What's new

lukemorse1

Professional
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
299
Reaction score
249
Location
Japan
curious if anyone has worked with a wargods pcb and has been able to create a working compact flash drive and boot rom to work with the board.

Ive heard that the system is similar to KI 2 in that it needs a decrypted boot rom to work but cant confirm it. Looking to purchase a working CF set for my own pcb.
 

Dreygor

Grand Master
Joined
Dec 18, 2016
Messages
940
Reaction score
646
Location
Midway, GA USA
Not that i know of on a Namco 246/256 ... But it would be cool if we could make other stuff work.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,559
Reaction score
6,032
Location
New Bern, NC USA
@Darksoft

Can you please download the Wargods boot rom and remove the disk ID check?


I also know for a fact there are two HDD versions. One will only boot in 15k (or med-res, can't remember) The other will boot in either. The one I own does both.
 

lukemorse1

Professional
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
299
Reaction score
249
Location
Japan
@Darksoft

Can you please download the Wargods boot rom and remove the disk ID check?


I also know for a fact there are two HDD versions. One will only boot in 15k (or med-res, can't remember) The other will boot in either. The one I own does both.
wow Mitsurugi,

You actually have a working dual boot rom that is awesome. Have you attempted a CF image or is it only seagate hdd?

If there is/would be a way to fix wargods ti run on cf it would preserve these boards and keep them from getting tossed. Ive got 2 myself :)
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,559
Reaction score
6,032
Location
New Bern, NC USA
it's a standard boot rom but only works with the Seagate drive. I could have sworn that back in the day this was hacked but it wasn't a very popular game at all so maybe didn't get the treatment like I thought.
 

stj

Professional
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
841
Reaction score
273
Location
England
sounds like a challenge.
too bad i dont have a compatable pcb.

maybe i will look after i get around to hacking the bootroms of area51/maximumfoce
also, i want to get the ki2 conversion working in the driver so i can decrypt the harddrive.
 

Coyo5050

Professional
Joined
Aug 25, 2015
Messages
593
Reaction score
151
Location
Rochester, NY
sounds like a challenge.
too bad i dont have a compatable pcb.

maybe i will look after i get around to hacking the bootroms of area51/maximumfoce
also, i want to get the ki2 conversion working in the driver so i can decrypt the harddrive.
i burned new bootroms for my a51 to make it a a51/mf combo board so i thought this was hacked.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
6,559
Reaction score
6,032
Location
New Bern, NC USA
There are two different board types. Dual layer and single pcb.
 

stj

Professional
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
841
Reaction score
273
Location
England
there are more than 2, and they dont all use the same cpu.

i have a couple of 1st-gen area51 boards,
i want to put the maxforce upgrade on them.

i didnt try yet, but in the mame source they patch some protection.
so i assumed the official upgrade came with a pal or something.
 

stj

Professional
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
841
Reaction score
273
Location
England
so i took a look,
it's not checking the make or size of the drive, only part of the serial number.

now here is a problem.
i need to make it fail, but i just cant see where mame is providing the serial from.
i'm sure it's not in the chd, but i dont see it in the driver!
 

Asure

Professional
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
397
Reaction score
422
Location
Netherlands
It's in the extended CHD info i guess. So not the data itself, but in the data added when the disk was dumped by MAME.
When Wargods queries the drive, that data is fed back.

I guess the easiest way at this point is write the CHD to a different disk, then re-image it?

Also other tricks to make it fail, read some data from ROM which you know is wrong, instead of data from the disk :)
ROM Area holds most required items.
 

stj

Professional
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
841
Reaction score
273
Location
England
not so fast, mame identifies the serial number as 00000000000000000000
lol
 

Asure

Professional
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
397
Reaction score
422
Location
Netherlands
Modify the address :)

From the other topic, the leading zeroes are the key here. Usually you can edit the data as it is read into ram. Pseudo-code since i didn't look at it:

load data into d0
put d0 at A5+1000 (0x501000)
debugger to set breakpoint here
Select this region in mame/maincpu (one of these is editable by hand.
edit the zeroes to 01020304050 whatever :)
g
watch it fail.

Do you have the addy where it does the read/check?
 

lukemorse1

Professional
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
299
Reaction score
249
Location
Japan
Id be up for experimenting on my board here for anyone able to make a CF drive and boot rom for Wargods. Unfortunately my laptop cant do it.

Id like to find out how to get it going and what works and doesnt. I will pay to get a working board.
 
Last edited:

stj

Professional
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
841
Reaction score
273
Location
England
check is in the 3100 area,
i had a breakpoint at 3114 that i think was just before the drive stuff.
 

Asure

Professional
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
397
Reaction score
422
Location
Netherlands
I spent like an hour with the search function on github to find anything with ata/ide/hdd/serial, but the content of this cpp doesn't seem to come up for me :/ (it does when you search directly for the filename).
 

stj

Professional
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
841
Reaction score
273
Location
England
well, i changed the serial and it still works.
so maybe the bootrom in mame is not protected!
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20170618_182334.png
    Screenshot_20170618_182334.png
    50.1 KB · Views: 387
Top