What's new

xodaraP

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,399
Reaction score
3,013
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Replace the F PAL with a G PAL, rev 6 like rev 7 doesn't need the jumper.
 

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
328
Reaction score
308
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
Replace the F PAL with a G PAL, rev 6 like rev 7 doesn't need the jumper.
I have two Boards. One a dead COTA and one a Phoenixed MvC. CoTA has F pal plus wire, MvC has G Pal.

MVC roms work on both boards, SSF2X roms have same sound issues on both boards. :(
 
Last edited:

Elfito69

Student
Joined
Jul 31, 2019
Messages
56
Reaction score
28
Location
San ysidro
I had a similar problem with a alpha 3 board. I moved all the roms to another board and worked perfect.
I changed the jumpers to nonjedec and the intro worked fine but the audio will go away when you start a fight, one of the jumpers was not cut completely and was making contact, cut it clean and all the issue got fixed
 

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
328
Reaction score
308
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
I've definitely triple checked the jumpers with a meter. I'm going to try to burn the roms with a different rom burner. Maybe mines broken.
 

xodaraP

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,399
Reaction score
3,013
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Have you tried the SSF2X ROMs with a G PAL

And which ROM set are you using
 

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
328
Reaction score
308
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
hey @xodaraP I'm using the rom set and instructions found here: http://ikotsu.blogspot.com/2014/01/ssf2x-conversion-capcom-1994.html

the rom set already is set to be used with a G pal, and i've done this many times before.

I have several 27C010 and 27C1001 roms that came from cps2 boards but i don't know which ones are JEDEC and which ones are not. I've tried different combinations of these roms and different combinations of the jumpers but i get no sound or the same garbled sound. could my rom burner just be bad? or would the roms fail verification?
 

mR_CaESaR

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 10, 2018
Messages
550
Reaction score
622
Location
Sydney, Australia
I used that same set and worked fine for me.

I burned onto fresh eproms
 

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
328
Reaction score
308
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
another update. I've confirmed that the roms im using are jedec roms and that the board jumpers are set for g pal games as SOOS SO OSOSOS and the same bad sounds show up.

I feel strongly the issues is somehow related to the eeproms im using
 

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
328
Reaction score
308
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
Man. This is crazy, but rom 11 is the problem. I verified it after burning, but it must have been a bad burn. I burned 2 of them, and they were both bad. Thanks to everyone for helping me rule things out. Learned about jedec vs non jedec roms as well...
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,578
Reaction score
5,542
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Good work. Troubleshooting that helps gain new knowledge is always a good thing in the hobby.
 

war3zlod3r

Student
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
161
Reaction score
42
Location
Louisiana
I'm trying to see if its worth repairing a copy of X-Men: COTA I picked up as bad, it appears to be "X-Men: Children of the Atom (USA 950105)" but I can't find a phoenixed or decrypted version of the build to burn and test with are there any other options? Can I used the Euro version? Thats the only version I can find a Phoenix build for.
 

RealMFnG

Legendary
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
4,277
Reaction score
3,090
Location
Northern California
I'm trying to see if its worth repairing a copy of X-Men: COTA I picked up as bad, it appears to be "X-Men: Children of the Atom (USA 950105)" but I can't find a phoenixed or decrypted version of the build to burn and test with are there any other options? Can I used the Euro version? Thats the only version I can find a Phoenix build for.
https://cps2.avalaunch.net/
 

war3zlod3r

Student
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
161
Reaction score
42
Location
Louisiana
They don't have a build for that version but Raz confirmed for me that the EURO build works on my board
 

Supergun

Student
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
66
Reaction score
22
Location
Orlando, Florida
Has anyone converted the SIMM data of the CPS2 Puzz Loop 2 daughter board into regular bin data format to burn onto EPROMs for direct use on the main board?

I know this was done with other CPS2 games, like Pro Gear, but am unable to find out if it’s been done for Puzz Loop 2.

I suspect that my Puzz Loop 2 daughter board has failed, and would like to use EPROMs directly on the main board to confirm this.
Does anyone here know where I can get this?
 

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,282
Reaction score
183
Location
FRANCE
Man. This is crazy, but rom 11 is the problem. I verified it after burning, but it must have been a bad burn. I burned 2 of them, and they were both bad. Thanks to everyone for helping me rule things out. Learned about jedec vs non jedec roms as well...
I have the same issue, did you re burn x2 the same eeprom or used new?
 

Anselmo

Professional
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
328
Reaction score
308
Location
Bakersfield, Ca
Man. This is crazy, but rom 11 is the problem. I verified it after burning, but it must have been a bad burn. I burned 2 of them, and they were both bad. Thanks to everyone for helping me rule things out. Learned about jedec vs non jedec roms as well...
I have the same issue, did you re burn x2 the same eeprom or used new?
I reloaded the rom file (rom 11) and used a different eeprom. Make sure your software is set to accept the specific rom before loading rom 11 or if will truncate the file
 

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,282
Reaction score
183
Location
FRANCE
I reloaded the rom file (rom 11) and used a different eeprom. Make sure your software is set to accept the specific rom before loading rom 11 or if will truncate the fil
Finally I found. I have a rev 4 so I must solder a wire from pal to C13/C3.
 
Last edited:

goguelnikov

Beginner
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
39
Reaction score
8
Location
Paris
Hello guys,
I don’t know where to post this, but I am looking for empty cases for A and B boards, if anyone has some spares, please let me know...
Best
 
Top