What's new

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
My MK30 ADCAP supergun will no longer turn on. Here is what happened.

First thing first, I live in Japan with 100v power. Grounded outlets seriously aren’t a thing here. My house has two which are for the air condition and the microwave/oven combo. Other than that, nothing. Also, I wasn’t 100% sure if I could plug the supergun in without using a step up transformer (turn 100v into 120v), so I used one anyway because why not (I had one anyway). This transformer doesn’t have a grounding plug, so I used an adapter to plug it in.

Okay, now to what happened:

(See picture 1): I had just finished putting my CPS3 in its new case and gave it a test The game ran fine for over two hours. Disconnected the CPS3 and put away.

(See picture 2, this is how everything was hooked up): I’ve had this bootleg Cadillacs and Dinosaurs PCB that I bought off a user here for about a year and had never played it. Decided to give it a test. Seeing how the JAMMA edge is not keyed I used this adapter pictured (https://www.ebay.com/itm/293021554213). I was told that this was JAMMA and just not keyed. The JAMMA edge going into my supergun was in the right direction as I hadn’t disconnected it. The other side of my JAMMA harness is keyed, so that definitely was connected right. As for the PCB into the adapter, well I don’t see any other way it could go.

Anyway, upon turning it on nothing happened and I heard some kind of clicking noise, but not sure from where it was. I noticed the transformer was off, so I thought something had just happened with that thing. I have been using the supergun for about the last six years without issues now, so I didn’t really expect anything to be wrong with it. I plugged the supergun into the wall, and heard the click again. No power.

Next I checked the fuse on the step-down transformer, blown (2A 250V). Then I checked the outside fuse on the MK30, fine (10A 250V). Next, I opened the MK30 and checked out the fuse on the power supply itself, blown (4A 250V). I walked over to an electronics shop and got replacements for all three (figured I might as well replace the 10A 250V). First I replaced the one in my step-up transformer, it powered right back up. I even gave it a good test by plugging in my Oster USA hair clippers and shaving my head. No problem. Next I replaced the two in the MK30. This time I had no game plugged in. Flipped the switch and heard the click. No more power LED on my step-up transformer. Fuse in the step-up transformer is blown. Both fuses on the MK30 are fine.

After this, I do not want to plug the MK30 into the wall and give it another go. I don’t know if the power supply decided to eat shit (although everything looks fine) or the bootleg game somehow messed up everything or what.

Could someone with some good knowledge please help me troubleshoot? If possible, maybe even over Zoom, Skype, etc? I haven’t used a multimeter in about 10 years, and even then my Navy maintenance cards were complete idiot proof and gave ridiculously detailed instructions lol. I was thinking I should just replace the power supply, but I’d really like to know what the heck happened.

Unfortunately, Jasen seems out of the game now while he gets ready for Navy retirement and grad school. I messaged him about six months ago asking about possible power issues while in Japan (seeing how he was stationed here not long ago) but I never got a reply. Seriously never had a single issue with this supergun in six years in either the US or Japan. Everything worked fined until I plugged in that god damn bootleg board. Not sure if it’s a coincidence or not, but that thing is officially a junk soldering practice board in my eyes now lol.

NOTE: Last time I had the supergun hooked up my wife and I played Gokujou Parodius continuously over a four-day weekend and on another weekend I used a console JAMMAizer to play Super Famicom on OSSC without the sync problems (must roundabout way ever to play I know, but it worked!). When I first got the supergun shipped to Japan by my dad, I played the crap out of SSF2X on CPS2. Shout outs to @djsheep @Hammy @Stupid Dufus @Arthrimus @hursit for all the awesome new gear I've got in the last six months.

Anyway, here's the pics:

IMG_0398.jpg
IMG_0405.jpg
IMG_0407.jpg
IMG_0406.jpg
IMG_0403.jpg
IMG_0408.jpg



Help would be much appreciated. Thank you everyone.
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,969
Reaction score
6,288
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Damn. That sucks. Definitely get rid of that JAMMA pass through board. Retroelectronik stuff is shitty quality and caused issues for other users before.

At this point I would try another step down converter then another PSU in the Supergun, maybe a Meanwell or something?
 

Hammy

Champion
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
1,068
Reaction score
1,957
Location
U.K
Sounds like you are / were having fun :D

Those punisher / cads bootlegs work but with shit sound, it won't of killed anything unless something was hooked up wrong or the PCB is shorted (did you test the PCB (and adapter) for shorts?)

Always check everything unknown for shorts before applying power ;)
 

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
It was first time using the pass through board as well. I only got it because this bootleg board wasn’t keyed and I didn’t want to take key out of my harness. As far as I’m concerned the bootleg board and pass through board are garbage now. I’m never plugging them in again.

I plugged in the supergun directly into the wall as well and that burned the power supply fuse. After that I replaced both fuses and tried again with the step-up, and then just the step-up one blew. Pretty sure the issue is the power supply as that’s where the click is coming from.

