What's new

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
10,190
Reaction score
14,082
Location
Poland
In this thread you will find the latest version of the firmware and the Instructions of the firmware.

LATEST LINKS

--> INSTRUCTIONS <--
You can find the latest instructions here: https://www.mediafire.com/file/fhlfi3efj7vza6t/Neogeo_Instructions_v2.2.pdf/file

--> LASTEST FIRMWARE : June 2nd 2020 <--
http://www.mediafire.com/file/94wdkoqhti2u80v/20200602_r1169_MVS_Only.7z/file
PLEASE NOTICE THAT THERE FIRMWARE FILES ARE DIFFERENT BETWEEN MVS AND AES VERSION.

--> LATEST MENU: December 17th 2021 <--
https://www.mediafire.com/file/v2fjyyugh9cpn80/menu_20211217.7z/file

Capture.PNG


IMPORTANT!!!
To update the menu with latest version, you just need to copy the menu files in \update\menu.
Please make sure that you follow this procedure:

MENU UPDATE PROCESS:
* Extract microsd and copy the new menu files in the /update/menu folder
* Turn MVS on without cartridge and navigate the service menu to delete BackupRam.
* Insert cartridge with microSD with new menu in your MVS and wait for it to update and reset (about 30 secs and screen can go black or show glitches. Don't worry.)

MENU

LATEST MENU (17th December 2021) https://www.mediafire.com/file/v2fjyyugh9cpn80/menu_20211217.7z/file

FEATURES
-------------
* Added support for Xeno Crisis.
* Improved loading speed.
* Added support for monitor test tool. The tool must be placed in the folder "montest"
* The ' in Dragon's Heaven and Karnov's Revenge, Neo-Geo Cup '98, etc. appear as "
72.png
"
* Menu will show the FW version in RED in the about section if it's lower than it should be. In this case it's 0x491
* "Games" title at the top of the menu cuts into the grey bounding box
* Support in the menu for new games:
Black Tiger​
Cabal​
Ghost Pilots (fixed sound)​
Hypernoid​
Neotris​
Super Spy (fixed sound)​
Windjammers Supersonic​
Zintrick CD​

Menu is the same for both AES and MVS cartridges. Enjoy!

PREVIOUS LATEST MENU(UPDATED November 22th): http://www.mediafire.com/file/wamuwitsv96hhdt/menu_20191122.7z/file
PREVIOUS MENU April 1st (Needs FW 1040 or lower, available in the attachmen of this post): https://mega.nz/#!Vow1QapY!BDwTV-eK2_-qpQK8F-7L2hxYkKUJsiyCr5Dqqi9Ewp8

FIRMWARE

PLEASE NOTICE THAT THE FIRMWARE FILES ARE DIFFERENT BETWEEN MVS AND AES VERSION.

What has been fixed:
* Eliminated REDScreen in all consoles tested for games like Pulstar and KOF98.
* Removed double reset
* Fixed wrong region in some games
* Fixed REDScreen when running games like Matrimelee, Nightmare in the Dark (Original), Metal Slug 4, Metal Slug 5, Sengoku 3 and Zupapa in AES Mode.
* Fixed another bug when updating several slots concurrently.
* Fixed a new introduced bug that didnt' allow games like Pulstar to reset twice, resulting on Red Deadlock screen.
* Firmware identifies in which console is running and runs code specific for each in different cases.
* Added option in the menu to boot directly to Game List.
* Speed up loading of menu and games.
* Menu is able to recognize between MVS and AES console.
* In AES Mode menu, saves the settings to microSD.

https://www.mediafire.com/file/ri1o2oazs7grnlb/20200530_r1173_MVS_Only.7z/file
http://www.mediafire.com/file/kfdyloqmrap01v1/20191108_r1102_MVS_Only.zip/file
http://www.mediafire.com/file/fx9yaaav8x4itb2/20190402_r1040_MVS_Only.zip/file


VERY OLD FW 20190323 + menu: https://mega.nz/#!h5RylI4b!l9rORQguExGKP4pWEIksoAM98PcV4ls6Q_pIfR864mQ
 
Last edited:

legolas119

Student
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
135
Reaction score
11
Location
Italy
thanks! so, first of all, in my empty Fat32 microSD I have to create a folder named "updates" in the root and put in the files of the Menu FIles pack, correct?
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
10,190
Reaction score
14,082
Location
Poland
Yes, and then you have to copy the same files again under \games\menu

Then and only then, put the microSD back to the MultiMVS, power on and wait for 20 secs.

