What's new

Nimmers

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 25, 2016
Messages
605
Reaction score
554
Location
NSW, Australia
I have one copy. It's a nice piece. No loading time as it holds the games on big flashes. Problem.is it doesn't hold the whole library only several games. It comes with its own LCD and buttons. Very interesting...
Maybe the other games don't work right?
?(
Everything it can run needs to be originally CPS-B-21 or have been converted to CPS-B-21 though right?
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
10,563
Reaction score
14,974
Location
Poland
Yes. I think all games work but you have to update the board and do a flash update which takes a couple of hours.
 
A

Apocalypse

I have one copy. It's a nice piece. No loading time as it holds the games on big flashes. Problem.is it doesn't hold the whole library only several games. It comes with its own LCD and buttons. Very interesting...
Maybe the other games don't work right? ?(
Everything it can run needs to be originally CPS-B-21 or have been converted to CPS-B-21 though right?
No, all games run, you have to select the B-chip type with the screen (he first thought of an auto-detection but all ID registers weren't known at the time, maybe still are).
Registers access and layer masks are patched on the fly.
Reason he stopped making them is games were included thus illegal...
Honestly this multi was almost perfect (even including support for Forgotten Worlds spinners), only the lack of SD/USB stick support to store games was a problem.
 

Nimmers

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 25, 2016
Messages
605
Reaction score
554
Location
NSW, Australia
No, all games run, you have to select the B-chip type with the screen (he first thought of an auto-detection but all ID registers weren't known at the time, maybe still are).Registers access and layer masks are patched on the fly.
Reason he stopped making them is games were included thus illegal...
Honestly this multi was almost perfect (even including support for Forgotten Worlds spinners), only the lack of SD/USB stick support to store games was a problem.
Sounds awesome...

I wonder if a cash bounty like the CPS1.5 one would work to get him to change his policy on selling to non French.
 
A

Apocalypse

No, all games run, you have to select the B-chip type with the screen (he first thought of an auto-detection but all ID registers weren't known at the time, maybe still are).Registers access and layer masks are patched on the fly.
Reason he stopped making them is games were included thus illegal...
Honestly this multi was almost perfect (even including support for Forgotten Worlds spinners), only the lack of SD/USB stick support to store games was a problem.
Sounds awesome...
I wonder if a cash bounty like the CPS1.5 one would work to get him to change his policy on selling to non French.
As far as I know he stopped selling/making them for everyone, not only non French.
With all the knowledge and skills we have here on this forum I don't see it a problem making our own multi CPS1.
DS could reuse his multi CPS2 loading system (from an SD card/USB stick), I can work on the FPGA for on the fly patching of registers and layer masks.
 

Brentradio

Champion
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
2,156
Reaction score
1,831
Location
Las Vegas
I don't see it a problem making our own multi CPS1.
DS could reuse his multi CPS2 loading system (from an SD card/USB stick), I can work on the FPGA for on the fly patching of registers and layer masks.
Great! You guys do that and I'll sit back with a beer in one hand and cash in the other, and marvel at the geniuses at work...

:D
 
A

Apocalypse

sounds like a plan to me.......

team work!!!!

Do you think you can get the schematics or some info from aje_fr?

I have some schematics from CPS1 on paper, not on *.sch file
If I have you're word you're committed to make it real I can make the schematics in *.sch format.
Best would be to start from a 91634 or 91635 B-board as they support the biggest ROM size (8Mb for graphics, 2Mb for code).
Then you can have a look at how to embed your game loading system and I'll see how to integrate the on the fly patching.
 

Brentradio

Champion
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
2,156
Reaction score
1,831
Location
Las Vegas
OK, so here's a multi that I just thought of...

How about an Ikari Warriors Multi Cart with every LS-30 Joystick game on it. Maybe use a Heavy Barrel board or whichever one would work best.

I would buy that for sure!