I thought it was a meanwell power supply that was already in here, or am I w
 

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
Sounds like you are / were having fun :D

Those punisher / cads bootlegs work but with shit sound, it won't of killed anything unless something was hooked up wrong or the PCB is shorted (did you test the PCB (and adapter) for shorts?)

Always check everything unknown for shorts before applying power ;)
Didn’t check. Don’t even know how to be honest. What are your thoughts? Replace the power supply?
 

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
To reiterate something: last test there was no game plugged in, there was a clicking sound from the power supply, the fuse on the step-up transformer blew. Not going to try directly into the wall again, because last time the power supply fuse blew inside the supergun.
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,969
Reaction score
6,288
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Replace the PSU in the Supergun with a new one... fingers crossed that will fix things?
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,969
Reaction score
6,288
Location
Brisbane, Australia
@Joko3 get a Axunworks JJ-CBOX! -- Same thing happened to me, my Suzo Happ PSU stopped one day and instead of replacing it, I just decided to do the full upgrade. Worth the wait!
 

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
@Joko3 get a Axunworks JJ-CBOX! -- Same thing happened to me, my Suzo Happ PSU stopped one day and instead of replacing it, I just decided to do the full upgrade. Worth the wait!
I was actually looking at this supergun prior to having the MK30 shipped over here. My dad was sending me a big package anyway, so I went ahead and just had him send it. I figured I did spend like $650 on it back in 2015, so I might as well keep using it. So much for the lifetime warranty though, dude completely disappeared off the planet.
 

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
99% sure anyway. The two in the supergun were 4A 250V and 10A 250V and the one in the transformer was 2A 250V.

So I may have had a few too many Strong Zeros tonight and said screw it and plugged it into the wall. Power supply sparked up, 4A 250V fuse black as hell. So yeah....definitely getting a new power supply :p
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,969
Reaction score
6,288
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Go to the konbini and get yourself a one cup and try again ;)
 

XtraSmiley

Champion
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
2,820
Reaction score
1,689
Location
St Louis, IL
Dude, I'm selling a HAS for cost, but another member is already inquiring about it. If he passes I'll let you know.

As for your situation, I would get a PSU rated for Japan and just replace it. It's a drop in and easy to do.

Otherwise, you can also email Jasen for help, he's busy, but I think would try to help. Just note, he's more of a "metal" guy than a SuperGun guy, that's why his cases were always cool, but the internals were... what they are. :)

EDIT: I missed that he ignored you 6 months ago, but still, you may try him again.
 

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
Go to the konbini and get yourself a one cup and try again ;)
Just ordered a Meanwell power supply. Fingers crossed, but if the problem spread then I guess oh well time to move on. It served me well for quite some time. Still....pretty mad if it was indeed that retroeletronik POS that was the catalyst for all of this...
 
Last edited:

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
Dude, I'm selling a HAS for cost, but another member is already inquiring about it. If he passes I'll let you know.

As for your situation, I would get a PSU rated for Japan and just replace it. It's a drop in and easy to do.

Otherwise, you can also email Jasen for help, he's busy, but I think would try to help. Just note, he's more of a "metal" guy than a SuperGun guy, that's why his cases were always cool, but the internals were... what they are. :)
Tthanks for the input. I figure if worst comes to worst then I'll at least repurpose this case, because it is damn cool!

Also, if the sale falls through, please let me know : D
 

XtraSmiley

Champion
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
2,820
Reaction score
1,689
Location
St Louis, IL
Just ordered a Meanwell power supply. Fingers crossed, but if the problem spread then I guess oh well time to move on. It served me well for quite some time. Still....I got half a mind to travel to France and beat some ass over at retroelektrornik for building such shit products that my expensive, out or production supergun died.
When you get it, before taking it all apart, just connect the leads while it's still in the case to test it. If all is good, then take it apart.

Also, triple check your JAMMA ends just to make sure none of the leads got bent and are shorting against each other, just in case as you put in the bootleg PCB, just soothing didn't get jammed in there.
 

XtraSmiley

Champion
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
2,820
Reaction score
1,689
Location
St Louis, IL
Finally, while I LOVE Jasen's case, the SuperGun's internals are pretty much outdated. I suggest getting ANY number of the great SGs on these forums instead (if you have to replace the whole thing).

EDIT: And one specific SG is great for people who have CPS3 systems.... better than the HAS for that specific use case IMO.
 
Last edited:

XianXi

Professional
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
398
Reaction score
324
Location
Honolulu, HI
Wait, the outside fuse on the Supergun is 10A and the internal one on the PSU is 4A? That's retarded, I hope Jasen didn't do that because it makes the outside fuse redundant.
 

Joko3

Grand Master
Joined
Sep 6, 2016
Messages
827
Reaction score
603
Location
Yokohama, Japan
Wait, the outside fuse on the Supergun is 10A and the internal one on the PSU is 4A? That's retarded, I hope Jasen didn't do that because it makes the outside fuse redundant.
Yeah the outside one never blew, but the inside one did twice. They are completely different sizes, so it’s impossible for me to have confused them with each other.
 
Top