What's new

Kavas

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
834
Reaction score
961
Location
Florida, USA
I bought both a 246 and 256
I plan to use the 246 for tekken 4 and bloody roar 3
Yes I want tekken 4 and bloody roar 3. Then there's the exclusive stuff on the 256, think a tekken? I'll have to end up buying both eventually I guess. $$$$
 

electric_monk

Student
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
40
Reaction score
131
Location
San Jose, USA
Now I'm noticing the PCB lacks any type of mounting/screw holes? How are we to attach this to the inside of the 2x6 with double sided tape?

It has no holes as it was originally designed to just sit in the IDE connector on a Konami 573, with a male connector (as per the photo from @twistedsymphony in the linked thread), but that was scrapped for the Namco support where that connector's tucked away in a separate part of the box. Some people did make some 3D printed enclosures for it but I'm pretty sure some people also did just use double sided tape. By the time I'd ordered the production run for the original it was too late to add the holes for the increasing number of non-Konami users (though i was able to switch IDE connector to normal female IDC).

For the original run holes were something like the #2 complaint, so I've added some (the store link has updated photos). The #1 complaint was the SD slot, which was atrocious with this little eject button, so that's fixed too by replacing it with the same SD slot the Raspberry Pi uses.
 

brizzo

Staff member
Champion
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
840
Reaction score
2,394
Location
Canada
Now I'm noticing the PCB lacks any type of mounting/screw holes?
You could take the time to read about what the IDE Simulator was originally designed for, and that it wasnt originally intended for the SYS2X6. Or the fact the new version has what you're complaining about it not having.

Instead you're just complaining about a product you have no intention to buy, and you have complained about it plenty before today too. I don't get it.
 

jassin000

Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
7,788
Reaction score
6,318
Location
Afterlife
you have no intention to buy, and you have complained about it plenty before today too. I don't get it.
  • I'd like to buy one, I think its too expensive so I'm not at this time (I wouldn't describe that as having no intention, rather having conditions that must be met).
  • I wasn't aware of changes to the board, I was going 100% off the product sales page and how it was displayed (author should update if this isn't what it looks like anymore as this could be seen as a mild form of bate 'n switch or false advertising ya know).
  • I honestly don't care what it was designed for, I only care about what it can or cannot do for me (are you suggesting only having a self interest is wrong).
  • I can't really remember with all the trash talking I do haha, but I'm pretty sure my negative comments in the past were based around price (so its more like a continuation of the same complaint with expansion into mounting holes).
  • What's not to get? I'm a perfectionist, nothing is ever good enough for me it could always be better.
 

BroadwayJose

Enthusiast
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
295
Reaction score
140
Location
Las Vegas, NV USA
Does the IDE simulator setup support loading from multiple images on the same SD card or would I need to swap cards per game?
 

Cereth

Champion
Joined
Dec 18, 2016
Messages
1,381
Reaction score
1,963
Location
Reno, NV USA
I'd like to buy one, I think its too expensive so I'm not at this time (I wouldn't describe that as having no intention, rather having conditions that must be met).
I’ll be honest the first or second complaint is probably not screw holes or SD slot or whatever, it’s probably the price. I’m 100% in the same boat as you here. Even now that my funding isn’t as dire as when I started, I can’t warrant the cost. It’s just too high. Even a small price drop would probably sell 3x the volume
 

DoktorSleepless

Enthusiast
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
239
Reaction score
198
Location
MD/VA, USA
I’ll be honest the first or second complaint is probably not screw holes or SD slot or whatever, it’s probably the price. I’m 100% in the same boat as you here. Even now that my funding isn’t as dire as when I started, I can’t warrant the cost. It’s just too high. Even a small price drop would probably sell 3x the volume
It's more than that. In order to get anything out of it, you need either a stack of dongles, or a $200 multi-dongle. Therefore, it's not a $200 device, it's a $400 device. That's approaching Darksoft Multi money for something you're going to have to create a frontend for yourself, as one does not yet exist.

That said, I should probably consider getting all of the required materials and actually try to make a frontend of some kind. Maybe that'll help others with the value proposition.
 

Kavas

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
834
Reaction score
961
Location
Florida, USA
I agree on the price. Too high.

Had that feeling of buyers remorse even though I really wanted it. Still have that remorse. I went through with it because this ODE only shows up once every 69 years.

These are meant for convenience however if you want both a 246 and 256 running you need to buy not just the ode but also a dongle. Setting you back a total of 800$ ? Woof.

At least the shipping was cheap.
 
Last edited:

Franco23444

Professional
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
334
Reaction score
136
Location
Durham,NC
Uhm... where can I buy one? I’m highly interested in testing one out. If I like it, then I’ll start buying these. Wish there was a cheaper alternative but it is what it is.
 

rtw

Champion
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
1,274
Reaction score
1,266
Location
Norway
Uhm... where can I buy one? I’m highly interested in testing one out. If I like it, then I’ll start buying these. Wish there was a cheaper alternative but it is what it is.
Why would you need to buy more than one ? Do you have multiple units you run at the same time ?
 

Franco23444

Professional
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
334
Reaction score
136
Location
Durham,NC
Why would you need to buy more than one ? Do you have multiple units you run at the same time ?
I do have multiple units but I’m only interested in purchasing one to test out and play around with.
 
Top