What's new

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
Is there a procedure for this like the RE? Tried hunting around but don't see it mentioned anywhere, so possibly not. X3 wont post, so looking for info if there is a procedure to add to my list of stuff to check while I figure this out.

Thanks guys!
 

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
I had problems with two X3 not booting which lead me to a wild goose chase:

https://www.arcade-projects.com/threads/control-pcbs-are-paired-to-their-dongles-on-a-x3.15309/

Remove the RAM, clean the edge connectors and insert them one at a time.
Thanks nem! I tried reseating and trying ram one by one, BUT i did not clean the edge connectors. Will add that to my list. So far the only thing that makes it somewhat boot was removing the battery and putting it back. It will power up but do nothing, so the chase continues!
 

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
Cleaned the ram and tried one by one, didn't boot. Tried some spare good ram I had and didn't boot. Put all the original ram back in and removed/put back battery, and it booted! However after entering the bios and watching temps in the hw monitor, it randomly shuts off. It reboots itself and then shuts off again after a minute or two. Tried with a known good PSU and same story. Temps fine, fans fine, but didn't have an SSD plugged in since waiting for that. I highly doubt not having an HDD/SSD would do anything (in my experience), but yeah possible dead motherboard at this point.
 

nem

Enlightened
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
4,024
Reaction score
3,135
Location
Finland
I would 100% make sure it's not the RAM. The problem is that if the RAM edge connectors are dirty, the mating connectors on the motherboard are too. Take some rubbing alcohol, clean the edge connectors with that, and while they're still somewhat wet, insert the stick into the motherboard. Do this multiple times. Clean the edge connector every other time, apply new rubbing alcohol.

Then let the motherboard sit and dry.

If it still has issues staying on with just one stick, then sure, it's something else at fault.
 

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
I actually did clean the sockets too but my explanation probably sucked haha. Appreciate your help! This mobo is probably busted, since I was able to test the majority of components as well in another old pc and could not reproduce issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nem

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
After seeing this X3 shut it self off so many times, seemed like too much of a coincidence it was always the same amount of time. I hooked it up to the JVS in my cabinet and it stays powered on. WTF, seems like the DMAC card is looking for JVS connection or it restarts?

It's sort of alive!!

BUT now my problem is when I shut off my cabinet, the X3 won't power up again without resetting the CMOS. I played without turning it off for hours, but after turning it off, won't turn back on again without CMOS reset. So now not sure if my bios settings are all screwed up, or something is odd with this DMAC card. Tried putting optimized defaults and playing around, but still once shut off will only boot and run after a CMOS reset.
 

Murray

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 8, 2019
Messages
630
Reaction score
612
Location
Oz
You need to post some more info.

What are you trying to boot on the X3? Is it the original game? Or another image? Or another game? What game? Are you booting unlocked HDD security?

There is a watchdog reboot on these machines, and depending what you are booting on the machine, it can be triggered much faster sometimes. It triggers vmuch more frequently if you are trying to boot TTX1 games on this system, TTX2 games can also be more temprimental with the watchdog reboots.
 

enidz

Beginner
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Europe
Hi,

I've sent a TTX3 to a friend he experienced almost the same strange rebooting problem
TTX3 unit with security disabled upgraded with a 2GO GTX 760 4x4go ram and I7 2600k
I've tested it several hours with FIO YOKO multi SSD and JVS TATE multi SDD without any issue on a vewilx DB FIO and a vewlix C JVS before shipping.

but when my friend received it he tried it with a supergun on a 4K screen and the TTX3 unit randomly reboots itself...

I thought of a faulty GC/bios or RAM so I shipped him the original GC GTX 660, ram(4x2go) and CPU(I5 2400) to try to find the culprit by elimination.
also sent some standalone SSD to find out if it was a OS issue and a GTX 660 TI as well
the unit still reboots randomly and very frequently with original parts and standalone SSDs...

