What's new

XianXi

Professional
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
378
Reaction score
288
Location
Honolulu, HI
what is the name of the firmware file? Flash.img? It should also be deleted

Repeat the process again only with the new Firmware and see if the file is deleted. If that's the case then you can install the wires.

The only problem comes if you upgrade firmware WITH the cables installed. If there is no firmware files in the microSD, then nothing will be updated and you'll be OK.
I'm about to lose my shit today. For some reason with nothing changed, I now get no video. The LCD displays that a game is playing but there is nothing on screen. Only wire that's ever been connected in this whole process has been the SDW5.

Tried booting it a few times and flash.img is still sitting in the folder.

Should I blank the card and start over? This was a fully working multi before adding the two files.
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,046
Reaction score
10,559
Location
Poland
Only wire that's ever been connected in this whole process has been the SDW5.
Usually, the only thing that you changed is what is giving you trouble. What happens if you remove it? IIRC SWD5 was with the old firmware. With the new one, it was SWD6. It's all in the instructions.
 

l_oliveira

Professional
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
537
Reaction score
542
Location
Brazil
I'm about to lose my shit today. For some reason with nothing changed, I now get no video. The LCD displays that a game is playing but there is nothing on screen. Only wire that's ever been connected in this whole process has been the SDW5.
Tried booting it a few times and flash.img is still sitting in the folder.

Should I blank the card and start over? This was a fully working multi before adding the two files.
If you update the firmware you have to update the wiring too because the pin assignments changed. If the wires are connected wrong the CPS2 board may not reset during flash load or key programming. If the key wires are not set up correctly the encrypted roms also won't boot since the CPU won't receive the key.
 

XianXi

Professional
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
378
Reaction score
288
Location
Honolulu, HI
I'm about to lose my shit today. For some reason with nothing changed, I now get no video. The LCD displays that a game is playing but there is nothing on screen. Only wire that's ever been connected in this whole process has been the SDW5.
Tried booting it a few times and flash.img is still sitting in the folder.

Should I blank the card and start over? This was a fully working multi before adding the two files.
If you update the firmware you have to update the wiring too because the pin assignments changed. If the wires are connected wrong the CPS2 board may not reset during flash load or key programming. If the key wires are not set up correctly the encrypted roms also won't boot since the CPU won't receive the key.
The update instructions weren’t crystal clear. It said to not connect the wires until you updated the firmware so I still had the old single wire connection then after the update would finish I would then connect the 4 wires.

So I was supposed to connect the 4 wires after placing the new firmware on the SD then power it on?
 

xodaraP

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,399
Reaction score
3,013
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
No, you remove ALL wires, then update firmware then connect new wires.

If you had the old reset wire connected during the flash you may have corrupted the bootloader and will need the discovery programmer to reload it
 

XianXi

Professional
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
378
Reaction score
288
Location
Honolulu, HI
No, you remove ALL wires, then update firmware then connect new wires.

If you had the old reset wire connected during the flash you may have corrupted the bootloader and will need the discovery programmer to reload it
That's exactly what I mean, it's the way it's worded. Saying "It's not used anymore" just sounds like "after the update, just use the 4 new wires only".

It should read: "Remove SWD5 before updating as no wires are to be connected during the update. Once the firmware has been updated, you'll only be using the 4 wires and no longer will be using SWD5 for key writing. If any wires are connected during the update, it will corrupt the bootlader and will need a discovery programmer to reload it".

I've requested to borrow a programmer from @ShootTheCore as the old reset wire was still connected while trying to update.

Thanks for everyone's help with the update. Sorry if I came off as an asshole, too much stuff happening and sadly I'm still the only man in the house (Wife plus 3 girls) ;(
 

l_oliveira

Professional
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
537
Reaction score
542
Location
Brazil
No, you remove ALL wires, then update firmware then connect new wires.

If you had the old reset wire connected during the flash you may have corrupted the bootloader and will need the discovery programmer to reload it
You don't need to remove the wires to update when using a SD card. Only if you're updating the bootloader using the discovery board (because the testpoint pins are the same ones used by the discovery to connect to the STM32).
 

opt2not

Multi Boyz Pixeler
Champion
Multi Boyz
Joined
Nov 10, 2015
Messages
1,720
Reaction score
2,363
Location
California
Thanks to @ShootTheCore 's help, I was able to update my old board to the bootloading firmware via the STM32 programmer.
I was doing this because i wanted to upgrade my board for Key-writing, but because my board was from one of the earlier batches that didn't have the SD Bootloading, I couldn't do so till I did this grunt work.

IMG-4838.jpg

I powered the Multi off an old ATX PSU I had, with the instructions of soldering 5v and Gnd to the appropriate pins.
The update went smoothly, and after that i was able to do the bootloader update to get the keywriting firmware installed.

For keywriting, I installed the Arthrimus CPS2 Multi KeyWriting QSB, which made me feel secured with it being a solid install that takes pressure off the pads you need to solder to. Its also great that he made sure not to compromise the J4 connector in the PCB design.
IMG-4751.jpg


I can now run all games un-decrypted, as well as the new Super Street Fighter II Turbo: New Legacy hack!

IMG-4843.jpg
 

opt2not

Multi Boyz Pixeler
Champion
Multi Boyz
Joined
Nov 10, 2015
Messages
1,720
Reaction score
2,363
Location
California
What’s the New Legacy hack exactly?
it’s a bunch of balancing changes and bug fixes based off community feedback and tournament notes. Notably, Akuma is selectable in the character selection screen without doing the input code. He’s also been tuned to be more tourney worthy (he’s currently banned in most tournaments).
I believe there are new costume colors coming in the next version.

https://newlegacy.fr/
 

Darksoft

Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
9,046
Reaction score
10,559
Location
Poland
Jeeez @Duo_r . You should come here more often. Please download the latest instructions. Since a couple of years, the firmware updates just copying a file into the microSD card. You can't know the FW that you have installed in an easy way, so just do an update to the latest and you'll be good. It's all explained here: https://www.arcade-projects.com/thr...tions-and-videos-old-version-till-10-2020.21/

If something is not clear let us know.
 

Duo_r

Beginner
Joined
Jul 25, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
11
Jeeez @Duo_r . You should come here more often. Please download the latest instructions. Since a couple of years, the firmware updates just copying a file into the microSD card. You can't know the FW that you have installed in an easy way, so just do an update to the latest and you'll be good. It's all explained here: https://www.arcade-projects.com/thr...tions-and-videos-old-version-till-10-2020.21/

If something is not clear let us know.
Yep I’ve seen that, just wondering if that is a new update from the one I got. Cant find a firmware revision summary to see the changes.
 
Top