:D
 

twistedsymphony

Enlightened
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
11,016
Reaction score
11,720
Location
NH, USA
How about an Ikari Warriors Multi Cart with every LS-30 Joystick game on it. Maybe use a Heavy Barrel board or whichever one would work best.
Heavy Barrel is different hardware from Ikari Warriors

There are 12 LS-30 games across 6 different hardware platforms... so if you want that multi you're going to be building a MAME box.

the SNK triple Z80 hardware has 5 LS-30 games on it but just because it's similar hardware doesn't necessarily means it's viable for a multi.

[SNK]
Bermuda Triangle/World Wars
Guerrilla War/Guevara
Ikari Warriors/Ikari
T.N.K. III/TANK
Victory Road/Dogou Souken

[SNK 68]
Ikari III
Search And Rescue

[Alpha 68K]
Time Soldiers/Battle Field

[DEC 0]
Heavy Barrel
Midnight Resistance

[DEC 8]
Gondomania/Makyou Senshi

[SETA]
DownTown
 
Last edited:

bagheera369

Champion
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
Messages
1,290
Reaction score
1,243
Location
DFW - TX - USA
Have 6 sticks, Bermuda Triangle, Heavy Barrel and Time Soldiers...:D I've at least made some progress.
 

Brentradio

Champion
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
2,156
Reaction score
1,831
Location
Las Vegas
[SNK]

Bermuda Triangle/World Wars
Guerrilla War/Guevara
Ikari Warriors/Ikari
T.N.K. III/TANK
Victory Road/Dogou Souken

[SNK 68]
Ikari III
Search And Rescue

[Alpha 68K]
Time Soldiers/Battle Field

[DEC 0]
Heavy Barrel
Midnight Resistance

[DEC 8]
Gondomania/Makyou Senshi

[SETA]
DownTown
You and your Twisted info...

Thanks!

:D
 

The Spaniard

Professional
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
750
Reaction score
299
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Is there going to be one board in particular that would be needed for a CPS1 multi?

Are Hyper fighting Dash (2?? Is it 2?) boards hard to find/expensive. I've looked for a day or two and not seen anything available that I know of.
 

Joko3

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
1,514
Reaction score
2,592
Location
Yokohama, Japan
Is there going to be one board in particular that would be needed for a CPS1 multi?

Are Hyper fighting Dash (2?? Is it 2?) boards hard to find/expensive. I've looked for a day or two and not seen anything available that I know of.
Only the CPS 1.5 games, as well as CE and HF really need the 12mhz board, all others games should work on a 10mhz short board (someone correct me if I’m wrong here).

Can’t say what a multi will use, but you have plenty of time to find a 12mhz so don’t stress it. (I need to find one myself, I only have a few 10mhz).
 

rewrite

Multi Boyz Litigator
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Nov 9, 2015
Messages
7,047
Reaction score
5,575
Location
SoCal
Dash (2?? Is it 2?) boards hard to find/expensive
I've had the opposite experience. Of the dozen A boards I own (including semi-working or dead boards) I have 2 non-Dash boards and that's it. All of which I've picked up in the past 6 months.
 

Joko3

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
1,514
Reaction score
2,592
Location
Yokohama, Japan
Dash (2?? Is it 2?) boards hard to find/expensive
I've had the opposite experience. Of the dozen A boards I own (including semi-working or dead boards) I have 2 non-Dash boards and that's it. All of which I've picked up in the past 6 months.
trade you a short 10 for a dash :p

(Can’t blame me for trying lol)
 

The Spaniard

Professional
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
750
Reaction score
299
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I've admittedly only looked around for a few days for a Hyper board but that will be one thing I want to pick up as a collection too as I dont have a HF board. What are the prices that these are going for usually or expect to pay for one?
 

rewrite

Multi Boyz Litigator
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Nov 9, 2015
Messages
7,047
Reaction score
5,575
Location
SoCal
Dash (2?? Is it 2?) boards hard to find/expensive
I've had the opposite experience. Of the dozen A boards I own (including semi-working or dead boards) I have 2 non-Dash boards and that's it. All of which I've picked up in the past 6 months.
trade you a short 10 for a dash :P
(Can’t blame me for trying lol)
Definitely can't :P.

I swear every time I mark one working and then take it back out later it's got an issue.. I've got bad CPS1 luck.
 
Top