wonder 3, KotR and Captain Commando. CC already had the board modded but did not have the ROMs changed, still has the battery from memory. Wonder 3 was missing the f'ing B-21 chip!! I am getting another W3 board though. Thought about buying a B-21 board off twatbay marked as faulty, but I figure it's a bit of a crapshoot to get a working B-21 chip and not have it be something else on the board. Shame it can't be a complete replacement to the damn C board!
 

undamned

Multi Baez
Champion
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
2,011
Location
AZ, USA
Hello! Any update on this amazing development? My CPS 1.5 boards are waiting :)
Hi, any progress on this project??
Parts for a small run have been sent to my assembler, but no ETA as corona virus fun is underway. Small run is because this is the first time having someone else produce them (I hand built original dozen or so) and I didn't want to risk having a pile of them made wrong. Once first articles are proven, I can comfortably pull the trigger on large qty.

If a board has already been modded, will it still work with this? I need one for KoD, Wonder 3, KotR and Captain Commando. CC already had the board modded but did not have the ROMs changed, still has the battery from memory. Wonder 3 was missing the f'ing B-21 chip!! I am getting another W3 board though. Thought about buying a B-21 board off twatbay marked as faulty, but I figure it's a bit of a crapshoot to get a working B-21 chip and not have it be something else on the board. Shame it can't be a complete replacement to the damn C board!
Yeah, if you revert the C-board mod on your Captain Commando and are sure the ROMs are unchanged, it should work fine (well, provided nothing else is damaged on the boardset).
-ud
 

segasonic91

Student
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
147
Reaction score
26
Location
Australia
Does the cut trace on the C board matter? The answer is obvious, but just want to ask to make sure. Taking off the wire and unbridging the 2 pins on the B-21 is easy enough, it is the cut trace that worries me. I would not be able to fix such teeney-tiny traces. The ROMs are 100% legit originals. The board boots but stops working at the title screen.
 

Nebula

Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 11, 2017
Messages
156
Reaction score
102
Location
Spain
Does the cut trace on the C board matter? The answer is obvious, but just want to ask to make sure. Taking off the wire and unbridging the 2 pins on the B-21 is easy enough, it is the cut trace that worries me. I would not be able to fix such teeney-tiny traces. The ROMs are 100% legit originals. The board boots but stops working at the title screen.
AFAIK you can simply bridge the already two-pins-bridged to the pin next to the right to set it in the same condition as one untouched.
Obviously you need to remove the wire to the +5V before doing that.
 

segasonic91

Student
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
147
Reaction score
26
Location
Australia
Does the cut trace on the C board matter? The answer is obvious, but just want to ask to make sure. Taking off the wire and unbridging the 2 pins on the B-21 is easy enough, it is the cut trace that worries me. I would not be able to fix such teeney-tiny traces. The ROMs are 100% legit originals. The board boots but stops working at the title screen.
AFAIK you can simply bridge the already two-pins-bridged to the pin next to the right to set it in the same condition as one untouched.Obviously you need to remove the wire to the +5V before doing that.
Perfect, that is much better than I thought it would be. Thanks!
 

Snarf78

Beginner
Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Nottingham uk
Can anyone please help me I would like to buy a Cps1.5 Street fighter 2 game preferably turbo I bought a Capcom Cps changer but it has no game.
Cheers.
 

XtraSmiley

Champion
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
2,623
Reaction score
1,475
Location
St Louis, IL
Can anyone please help me I would like to buy a Cps1.5 Street fighter 2 game preferably turbo I bought a Capcom Cps changer but it has no game.
Cheers.
A CPS Changer is the home version of CPS games. Do you mean you need a game for that, or did you buy a CPS2 motherboard? CPS 1.5 usually refers to the 5 games (Punisher, Cadillacs and Dinosaurs, WoF 2, Muscle Bomber, Muscle Bomber Duo) that came out for it, but I can also see if you mean the few releases CPS1 home games.
 

undamned

Multi Baez
Champion
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
2,011
Location
AZ, USA
Can anyone please help me I would like to buy a Cps1.5 Street fighter 2 game preferably turbo I bought a Capcom Cps changer but it has no game.
Cheers.
A CPS Changer is the home version of CPS games. Do you mean you need a game for that, or did you buy a CPS2 motherboard? CPS 1.5 usually refers to the 5 games (Punisher, Cadillacs and Dinosaurs, WoF 2, Muscle Bomber, Muscle Bomber Duo) that came out for it, but I can also see if you mean the few releases CPS1 home games.
CPS changer can play other JAMMA games, so it makes sense to want to play CPS1.5, which uses basically the same case as CPS Changer games.

@Snarf78 try the "Wanted" section of the market place. This is thread is not the place.
-ud
 

undamned

Multi Baez
Champion
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
2,011
Location
AZ, USA
Got a batch of boards from my assembler and discovered that the dip switches I chose did not fare well. Discolored during the soldering process and some not functioning reliably. Must have been a really low quality switch to begin with. I've changed switch manufacturers and will have another batch of boards made.

COVID-19 stuff seems to have lifted to some degree in Shenzhen, so I think it should only take about a month to get another batch made.
-ud
 
Top