What's new

Pledg

Student
Joined
Feb 18, 2022
Messages
61
Reaction score
4
Location
UK
I did find this image online which shows two boards with the same 4 x eprom sub board but unfortunately the quality isn't good enough to learn anything from it.
 

Attachments

  • 2-street-fighter-2-bootleg-boards-arcade-jamma.jpg
    2-street-fighter-2-bootleg-boards-arcade-jamma.jpg
    107.1 KB · Views: 8

Hammy

Enlightened
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
2,951
Location
U.K
That second board is final crash hardware... NOT the same.
The romboard is just a simple splitter.

THE BOARD IS GOOSED in other ways, nothing ROM related... the thing should of fired up with the arrangement before.
Please don't keep banging your head against the wall.

Anyway, you will be able to put this one to the back of the queue soon and fight some easier ones ;)
 

Hammy

Enlightened
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
2,951
Location
U.K
It may not be scrap, but there's a problem stopping it running that is not program ROM related.
You seem to be under the illusion that a magic romset/ rom config is going to fix the underlying problem... it's not.
 

Pledg

Student
Joined
Feb 18, 2022
Messages
61
Reaction score
4
Location
UK
Finally!!!!! A boot.... :thumbsup:

After over 2 months of tinkering, checking and burning I finally have a booting SF2 board that clears self checking.

Not having a controller I haven't advanced any further yet but this is more than encouraging.

I wanted to keep going because the condition of the board was cosmetically so good after cleaning. As mentioned before I had address/data lines active in the past but no moving screen action. This kind of told me that the board was good and there was a problem with just finding a matching ROM set. I was getting different logic readings with different ROMs so this told me that IC's weren't actually dead.

It seems that the daughter board only likes the 27c020 eproms so I looked for ROM set that would fit onto 4 eproms 4 x 256kb maincpu files...

I'd been looking through ROM sets on http://adb.arcadeitalia.net and did a search for sf2's that ran on a 10mhz 68000 and burned a set of for maincpu eproms from:

Steetfighter II: The World Warrior (TAB Austria, bootleg, set 2)

ce91e-a maincpu
ce91e-b maincpu
prg part 1.stt maincpu
prg part 2.stt maincpu

If it won't advance from this RAM test screen it may not be the absolute correct final ROM version but I'm getting closer.

Anyway a few pics attached.
 

Attachments

  • sf2_boot_03.jpg
    sf2_boot_03.jpg
    192 KB · Views: 12
  • sf2_boot_02.jpg
    sf2_boot_02.jpg
    210.9 KB · Views: 12
  • sf2_boot_01.jpg
    sf2_boot_01.jpg
    103.5 KB · Views: 12
  • sf2_boot_04.jpg
    sf2_boot_04.jpg
    203.3 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:

Hammy

Enlightened
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
2,951
Location
U.K
Throw enough shit at the wall something's gonna stick...

Still the wrong roms, it will never run correctly, i guess you are getting lucky with this romset testing the wrong ram area or something LOL
Anyway, offer is off now, you seem to love not listening, and are on your own with these wrong combinations.
 

Pledg

Student
Joined
Feb 18, 2022
Messages
61
Reaction score
4
Location
UK
Oh! That's disappointing!

I'm listening, it's just on my bench right now and I'm finding it difficult to leave alone until something else comes along...
 

Pledg

Student
Joined
Feb 18, 2022
Messages
61
Reaction score
4
Location
UK
Turns out the board would part boot using just two eproms PT1 and PT2:

prg part 1.stt maincpu
prg part 2.stt maincpu

Interesting it would animate the check screen in the correct orange colours and font then turn to green font.

On pressing coin up I get the coin up sound.

I appreciate it's not the correct ROM set but interesting its doing that with no screen corruption etc. removing RAM chips wasn't reflected in RAM check boot sequence.

Removing some sprite RAM gave me a screen quarter with sprite images on it.

Until I see a similar board online that's the end of the road for this board the eprom eraser needs a rest...
 

Hammy

Enlightened
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
2,951
Location
U.K
It's for the best, now you have finally calmed down on wasting your time maybe i'll reconsider sending some junk ones over.
For anyone with very little free time, it's annoying to watch you keep fighting a wall.

Sorry for being brutal with the answers but the first one was right...
It will be faulty in other ways anyway, nobody nicks the ram and rom off a good board....
I would not bother worrying about the PLD's unless its running with graphics errors.


Until I see a similar board online that's the end of the road for this board the eprom eraser needs a rest...
Normally you need a worker to go from anyway, or at least good documentation.
SF2 bootlegs are NOT well documented at all.
 

Pledg

Student
Joined
Feb 18, 2022
Messages
61
Reaction score
4
Location
UK
Lesson learned and point taken. I naively just didn't appreciate how difficult it could be to get this running!

Fingers well and truly burned! ;(
 

Pledg

Student
Joined
Feb 18, 2022
Messages
61
Reaction score
4
Location
UK
Can anyone tell me what data the ROM IC located at U133 on these bootleg board should contain?
 
Top