What's new

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,599
Reaction score
12,070
Location
Poland
How does the original work? Do you need an extra I/O for the 3rd and 4th player?
 

nem

Legendary
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,652
Reaction score
4,192
Location
Finland
Normally yes, but I think you can get all four player controls working with one Capcom IO (two players off the jamma edge, two more on the 'kick harness').

Does 4P functionality work in any other game with the Capcom IO? Anyone here tried it?
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,599
Reaction score
12,070
Location
Poland
What is the reason behind? Because the MultiJVS can respond with any configuration to the JVS. So it should be good for 1-2 players at least.
 

rtw

Champion
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
1,362
Reaction score
1,422
Location
Norway
What is the reason behind? Because the MultiJVS can respond with any configuration to the JVS. So it should be good for 1-2 players at least.
It will work with 1 to 2 players but how would you connect player 3 and 4 to the MultiJVS ?
 

invzim

Champion
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
879
Reaction score
1,965
Location
Oslo, Norway
Well I stand corrected. I guess it's worse than I thought.
Yes and no, if the game sends the poll request carefully and synced with vsync - there is no need to poll more frequently, given that the IO board returns the current state of input of course.
 

winteriscoming

Champion
Joined
Feb 16, 2016
Messages
1,425
Reaction score
1,141
Location
Indiana, US
And for options 3-4 players options to play powerstone 2 ?
This probably will not work, though I don't have specifics for what is even required for 4p power stone. For one thing, I wonder if there are even enough inputs. The firmware is not set up to report more than 2 players, IIRC.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,846
Reaction score
6,701
Location
New Bern, NC USA
This probably will not work, though I don't have specifics for what is even required for 4p power stone. For one thing, I wonder if there are even enough inputs. The firmware is not set up to report more than 2 players, IIRC.
If you aren't using a Capcom i/o player 3 and 4 is accomplished by chaining a second i/o to the first i/o as a second node.
 

mv1f

Student
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
68
Reaction score
86
Location
sfbay
Yes and no, if the game sends the poll request carefully and synced with vsync - there is no need to poll more frequently, given that the IO board returns the current state of input of course.
Totally. I was just referring to the issue with Capcom IO which I had previously said was "overblown". If IO is generally only polled at framerate then having a full frame of delay baked in is definitely worse than I thought.
 

strider973

Beginner
Joined
Feb 26, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
FRENCH GUIANA
Power stone 2 use directionnal+3buttons
set the capcom converter i/o switch to 4 players (1 & 2 + credit on jamma ,3 & 4 + credit (12v) on 4PLAYERS kick harness(more wire on it , different from 456buttons kick harness)
in test mode >system assignement set to 4 players. this is the only thing i know.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,846
Reaction score
6,701
Location
New Bern, NC USA
Or we will when they arrive here.
 

aoiddr

Professional
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
374
Reaction score
132
Location
Georgia, USA
Got my Multi JVS installed into a Sega Net City (so swapped out a SEGA JVS I/O Type 1 for this). Aside from not having that extra USB port like the SEGA I/O boards have (I'm guessing for linking games?) and the two far right screw holes not being in the same spot as the Sega I/O, it's basically a drop in replacement.

Right now, I'm just using it with the default setting profile for the time being, so it reads as a Sega JVS I/O Type 3. Works great with a Naomi 2. Will eventually try it out with a Chihiro, Type X, Namco 256, and RingEge2.

I did tweak the DISPLAY.HEX file to get the little screen to show the correct direction for my cab. Haven't played around with any of the profile settings or anything like that yet.

All in all, definitely a cool piece of tech.
 

Attachments

  • 20210605_235309.jpg
    20210605_235309.jpg
    160.7 KB · Views: 59
  • 20210607_090057.jpg
    20210607_090057.jpg
    170 KB · Views: 60
  • 20210607_090108.jpg
    20210607_090108.jpg
    231.3 KB · Views: 59

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
6,252
Reaction score
9,677
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Refering to the first post, I believe if you’re interested in purchasing you just have to send a PM to @Darksoft
 
Top