What's new

DoktorSleepless

Professional
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
268
Reaction score
232
Location
MD/VA, USA
Reached out via the website.

EDIT: We got it sorted out. 3.3V was WAY off. I had it tuned for a NetDIMM setup, and never even thought it might be the issue. Thanks again, @invzim !
 
Last edited:

invzim

Champion
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
920
Reaction score
2,114
Location
Oslo, Norway
All the devices I sell with firmware are (IMHO) very well protected. Things without firmware are of course a little trickier to protect against cloning. What should I do when people making similar products operating in low-cost countries and on this forum place an order for an unprotected device?

1 - call them out
2 - refuse to sell
3 - Treat them like normal customers
4 - Plagiarism is the Sincerest Form of Flattery
5 - other
 

ekorz

Multi Boyz 4 Pi
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
4,469
Reaction score
5,812
Location
Boston, MA
It wouldn’t be hard to have a friend be a proxy, you’d never know if your device is going to a competitor. I would expect that to happen, so in a vacuum I’d say it’s worth the effort to add security to anything.

But if a competitor is just placing an order directly, I’d probably talk to them directly in writing, and in private. If the intent is competitive, you could offer to license your design and save them the trouble of reverse engineering it. Sell them the rights to produce and market wherever they are, if you’re not serving that geography.

If they buy one and you offered a design license, and they refused and copy it anyway, now I feel you’re right to call them out. I’d expect competitors look at each other’s designs and try to improve though, not straight copy. That’s everyday business.

i am not a creator, so this advice comes with the caveat that I don’t have direct experience with this issue.
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,581
Reaction score
3,677
Location
The Netherlands
Perhaps a simple question which was answered before, but how to handle PCB’s that send out stereo sound on pin 10/L and use common ground for audio ground?
Or better make a breakout fingerboard between the PCB and Jammafier to tap the audio directly from there via a line level converter and not run it through the Jammafier?
 

invzim

Champion
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
920
Reaction score
2,114
Location
Oslo, Norway
Perhaps a simple question which was answered before, but how to handle PCB’s that send out stereo sound on pin 10/L and use common ground for audio ground?
Or better make a breakout fingerboard between the PCB and Jammafier to tap the audio directly from there via a line level converter and not run it through the Jammafier?
Short answer - the Jammafier does not attenuate/mix stereo signals.

Longer answer - the Jammafier use Speaker+ (pin 10) by default, but latest rev (1.7) has a switch so you can use Speaker - (Pin L) instead for games that only has audio on Speaker -. The signal that is not attenuated is left unconnected.

It should be safe to tap both Speaker + / Speaker - from the Jammafier and feed this to an external attenuator.
 

PascalP

Legendary
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
5,581
Reaction score
3,677
Location
The Netherlands
Thanks! I’ll tap it somewhere and send it via a line level converter to my NNC.

But if I would accidentally send stereo to the Jammafier, nothing would damage right? Worst case scenario I get no audio at all from the RCA’s?
 

invzim

Champion
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
920
Reaction score
2,114
Location
Oslo, Norway
Thanks! I’ll tap it somewhere and send it via a line level converter to my NNC.

But if I would accidentally send stereo to the Jammafier, nothing would damage right? Worst case scenario I get no audio at all from the RCA’s?
If there is a stereo signal 10 and L, the Jammafier will use only one of them and the other will be left as unconnected - so should be perfectly safe.

The only issue I can think of with tapping and sending to an external attenuator is that either Left or Right would have a 1K resistance to GND on the Jammafier, possibly resulting in lower volume on one channel.
 

invzim

Champion
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
920
Reaction score
2,114
Location
Oslo, Norway
As you may have noticed, I haven't had tri-sync helpers in stock for a while and I likely won't restock.

There is however a new Jammafier 2.0 in the works, that has the tri-sync helper stuff embedded, making for a more compact solution for Tri-sync users.

2022-05-11 Jammafier 2 proto.jpg


You can switch between untouched video or Tri-Sync output with a switch on the PCB, and select either C or HV sync on the OLED menu.

No other changes, and the firmware will be the same for both versions.

If you don't need a tri-sync helper, now is a good time to pick up the current revision of the Jammafier, as the price of the new one will be more expensive.
 
Top