So he tried with original GC the JVS TATE image on a small computer screen -> it stays on for several hours
then he tried the same config on his 4K screen -> it stays on for several hours

do you know if changing/resetting the CMOS battery will improve something ?
Or is there a way to disable this "watchdog" ?

I may add we don't have re-booting problem after a shutdown like you described
so no need to reset CMOS battery to reboot.

That's a releaf to read that we're not the only ones experiencing this kind of very weird behavior !
I hope we will find a fix to this issue !
 

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
Hey guys, the random reboot was solved by hooking up my JVS IO from the cabinet. It no longer reboots, however everytime I shutdown the computer it will not boot again without removing the cmos battery.

I'm booting a yoko image, original game drive was removed but have the dongle so cannot try original. If I remove battery and redo settings (ie security off) it will stay running and play fine. The issue now is when I turn off/shutdown the x3 won't boot without removing the battery and redoing bios settings again. Edit: original cmos battery is toast so replaced as well

I don't think we have the same problem enidz from the description currently.
 
Last edited:

Murray

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 8, 2019
Messages
630
Reaction score
612
Location
Oz
It's a known issue with that image you guys are using.

That image is built on a standalone game Windows 10 image and it reboots... I believe it was privately rebuilt on a NESICAXL2 Windows 10 install and it reboots a LOT less, but it still does... especailly with some of the TTX1 games.

There's something baked into the standalone game drive that was used as a base that make it reboot a lot. It's something to do with JVS activity causing the watchdog reboot as enidz has found out.

That all being said the NXL2 base Windows 10 also reboots, but it's far less frequent than the one you are using.

There's no effective way to disable the watchdog, not without a hardware modifcation to remove a wire after boot that needs to be replaced before you boot again.

@nismopunch, your cmos battery sounded dead and replacing it with a functioning battery should fix that issue. You are losing your settings every reboot and the bios is resetting to defaults. Each system when you reset it to defaults re-programs the key for the original game again and sets all the settings it requires, they've made the default bios settings to basically fix the settings for the original HDD game that came with your motherboard.

If you replaced your battery and the issue still persists, you might want to check if the battery is powering the system properly, and if it is then you might have a hardware fault around the cmos settings being held by the battery.

But the issues with rebooting are well known with the software image you guys are using. If you want to reproduce it, set the Windows shell to boot to explorer.exe, boot to the windows desktop and just let it sit there. Guarantee you'll be rebooting every time within 20 minutes without even touching the system.
 

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
@Murray thank you for the explanation! The new battery didn't fix it and the board is receiving power after checking pins so it's some hardware issue in retaining bios settings that is beyond me.

Oddly enough when I take out and replace battery then redo the bios and successfully boot it doesn't reset. I had it on for a few hours, but once again that was after I hooked up the JVS IO from my cab. Only really tested with USFIV so as you mentioned could still persist depending on what I load. I even depinned the DMAC front panel connector to remove power pins and reset switch pin (+) to see if I could boot up after a power down manually, didn't help unfortunately.
 

Layer33

Student
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
115
Reaction score
76
Two days ago, my TX3 booted (black screen) with no beep. Then, I removed RAM, the result was not better. Btw, I noticed if the graphic card wire touched the graphic card, the TX3 didn't beep ; a kind of security ?
So, I fixed the wire to avoid touching the graphic card, and the TX3 booted and still boots flawlessly, no mess.
 

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
Two days ago, my TX3 booted (black screen) with no beep. Then, I removed RAM, the result was not better. Btw, I noticed if the graphic card wire touched the graphic card, the TX3 didn't beep ; a kind of security ?
So, I fixed the wire to avoid touching the graphic card, and the TX3 booted and still boots flawlessly, no mess.
Hi Layer, which wire do you mean?
 

nismopunch

Professional
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
441
Reaction score
144
Location
Bay Area, CA
Ah I see interesting, mine was far enough away other than where it connects so maybe not the same issue you experienced. Maybe some interference but can't say i've run into that before.
 
Top