Put the microSD back into the computer and if the files from \update are gone, that means you are good.
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,598
Reaction score
3,704
Location
The Netherlands
Wait, what?
We have to put the updated menu files on the SD card twice?

Must have missed that bit as I only out the files in the games/menu folder...
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
10,190
Reaction score
14,082
Location
Poland
Wait, what?
We have to put the updated menu files on the SD card twice?

Must have missed that bit as I only out the files in the games/menu folder...
That's right. Twice. It's clearly stated in the instructions ;)
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,598
Reaction score
3,704
Location
The Netherlands
Damnit... missed that bit, I did read it and thought it was only for future firmware updates.
Missed the ‘menu’ bit in that sentence... :(

I guess @Sp33dFr34k has some more testing to do as he missed that as well when we tested together!
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
10,190
Reaction score
14,082
Location
Poland
Damnit... missed that bit, I did read it and thought it was only for future firmware updates.
Missed the ‘menu’ bit in that sentence... :(

I guess @Sp33dFr34k has some more testing to do as he missed that as well when we tested together!
this was an important update and some commands were updated, so sending commands to the PFGA with the wrong parameters can have unexpected consequences. Let's see if that or reformatting the microSD with bigger cluster size solves the issue.
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,598
Reaction score
3,704
Location
The Netherlands
I feel so stupid right now... ;(

But in my defense, could have been clearer in the instructions :P
Would be good to add it in the 1st post itself as well.
 

t-m

Student
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
38
Reaction score
21
Location
Cambridge, UK
I feel so stupid right now... ;(

But in my defense, could have been clearer in the instructions :P
Would be good to add it in the 1st post itself as well.
Don't worry, I missed it too :rolleyes:
 

Sp33dFr34k

Champion
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Messages
1,506
Reaction score
1,228
Location
The Netherlands
In the help thread @deibit just stated he didn't do this either and it works well for him. Just when I got my hopes up :(
 

deibit

Champion
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
1,737
Reaction score
1,875
Location
Germany
there's no need to update the menu firmware.. it's already updated with the last version.

You only need to make sure that the last version of the menu files are copied to \games\Menu
 

legolas119

Student
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
135
Reaction score
11
Location
Italy
Yes, and then you have to copy the same files again under \games\menu

Then and only then, put the microSD back to the MultiMVS, power on and wait for 20 secs.

Put the microSD back into the computer and if the files from \update are gone, that means you are good.
ah ok! thanks! in the instructions isn't clearly written to copy files in 2 places :) Good to know :) thanks
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,598
Reaction score
3,704
Location
The Netherlands
there's no need to update the menu firmware.. it's already updated with the last version.

You only need to make sure that the last version of the menu files are copied to \games\Menu
Ok cool, that’s exactly what we did up to now...

Will put them in the ‘update’ folder anyway, files should be gone after a succesfull update right? Then I’m sure everything is correct.
 

SmokeMonster

Champion
Joined
Aug 23, 2015
Messages
1,290
Reaction score
1,676
Location
USA
What would happen if people received a Multi and didn't update the firmware, but then used my Pack (which would have a newer menu system)? Could that be causing any issues?
 

deibit

Champion
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
1,737
Reaction score
1,875
Location
Germany
mmm the Multi comes with the latest menu firmware already, but I think that the version you have in the pack is an older one (at least the dates in your pack are older than the ones in DS menu pack)

That's why I didn't use to your files and overwrote them with the DS ones..
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,598
Reaction score
3,704
Location
The Netherlands
cannot tell yet...

I'm downloading the beta rom pack again to be sure, but takes a lot of time @230kb/s from file factory link, I can drop off my multicart + SD @Sp33dFr34k tonight.
Don't have a functional MVS motherboard at home currently, just my 1FT with the defective video ram (which is currently in the mail btw)
 
Top